We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here during my official visit in Jan 2015.Clean rooms, fresh furnishings and regular housekeeping by the staff made my stay pleasant.The staff was friendly and helping .Overall experience very good.thanks, would visit again and would love to stay

Helpful?
1 Thank Winee
Management response:

Dear Winee, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed the stay and we are glad we have made such an impression on you with our service. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards, Mari Peegel Operations Manager More 

Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Totally disgusted with the staff, service, cleanliness and the general up keep of these apartments. Bed was broken with sharp metal bits, towels and beds changed once every 8 days with you having to dispose of the rubbish yourself!!! I would find some where else to stay you will only be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank MLN1978
Management response:

Dear MLN1978, Thank you for taking the time to write and advise me of your experience while staying at Marlin Apartments, Aldgate. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel comfortable whilst booking and staying with us, therefore I am... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for our family to stay in Aldgate for my daughter's graduation ceremony. On arrival we were told that due to a maintenance issue, we were not able to stay at Aldgate and the only available alternative Marlin apartment room was in Stratford. The staff were very evasive about the maintenance issue and people were... More 

Helpful?
Thank zchagj
Management response:

Dear ZCHAGJ, Thank you for taking the time to write and advise me of your experience . I am sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel comfortable whilst booking and staying with us, therefore I am disappointed you did not... More 

Angmering, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Two bed penthouse apartment 258 great views , great size rooms , great location would defiantly stay here again . only small negative point was one bedroom had a small bed (normal double ) i but very comfortable I would highly recommend lots of parking under apartments

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Management response:

Dear Mark , Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed the stay and we are glad we have made such an impression on you with our Penthouse. We will pass on the feedback to our Head Office regarding the size of the beds. We... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

We stayed here (family of 5) in a two bedroom penthouse apartment. Arriving from a long flight from Australia, we had arranged and paid for early check in prior to 11am. Unfortunately when we arrived our room was not ready, and we had to leave luggage and go out to eat. On return, we were shown to a room which... More 

Helpful?
Thank sootie2016
Management response:

Dear sootie2016, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate. We are glad that the team has solved the problem and you had a good stay with us. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused with the waiting and we will make sure we will improve our service with all the feedback we... More 

Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We had a one night layover in London. So, arrived in the morning and checked into the Marlin later that afternoon. The good things: good location and they did let us leave our bags in a room while we explored the city before we could check in. Now, the bad. It took us over 45 minutes to check in. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelbug33423
Management response:

Dear Travelbug33423, Thank you for staying with us at Marlin Apartments Aldgate and thank you for your time to advise of your recent experience. l do apologise for the delay with the check in process and the confusion with your apartments. We have recently changed our system to improve our service and standards. External company is in charge of maintaining... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Booking rooms when you have more than 2 children is never easy if your children are too young to stay in a room by themselves. The Marlin apartments seemed to be the answer for us. Trip advisor certificate of excellence . Strict list of rules and regulations to ensure quality of other hotel guests. £200 damage deposit for a 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank drFjO
Catalin C, Area Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear drFjO, Thank you for staying with us at Marlin Apartments Aldgate and thank you for your time to advise of your recent experience. Your less than positive experience is not representative of our usual high standards. At Marlin Apartments we work extremely hard to deliver a premium stay in London at very competitive rates and I am very disappointed... More 

Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

We stayed here for the Bank holiday. The Parking was a bit awkward but we didn't plan on moving the car all weekend so no problems until we came to leave on Monday but finally got out with alot of shunting backwards and forwards. The apartment was lovely and spacious with lovely views over the city. Very well equipped. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank ROSEMARY R
Marco S, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear ROSEMARY R, Thank you very much for your five star review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our fully equipped apartment and even if you encountered a little issue during your stay I am delighted that was promptly rectified by our maintenance team. At Marlin Apartments we are proud of our high standard of... More 

London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

My second stay with marlin and they haven't let me down Aldgate apartments are very spacious very clean and great value for money located in such a convenient Area in London, staff are very helpful and nothing. Is to much trouble. Massive thank you to Amirah for all your help!

Helpful?
Thank Lemiaka
Marco S, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear Lemiaka, Thank you very much for your continuous custom. I am delighted to hear that once again that we provided you with excellent service and I will pass your lovely comment to Amirah. We are looking forward to see you again in the nearest future With my warmest regards Marco Sulas Front Desk Supervisor Aldgate More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Staff are horrible and don't even want to talk to customers. They say they have cots for babies... But they didn't on arrival, then asked for bedding for the baby, eg another duvet that's all and they charge extra £20, room however is decent and the location of hotel is good. Rooms get quite warm in the summer.

Helpful?
Thank Neelofa R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
City of London
Cheval Three Quays
Cheval Three Quays
#2 of 767 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,729 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
PREMIER SUITES London
PREMIER SUITES London
#47 of 767 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Whitechapel

Neighborhood Profile
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden squares, these days you're more likely to catch a cutting edge fashionista scurrying through its age old lanes than criminals of any sort.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our newest development, Marlin Aldgate, is situated in London's latest financial district. These premier apartments were constructed in 2009 in a response to the incredible and ever-growing demand for cost-effective London accommodation that does not compromise on quality.Marlin Aldgate is amongst a host of vibrant and fashionable districts such as Shoreditch and Hoxton that have been welcoming a new wave of urbanites in recent years. From this development, guests are only a short distance away from such London landmarks as Tower Bridge, the Gherkin and Canary Wharf. Aldgate is highly accessible via public transport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Address: 58 Commercial Road, London E1 1LP, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Tower Bridge - Aldgate)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Price Range: $169 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Aldgate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Marlin Apartments Aldgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Aldgate City East Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Aldgate London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay