We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tower Bridge Rd Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN England
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$146
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/17/22
Expedia.com
$155
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/18/22
Agoda.com
$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Priceline$155
Hotels.com$155
The Bermondsey$173
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (462)
Room & Suite (425)
Dining (63)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Updated 08/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#375 of 1,198 hotels in London
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Bulgarian and 3 more

Location

Full view
98Great for walkers
Grade: 98 out of 100
84Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
21Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1861Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 837
  • 708
  • 198
  • 62
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DCR88 wrote a review Aug 8
Burnley, United Kingdom20 contributions11 helpful votes
Decent hotel, room a little tired but clean, a little over priced at near £200 a night. Bermondsey Square will be nice once scaffolding and work for reclading the flats/ hotel is finished . Breakfast good, but not really on to charge for cooked options especially when they only have turkey rashers , not bacon - what's that about?!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
flemingi3 wrote a review Aug 8
Swindon, United Kingdom
Lovely hotel in a good location for the lively cafes and bars near Bermondsey. About 15 minute walk to tube stations but good bus service to Victoria close by. The renovation work didn’t cause any disruption to our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Neil M wrote a review Aug 8
1 contribution
I took my partner here for her 50th and I had booked it earlier on in the year maybe March time Then I received an email 4 days before our stay to inform me that although we can use the Lucy suite which costs over £500 but we couldn’t use the jacuzzi due to building work but they then also said we could have another stay for free with the jacuzzi also they said they would do champagne on arrival and the room would be done up all nice which I thought was such a nice thing to do. On arrival on our first visit there was no champagne and the room had not been done at all like they said I went to reception and explained this and they apologised and said if we leave the room they would sort that out to which I explained that wasn’t good enough seen as you expect something like that as a surprise on arrival not told to leave the room and they would then do what they had originally said would be done Also the room has seen better days and the furniture is chipped and looks tatty In the bathroom the shower has clearly had leaks and the ceiling needed attention so I expressed this to the manager who apologised and assured me on our next visit they would sort these things out and also give me £200 refund which obviously was fine with me 👍 Yesterday me and my partner went for our second visit which was free due to the inconvenience of the building work and not having access to the jacuzzi So on arrival to our second visit we immediately wanted to get into the jacuzzi so we went straight out and took off the cover and got in The jacuzzi was on the hottest setting and the control panel was locked so we couldn’t adjust any settings or turn the temperature down and it was a really hot day so ideally we didn’t want a 40 degree jacuzzi in the mid day heat I called the reception and they sent someone to take a look to which he said he would turn it off and on again to reset it ….. he did this but the jacuzzi was still locked on the hottest temperature so he then tried to call someone but with no joy We was then told the jacuzzi would be turned off for an hour so it could cool down this was almost 3 hours into our stay I went to the reception and asked for the manual so I could fix the jacuzzi myself and I was told they didn’t have one and they would try get hold of the maintenance guy and see if he could help and low and behold no joy with that either …… I then called the receptionist and asked for the jacuzzi to be turned on again and I spent almost an hour online finding the correct manual so I could fix/adjust the jacuzzi MYSELF ……… (which I did) So all in all I spent around 4-5 hours of our second stay stressed because yet again the jacuzzi wasn’t working …… Also the room had not had any attention and the shower fitted in the ceiling looked worse than our first visit ……. Also they supply a portable speaker so you can listen to music in the jacuzzi but they don’t have the charger in the room so I had to wait over an hour for that to be taken and charged 🤦‍♂️ I’m sorry but when charging over £500 a night for this room the service I received was in NO WAY near good enough and although I was refunded £200 the service should have been as good regardless of that ….. Very poor ……. Breakfast was nice though 👍
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wander68457 wrote a review Aug 4
Great location - excellent staff - very good breakfast - many very good restaurants within a short walk. Construction work started a little earlier than we would have liked, but it was super hot, so I think that may have affected the start time. Everything was very clean - had an A/C issue when we arrived, but it was fixed immediately. We would stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your time whilst staying with us and you enjoyed the wonderful team we have here at The Bermondsey Square Hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kindest Regards, Andrea | Guest Services Manager
Read more
taylormjacobs wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We are Americans traveling with three kids. For English accommodations the room worked out well with all bc of us crammed. The exterior due to a remodel was a sore eye but I’m sure it will look very nice when complete. The staff was nice and provided lovely sleeping aide goodies at check-in. The breakfast served here was outstanding and worth its weight in gold!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Good evening, Thank you so much for your glowing review. I am really happy you had such as positive experience with us and you enjoyed all with have to offer and were not disturbed by the main brunt of the disturbances. We'll be happy to welcome you back this side of the pond once the work is done, Kindest Regards, Liam - Guest Services Manager
Read more
Mini wrote a review Jul 2022
The room is nice, clean and comfortable. I will give it a higher rate if the rooms were soundproof. It was very noisy (workers banging in the hotel) and at night you could hear other people's rooms...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, I am happy you had a positive experience with the room and our amazing staff members. With the work is will be going on until the end of August, start of September to do some minor work on the outside and with it can come disturbance as much as we try to allocate people around the brunt of the problem it unfortunately cannot always be avoided. We hope to welcome you back once the work is finished. Kindest Regards, Liam - Guest Services Manager
Read more
ijallen52 wrote a review Jul 2022
Antrim, United Kingdom120 contributions50 helpful votes
Whilst staff and the room itself was good, I wasn’t prepared for the building being covered in scaffolding and drilling noises during the morning. I’m sure that this temporary glitch will improve future guest experiences
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, I am happy you had a positive experience with the room and our amazing staff members. With the work is will be going on until the end of August, start of September to do some minor work on the outside and with it can come disturbance as much as we try to allocate people around the brunt of the problem it unfortunately cannot always be avoided. We hope to welcome you back once the work is done, Kindest Regards, Liam - Guest Services Manager
Read more
PreraphaeliteDiner wrote a review Jul 2022
Risley, United Kingdom17 contributions60 helpful votes
I stayed here a month ago. The prices are extreme when you consider the disruption from building work . They should be reducing rates drastically as the experience is not good. I am due to stay again in a few days, was told building work would be ended by then, but according to posts last few days it is still going on . Can you post exactly when the building work finishes , so people can make an informed decision please .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. I am sorry that your stay was not up to your standard. With the work being done we only have a projected finishing month of the end of August start of September time. With the rate it is typically reflected to the occupancy and events happening in the area so they can fluctuate and they can rise and fall all depending on the business needs. Though this stay wasn't great we hope to see you back once the work is fully completed. Kindest Regards, Liam - Guest Services Manager
Read more
myrlito wrote a review Jul 2022
Nice, France46 contributions28 helpful votes
I went to Bermondsey square hotel for two days it was great as very well situated five minutes from london bridge station, bus to victoria very near, shops and bars! I had a great time there! The room was clean, of a good size, staff very caring and helpful. What I really enjoyed too was the bar and sofa area, the fact that you can have breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner! The food is fresh at all times of the day and the staff there finds always a solution in case of dietary requirements.Well All was perfect and I cant wait for my next visit there!Thos place deserves to be seen ane visited.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello myrlito, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here at The Bermondsey Square Hotel and our amazing workforce of staff and prime location. If you know any of the staff members names we will be more than happy to know so we can deliver their praise to them. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards, Andrea - Guest Services Manager
Read more
470stefan wrote a review Jul 2022
Gävle, Sweden
+1
The hotel was a construction site. We had booked a suite with a terrace and were not allowed to open doors or windows. The view was a scaffolding. The hotel owner refused to compensate us or refund anything. They did not even answer my email as the front desk said I would send
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello 470stefan, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us and I am sorry that your stay wasn't up to your standard and you left here with a sour taste. We try our hardest to accommodate our guest without disturbances but the scaffolding does unfortunately blocked the windows and access to the terraces. We hope we can encourage you to come back in the future once the renovations have finished. Kindest Regards, Andrea - Guest Services Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bermondsey square hotel, hotel bermondsey square
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSouthwark
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Maltby Street Market (0.3 miles), Fashion and Textile Museum (0.2 miles), and White Cube Gallery (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Amisha, Tower Tandoori, and Fine Foods.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Romanian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.1 miles), Tower of London (0.7 miles), and Houses of Parliament (1.9 miles).
Is The Bermondsey Square Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.