We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sanderson London Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (907)
Room & Suite (516)
Dining (145)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#208 of 1,170 hotels in London
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Sanderson, situated in the heart of London’s West End, offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and well-being. The landmarked 1950s building has been transformed by Philippe Starck into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomising a new luxury that is smart, pared-down and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Just steps from Oxford Street shopping and the Soho district in London, Sanderson is a five star luxury boutique hotel ideally located for weekend breaks or business travel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,241 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Sanderson London Hotel stands out for its chic modernist design and prime central location, a hit among guests for its easy access to London's shopping, dining, and cultural hotspots. While the hotel's trendy amenities and vibrant bar scene are popular, some visitors have reservations about the value due to high rates and unexpected charges. Guests consistently commend the cleanliness and the attentive, personalized service—shout-outs to staff members like Fernando and Olivier are not uncommon. Although the stylish rooms are generally celebrated for their comfort, a few travelers point out issues with preparation and temperature control.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Top-notch
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2241Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,528
  • 451
  • 144
  • 78
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Alexandre B wrote a review Feb 25
Paris, France5 contributions
Very good breakfast and wonderful service by Sanyogita. Efficient, quiet atmosphere, confortable, good food quality. Rooms have the right size, interesting design, quiet and cosy. I recommend this place that you will not forget. Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Em B wrote a review Feb 15
1 contribution
The Mad Hatter afternoon Tea experience is one of the most outstanding tea experiences I’ve been to. The teas and knibbles are to die for, there’s a lot of them. The heaters outside the courtyard make it nice and warm. The service is excellent and friendly, nothing is too much to ask for. We’ve had the pleasure of being waited by Sanyogita. She knows her teas and has the warmest personality. Take your kids, you’ll be in for a treat. Or without kids, because this is a good experience for adults as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderson Team, Other at Sanderson London Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Em B, Thank you ever so much for your glowing review of our Mad Hatter afternoon tea experience! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. It brings us immense joy to know that our wide selection of teas and delectable treats left such a lasting impression. Our team takes great pride in providing exceptional service, and we're delighted that Sanyogita's knowledge and warm personality contributed to your delightful experience. Indeed, our courtyard heaters ensure a cozy atmosphere even during cooler days, and we're delighted you found it comfortable. We couldn't agree more that our Mad Hatter tea experience is perfect for guests of all ages, whether you're enjoying it with kids or indulging in a whimsical escape as adults. We are very hopeful to see you again in future. Warmest wishes, Sanderson Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Happy Traveller wrote a review Feb 9
United Kingdom2 contributions
Really nice hotel in a fantastic location, the staff on the door were super helpful and the reception staff were pleasant and chatty. I appreciate the room layout might not be to everyone’s taste, the bathroom / sleeping area is separated by a curtain but for me it was fine, the lobby and stairway area are wonderful, with a beautiful stained glass window. The only thing that let my stay down was the bar - great size, nice atmosphere but some of the staff in the bar had a poor attitude. We were ignored several times whilst signalling for a drink and felt intimidated by the security team who seemed to be keeping a watch on us even though we were sitting at the bar just having a quiet conversation. Unfortunately we felt too uncomfortable and decided to leave after two drinks - a shame as otherwise this is a great hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderson Team, Other at Sanderson London Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Happy Traveller, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location and that our door and front desk team provided you with helpful and friendly service. We appreciate your understanding regarding the room layout and are glad that it suited your preferences. Our lobby and stairway area indeed boast beautiful features, and we're thrilled that you appreciated them. However, we are truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our bar. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Rest assured, we take such feedback seriously, and we will address these issues with our team to ensure that all guests feel welcome and valued during their time with us. We understand that the atmosphere and service in our bar significantly impact the overall experience, and it's disheartening to learn that we fell short in this regard during your visit. Your feedback will be used to make necessary improvements to ensure that all guests receive the attentive and courteous service they deserve. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Warmest wishes, Sanderson Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Subliminal Fox wrote a review Feb 9
London, United Kingdom39 contributions
+1
I visited this hotel for my daughter’s 16th birthday as a surprise. I really wanted to visit the Sanderson for its quirky cool design. The outside is really underwhelming compared to the expectation and when you have the likes of The London Edition on the other side of the road which looks more elegant and grandiose. We were welcomed and my Iberian was to just drop off bags (as it was mid morning), however I was advised that the room wasn’t ready but I could upgrade. The hotel knew it was my daughter’s birthday, so I was a special occasion I felt I should pay the extra for a bigger room and the room was in fact ready. For noting, they take £100 deposit for the room. The receptionist was friendly enough, but not really warm and perhaps not the experience of other hotels that I have been in London, some of a lower star. The lobby is sparse but cool, the lift is out of this world, the corridors are dark (be warned) so get ready for dimmed lighting. We were on 6th floor, room was good, large bed, really big bathroom and suitably impressed on the whole. However on closer inspection, the rooms downfall is the really poor finish of the paintwork on all the walls/skirting board. It was strange because the walls looked fairly new and freshly painted, but the standard of painting and finish all round the room was really not good and let’s it down imho. The other couple of points is the netting curtains in the bathroom to partition the storage off and in between seeing who’s in the shower, it just looked very dated and cheap in a cool room. The bed was very opulent, but a marked which should be attended to. The pillows were really good, the duvet was too thin (I was a little cold) but I found the bed just too hard, and I like a firm bed at home, but this was not the best so my sleep was a broken 3 times, but appreciate this is personal preference. Finally the flooring again looks cheap laminate floor style (which had a number of marks on) compared to rest of furnishings, looks old fashioned and in my opinion would look cooler and more sophisticated painted white. Anyway enough of the decor, whilst I wasn’t there to inspect the design, I guess I expected a really high standard with such a famous hotel for its interiors. On our return back to the hotel at 10.30pm, the bar and music was pumping, I expect it’s super noisy if you have a room on the lower floors, but the bar was fun, but loud. We had a nice surprise for my daughter with some cake with some fruit on a plate, so she devoured half of that! The check out was ok, same staff member was there, again went through the motions but didn’t feel overly warm. Then there was a whole conversation around the bill, I was advised the rook upgrade would be deducted from the deposit (I had swiped my card the day before assuming I had been charged). However when we left the hotel for lunch (leaving our bags to collect later), I got a notification on phone to say I had been charged for room at original price plus upgrade (as I expected) but not as explained by receptionist that the amount was being taken off the deposit. Therefore on collecting our bags after lunch, I then flagged that what I had been advised was not showing on my credit card statement and explained by receptionist. However I was told a refund of the whole deposit must be therefore coming back to me and would have to wait up to 5 days, but given a contact email address in case it was not correct. In one hand I guess is helpful, but in other didn’t give me a lot of confidence. Overall a decent stay, perfect location for the theatre, numerous meals we did etc, and it was ticked off my list of hotels to visit. It was definitely different, quirky and cool, I’m not feeling the 5 star finish and wow service from staff that I’ve had from lesser hotels and other 5 stars. However definitely 4 star but I think some more attention to detail is needed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Top floor as imagine bar noise at weekend could be noisy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderson Team, Other at Sanderson London Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Nalini P, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your daughter's 16th birthday with us at Sanderson. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your experience. We're glad to hear that you found our super central location convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed the unique and quirky aspects of our design. However, we're sorry to learn that certain aspects of your stay did not fully meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the condition of the room, including the paintwork and furnishings, have been duly noted. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Rest assured, we will address these issues with our maintenance and housekeeping teams to ensure that our rooms maintain the high standards that our guests expect. We also regret any confusion regarding the billing process during check-out. Your feedback regarding this matter will be shared with our front desk team for further review and improvement in our communication processes. While we strive to provide excellent service to all our guests, we acknowledge that there may have been areas where we fell short during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any lapses in the level of service you received. We truly value your feedback as it helps us to identify areas where we can improve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more seamless and memorable experience. Warmest wishes, Sanderson Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KBMB2015 wrote a review Jan 2024
North Wales, United Kingdom198 contributions
+1
We stayed in a Loft Suite which was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, right in the center of London. The hotel was very clean and had some great furnishings and a very cool bar. The only downside was the air con in the room. Even at a lower temperature the room was far too hot.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor so that you are not bothered by the noisy bar
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderson Team, Other at Sanderson London Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear KBMB2015, Thank you for choosing to stay at Sanderson and for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our lovely Loft Suite, the central location, and the friendly assistance from our team. It's fantastic to know that you appreciated pristine comfortable rooms, our quirky design, and the ambiance of our cool bar. However, we regret to learn about the issue you encountered with the air conditioning in your room. Our sincere apologies for any discomfort this may have caused. Your feedback is invaluable, and we will promptly investigate the matter to ensure that our air conditioning systems are functioning optimally to provide a comfortable environment for our guests. Once again, thank you for choosing Sanderson. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warmest wishes, Sanderson Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kristen L wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The experience was lovely up until the hotel did not refund my £300 deposit with no explanation of why. Upon checkout, we were notified of what we owed and were charged. Over a week passed and no deposit was refunded. I reached out to the property on multiple occasions and never received a response. I am having to contest this charge with my bank. For how expensive this hotel was, this really was an awful experience to lose close to $300 without explanation. I would not recommend this hotel if you hope to keep your money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderson Team, Other at Sanderson London Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear kristenlB2368YX, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. Please be assured that this matter is of utmost priority to us and we have already dealt with this matter. If you have any further concerns or would like to discuss this matter directly, please feel free to contact our front office manager, Emily, at emily.jones@morgansoriginals.com. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience, and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our services. Warmest wishes, Sanderson Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dfoote13 wrote a review Jan 2024
Bridgeport, Connecticut148 contributions
Yes, the architecture of this London hotel is like being in a dream, right down to the nearly pitchblack corridors with room numbers displayed in lighted plaques in the floor outside your door. Elevators are similarly dark, feel like traveling in a starry hologram(is the only way I can describe it). The rooms themselves are modern but oddly constructed. There are no closets or doors separating the bathroom from the bedroom---only curtains. Perhaps the only exception is the bar & restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderson Team, Other at Sanderson London Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear David F, Thank you for sharing your experience at Sanderson. We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and are delighted to hear that you found our architecture to be dreamlike. We take pride in creating a unique and memorable atmosphere for our guests. The nearly pitch-black corridors, illuminated room numbers, and starry hologram-like elevators are designed to provide a distinctive and immersive experience. We understand that this aesthetic may be subjective, and we appreciate your candid description. In regards to the room layout, we apologize if the open design with curtains instead of doors did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer modern and innovative accommodations, and your feedback will be shared with our broader team We are also pleased that you enjoyed the bar and restaurant, and we hope that overall, your stay was a positive one. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and provide an even more satisfying experience in the future. Warmest wishes, Sanderson Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Samantha H wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
One of the best afternoon tea. The tea itself was sublime. The service was exceptional. Walt was our host and he gave the most attentive service. Was not rushed off our table. My afternoon was so relaxing, a great birthday treat.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderson Team, Other at Sanderson London Hotel
Responded Jan 23, 2024
Dear K3626Hlsamanthah, What a truly gorgeous way to celebrate a birthday with our delicious afternoon tea. Thank you so much for sharing! Your wonderful comments about the team and our indulgent treats have made our day. We hope you'll return again soon. Warmest wishes, Sanderson Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrés B wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
I stayed at Sanderson's during New Years. After a long night out, all I wanted was a confortable bed, and for sure Sanderson has the best ones. Despite the hangover, the staff was so nice! Specially Emily, which was so kind helping me to re-book my flights! Can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderson Team, Other at Sanderson London Hotel
Responded Jan 12, 2024
Dear andr_sb136, Thank you for choosing Sanderson to kick off your New Year celebrations! We're thrilled to hear that you found our accommodations to be the perfect place to start the year. It's wonderful to know that our comfortable beds provided the restful haven you needed after a long night out. We're also delighted to hear that Emily and our team were able to assist you, even during a post-celebration hangover. We believe in going the extra mile to ensure our guests have a pleasant and memorable stay. We can't wait to welcome you back for another visit! Warmest wishes, Sanderson Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sara R wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
We enjoyed a delightful stay at the Sanderson hotel, where every aspect exceeded our expectations. From the seamless arrival experience, courtesy of Finn assisting us with our luggage, to Vito at the Front Desk providing a comprehensive overview of the hotel's facilities, and Emily's valuable guidance on exploring London and shopping destinations, the service was truly exceptional. We struggled to find any shortcomings, except for the inevitable sadness upon departing. Without a doubt, we will be returning soon for another wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderson Team, Other at Sanderson London Hotel
Responded Jan 12, 2024
Dear saretar2020, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Sanderson! We are thrilled to hear that every aspect of your stay exceeded your expectations, from the seamless arrival experience with Finn to Vito's comprehensive overview of our facilities at the Front Desk. It's heartening to know that Emily's valuable guidance on exploring London and shopping destinations added to the enjoyment of your stay. We appreciate your kind words and are delighted that you found our service truly exceptional. Your feedback motivates us to continue delivering outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another delightful stay. Warmest wishes, Sanderson Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
$300 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
london sanderson hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonFitzrovia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDERSON LONDON HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sanderson London Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sanderson London Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Whistle Punks Urban Axe Throwing (0.09 miles), Kings Arms - Fitzrovia (0.2 miles), and Escape Hunt London Oxford Street (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sanderson London Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sanderson London Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sanderson London Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sanderson London Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rudy's Pizza Napoletana - Tottenham Court Road, Scarlett Green, and Hibox.
Does Sanderson London Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sanderson London Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sanderson London Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Sanderson London Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.4 miles), Churchill War Rooms (1.1 miles), and Tower of London (2.7 miles).
Is Sanderson London Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.