We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express London City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express London City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express London City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 794: English reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I regularly stay here on business 16 nights over last 5 months. Hotel is clean and rooms are fair size (double Bed with bed settee - similar to Novotel rooms). Staff are friendly enough and the breakfast is ok but never changes (always sausages and scrambled egg, with cheap pastries and cereal etc). Not far from tube station and close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
City_General_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ian S, Thank you for regularly staying with us. We are happy that overall you like our hotel. In regards to our breakfast, this has to do with our brand standard with all Holiday Inn Express, unfortunately this is what we can offer to our guests. We hope to see you again soon. With Kind Regards, Tracy-Ann

Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights on business. The location was ideal for my work commitments and really convenient for getting around London as it is a stone's throw from Old Street tube station. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. All residents receive free WiFi access - unfortunately this was so slow it was completely unusable even for basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeB12345
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear MikeB12345, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Platinum Elite member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you...

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good price for the location. The room and bathroom were compact but clean, fresh and up to date. It was also lovely and quiet. Breakfast included in the price (as well as wifi). Probably best taking your own hairdryer as ours was very poor and kept cutting out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Normangnome
City_General_Manager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Normangnome, Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the hairdryer in the room did not work properly. Just to let you know that we do have spare ones in case the one in the room is not working and it can be requested via Reception. I am pleased the...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was a great location for my visit, considering my meeting place was across the street. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the Old Street tube station. Maybe not the best location for a tourist, although there were many families staying there. They have a good Brititan breakfast, which is supplied constantly. The hotel is very clean, with comfortable bedding.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lbonacci39
City_General_Manager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Lbonacci39, Many Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you had a god stay with us and we hope to welcome you soon. Thank You.

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Well, this was so cheap (£107.00) for the family that we weren't sure what to expect. Good, clean reception area with efficient and effective staff. Very clean and modern room with adequate services. Very good bathroom and shower. TV worked ( always a bonus in the budget hotel!) very well situated closes to trendy Shoreditch and Hoxton with some good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Howard B
UK
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for one night on Sunday 29th September 2013. There was some important feedback I wanted to give the hotel but my travel partner asked me not to in case it caused a fuss. We often stay in Holiday Inn’s and are Priority Club members. I expected the ‘Express’ chain to be of high standards and although most things...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tickets-Boo
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Ticktoneers, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the cleanliness prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do thank you for the high scores for our Value, Rooms, and Service. We take all of the reviews we received very seriously. We have shared your comments with the...

UK
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel could easily have received an "Excellent" rating, and I am sure many leisure travellers and tourists will be delighted to stay here. As a business traveller, however, there were a surprising number of basic facilities unavailable, and the customer service ranged from reasonable to awful, but was generally mediocre. Positive Points: Location - 5 minutes walk from Old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott B
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Scott B, Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate your compliments regarding our superb location, clean and comfortable rooms and food exceeded your expectations. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what...

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2013

You tend to know what you are going to get with the Holiday Inn Express brand. This one doesn't disappoint, but equally doesn't offer any positive surprises. The room was standard and just about big enough but the air-con/heating was a bit noisy. Food in the evening and at breakfast was certainly not fine dining, but it was reasonable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Garry M, We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is good to know that our rooms were sufficient enough for your needs and you found our staff to be accommodating. I regret if the food served and air conditioning systems though were a disappointment. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually...

Melbourne Australia
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I booked this hotel via Expedia's "Mystery Hotel" where you choose a hotel and then the name is revealed to you. Firstly, the location is excellent (Shoreditch- home to London hipsters). It's a few minutes to walk to Old Street Tube station. The rooms are very small. The breakfast is good (better than the standard stuff you get these days)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid08
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Intrepid08, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are delighted to read you liked our location and enjoyed the breakfast. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us...

Peterborough, England
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked this hotel as the one we usually stay at was full. However, we found our room on the 4th floor to be fairly small with a window that couldn't open and around the window the wall was mouldy. The room was also quite chilly and although the temp went up to 25, there was no warm air coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindacol
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Lindacol, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

349 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (87)
Viewed
Double Room With Sofabed (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,089 in London
519 reviews
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#85 of 1,089 in London
309 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shoreditch

Neighborhood Profile
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well connected transportation links dotting its perimeter, along with an ever increasing variety of shops, hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighborhood. There's a lingering post-industrial grit about Shoreditch, but because it shares a border with “The City” financial district, the influence from its upscale neighbor can result in fascinating outcomes.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Price Range: $130 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express London City staff and other travelers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express London City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay on higher floors with rooms facing the university area.”
ManujSri, 4 days ago | Read review
“We were on the 4th floor at the front. Quiet room. Night time revellers but no problem sleeping.”
HartleyDi, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter, in summer make sure you ask for your windows to be unlocked as it can get stuffy even with the ac on”
montec933, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Quieter at back of hotel.”
344RachelH, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Not room 516 which had heating and cooling issues.”
michaellV3625WC, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question