We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dorchester

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1314)
Room & Suite (358)
Dining (192)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#151 of 1,170 hotels in London
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to one of the world's most iconic hotels. Welcome to a place that defines its destination. Welcome to care, to refinement. Welcome to The Dorchester.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Nightclub / DJ
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4.5
2,046 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Dorchester stands out for its attentive and professional service, with particular commendation for Anuar, although a few guests have encountered slower service. Its rooms are celebrated for their luxurious comfort and elegant decor, contributing to an exceptional stay. The hotel's amenities, including the exquisite afternoon tea, receive high praise for their luxury and comfort. Despite its magical and meticulously maintained atmosphere, some travelers feel the hotel is overpriced, especially when service falls short of expectations. Nonetheless, the cleanliness is consistently lauded, showcasing an immaculate presentation throughout.
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Luxurious
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2046Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,574
  • 272
  • 110
  • 51
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
GandC1994 wrote a review Yesterday
Colchester, United Kingdom88 contributions
It’s been a couple of years since we last stayed at The Dorchester, but it felt like yesterday as soon as we walked through the doors. The hotel itself has undergone major renovations since we last visited, but it is still The Dorchester! Literally everything has had a makeover and it looks amazing. We visited this time to kick off a milestone celebration, and once we were helped through the door, we were met by Michelle at reception who very kindly showed us to our room, which was lovely. I can’t name every person who helped us, but everyone was so nice and helpful. I’ve said this before in other reviews, but I always feel it’s the people who work at a hotel that make the stay special, and literally, from the moment the doormen greet you, until you leave, every single person is there to make you feel welcome, and nothing is a problem. Dinner in The Grill and breakfast in The Promenade were amazing. The Vesper Bar is still the place to be for drinks, but honestly, you could spend forever at the hotel. Alas, our one night ended all too quickly, but we will be back and won’t leave it so long next time. Thank you everyone for making our weekend special, and for all the extra touches that were very thoughtfully put in place for us G & C
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jasper C wrote a review Feb 24
London, United Kingdom14 contributions
Wonderful afternoon tea let down by a disorganised booking process. I got a gift card for my partner for afternoon tea for Christmas, and on the 27th December we booked via phone for a visit in February. The morning of our visit, I called ahead as we’d not received any reminders of our booking, and my partner has some dietary requirements I wanted to check they were aware of. Upon calling I was informed that my booking had been cancelled by the hotel (with no notice or communication from them) as a result of them not having a card on file, despite the fact that the booking had been paid for in full on a gift card months in advance, which they held on file linked to the booking. We had had no correspondence on this or any request to share card details despite booking over the phone where we would have been able to do this. I was initially told that they were too busy to honour our booking, but after a few minutes of clearly going away to work some things out - the staff managed to re-instate our booking, it was an overly stressful start to what should be a premium experience. Had we not have called ahead, it would have been very awkward to arrive for a booking only to be told they had cancelled it without informing us. The handling of bookings via gift cards is completely flawed, and needs reviewing to avoid this occurring in future. Once we arrived, the staff were superb, service was friendly and prompt and the afternoon tea was really enjoyable - it was honestly flawless if not for a completely insufficient level of care taken over their own bookings system which almost derailed our plans.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Newell, Other at The Dorchester
Responded today
Dear JasperCapper, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience not only from the day you joined us together with your partner in The Promenade but also your comments about our reservation process. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience, despite difficulty in booking process. I would like to extend you my apologies for the inconveniences that you have encountered during your booking process with us. Reservation management is reviewing the whole process involving gift cards to ensure this is one off incident. Thank you for your most wonderful words about our superb staff, prompt and friendly service and afternoon tea food offerings- this means a lot to us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and if I can be of any assistance please do let me know as it would be a pleasure to assist. My very best wishes, Richard Newell Director of Food and Beverage The Dorchester
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Josh V wrote a review Feb 24
3 contributions
We had a champagne afternoon tea for my partner's birthday and they really pulled out all of the stops to make sure it was a very special day. A special shout out to Anwar who was very accommodating, and ensured we had a relaxing experience - we really appreciated their hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Newell, Other at The Dorchester
Responded today
Dear JoshvK1722JR, What an absolutely wonderful review to receive, thank you for your kind words! I am truly so delighted that the team looked after you so well especially Anuar, we are proud to have him on our team. Thank you once again for allowing us to be part of your partner's birthday celebrations. So happy you both had an incredible time! Hopefully, we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again. My best wishes, Richard Newell Director of Food and Beverage The Dorchester
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chrisyb11 wrote a review Feb 23
Manchester, United Kingdom22 contributions
We visited as a group of 3 on the 23/2/24 although the surroundings being opulent as we were leaving we overheard the management dressing down the doorman... not pleasant. The raised voice and body language were more than apparent, not professional!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TPage wrote a review Feb 23
London, United Kingdom300 contributions
Me and my sister visited a couple of weekends ago and had a couple of drinks at the artists bar. I visit often, but this was my sisters first experience. We had a great time as ever! Staff had given us a few nibbles to enjoy whilst having our cocktails. It’s that kind of top rate service that brings me back time and time again! The only thing that was a bit off was that they forgot to bring over our tap waters and had to be reminded 30 minutes later. But it’s pretty good going if that’s the only thing I could find to complain about! Such a lovely location to have a catch up with a loved one! Thank you for taking such good care of me… again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Newell, Other at The Dorchester
Responded today
Dear Telpage2004, Thank you for your thoughtful review, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your sister to the Artists bar and so happy to learn how wonderful time your had with us. It is such a shame that you had to remind our team your request for tap water- our sincere apologies for that! but how wonderful that overall experience was still enjoyable and you had an amazing time at the bar. I do hope you will have another opportunity to come back and see us again in the future, when you will find another warm welcome. Kind regards, Richard Newell Director of Food and Beverage The Dorchester
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marcus N wrote a review Feb 15
3 contributions
Every time we go to this hotel the staff and surroundings are world class , last night my wife and I popped in and were met by Simon and Jack in the Vesper bar , although not having been in a considerable amount of time their welcome was like Coming Home ! Service beyond expectation, if that is possible! Thank you so much . Kindest regards Marcus and Kathryn
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vincent McGrath, Other at The Dorchester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Marcus & Katrhyn, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. We are thrilled to hear that your recent visit exceeded your expectations once again. It is so great to hear that Simon and Jack made you feel like coming home. They will delighted to receive your appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Richard Newell Director of Food & Beverage The Dorchester
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jace D wrote a review Feb 15
London, United Kingdom62 contributions
Absolutely flawless stay. Check-in was swift, the team took us to our room personally. The service was like that of royalty. The rooms are newly refurbished, with the latest in tech, no need to bring international sockets. I loved Vespa Bar and also we did breakfast in The Grill - wow those croissants with matcha filling. The most incredible stay in London. We'll be back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vincent McGrath, Other at The Dorchester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JaceDowo, Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are so glad to hear that your stay at The Dorchester was flawless and exceeded your expectations. It is also so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Vesper Bar and The Grill. Their croissants indeed are delightful! We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay in the future! Best Regards, Richard Newell Director of Food & Beverage The Dorchester
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bob B wrote a review Feb 8
Yorkshire, United Kingdom2 contributions
We spent the weekend in London and I took my lovely wife to The Dorchester Hotel for afternoon tea as she has always wanted to experience a top class venue. The moment we arrived at the hotel, the staff are amazing and highly professional. They certainly know how to treat everyone with respect and are in our opinion the ultimate professionals in the hotel trade. The afternoon tea simply delicious and amazing. The people watching was on another level. What a wonderful afternoon we had. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Newell, Other at The Dorchester
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear T6982HHbobb, How wonderful it was to welcome you and your lovely wife to The Dorchester! We are honoured and very happy that your wife was thinking for some time to visit us and experience afternoon tea at The Promenade. I was delighted to learn how much you enjoyed the food and service and it will be an absolute joy for me to share your feedback with all the team of whom I am incredibly proud. Thank you once again for your kind review and I am sending you my personal good wishes as well as those of everyone at The Dorchester. Kind regards, Richard Newell Director of Food and Beverage The Dorchester
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Londontripadviser wrote a review Feb 6
London, United Kingdom700 contributions
I came for a dinner for 500 people in the ballroom for Chinese New Year. The place looked amazing and the dragon dance was really fun. The food and wine were good, particularly the pudding. But what brought the whole quality of the Dorchester home to me was that it was jammed packed and bustling and people were everywhere and out of their seats, and the person next to me ordered a decaf coffee. I confess I had absolutely no confidence it was ever going to turn up. But, I’m happy to admit I was wrong and a few minutes later, there it was. This sounds like a small thing, but it’s not.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Newell, Other at The Dorchester
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Londontripadviser, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of your recent visit to the Dorchester for Chinese New Year event. We are so glad to read how much you enjoyed the dragon dance and the event itself. Your comments about wines and food, especially pudding highlighted are very much appreciated. I will be delighted to pass your compliments to our culinary team. I particularly enjoyed reading your comments about the service of decaf coffee. I couldn't agree more! .... small details are so important in exceeding guests expectations and in creating special memories. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester in the near future. My very best wishes, Richard Newell Director of Food and Beverage The Dorchester
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Syaf R wrote a review Feb 4
4 contributions
Afternoon Tea at the Dorchester was lovely with a fabulous service. I can’t fault anything from arrival until we leave, a warm welcome by the hostess, asked if we would like anything to be kept in the cloakroom and we did and was handed an envelope with a tag in it for pick up later. Seated to a nice corner table with a full view of the Promenade, it is an amazing place to be in. Promptly attended by Anuar, a charming waiter who knows how to treat a handbag as much as human :-) He understands what luxury is. Food presented and explained well, sandwiches were tasty, scones is to die for but I don’t fancy the pastry much other than the mille feuille. Tea was topped up regularly and was offered a different choice of tea pairings during different courses. Thank you to every staff member including the pianist and the culinary team at the Dorchester, you did very well indeed. I would like to highlight the service by Anuar, he understood what luxury is, engaging without being intrusive, intelligent too and he provides an attentive and a great service. Anuar should be the ambassador of what luxury service is by the Dorchester.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Newell, Other at The Dorchester
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Syafr2024, What a truly delightful review to receive! Thank you for choosing The Promenade at The Dorchester for an afternoon tea experience. I'm thrilled that the afternoon tea experience you had was exceptional. Your compliments about the sandwiches and scones and our tea offerings are truly appreciated. Our culinary team works hard to create unique and delicious offerings, and I'm am sure they will be pleased to hear your kind words. I am also pleased you were looked after so attentively by our great team of service professionals. We will ensure your comments are shared with the team especially Anuar and I know he will be so touched to have been mentioned in your review. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Dorchester in the near future. Kind regards, Richard Newell Director of Food and Beverage The Dorchester
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
$1,080 - $1,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the dorchester hotel london, dorchester hotel london, dorchester london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonMayfair
NUMBER OF ROOMS
244
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DORCHESTER - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (London, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dorchester
What are some of the property amenities at The Dorchester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Dorchester?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Dorchester?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dorchester?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Dorchester?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Dorchester have airport transportation?
Yes, The Dorchester offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Dorchester?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Dorchester offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Dorchester?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does The Dorchester have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is The Dorchester accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.