We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karma Sanctum Soho

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (559)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (326)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#348 of 1,131 hotels in London
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
3.7
Travelers' Choice
Today’s rock’n’roll hotel is less about threats of incidental bodily harm and more about a glamorously decadent atmosphere, and the new model is a place like the Sanctum Soho. Here it means a dash of modern minimalism, a sprinkling of baroque opulence, and an emphasis on the darker end of the color palette. The in-room electronics are totally up to date, while some throwback touches are retained for atmosphere’s sake. It’s a twenty-four-hour hotel with a liberal, tolerant service concept; what you want, you’ll get, without so much as a raised eyebrow. In that, it’s not so fundamentally different from some of London’s more conservative luxury hotels — it just feels naughtier.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Rooftop bar
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,099 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Karma Sanctum Soho stands out as a hidden gem in the heart of the city, with many guests lauding its perfect location and rock 'n roll ambiance. The rooftop bar, hot tub, and quality breakfast are among the praised amenities, while the hotel's cleanliness receives consistent commendation. Although some travelers have encountered maintenance issues in rooms, the attentive service and unique decor contribute to the overall vibrant and eclectic experience. However, visitors should be aware of potential hidden costs.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Eclectic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Top-notch
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,099Review14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 558
  • 240
  • 111
  • 82
  • 108
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
MNears wrote a review Apr 1
8 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We booked in over the Easter weekend and had an amazing experience. The lovely receptionist made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. She was fairly new in post, but she presented as a pro and was polite and professional. Mike the bar man in the top bar made an awesome pina colada. The rooms were immaculate, comfy beds and fluffy pillows. We found the location perfect. The breakfast was delicious, from the cooked breakfast to the continental. The croissants and pastries were freshly made at the same time. The jacuzzi was a nice way to chill at the end of the day. It was pricey for us but as a treat just so worth it. The wine, crisps, chocolates in the fridge super expensive, which was a shame. The rooms had a unique feel with an unusual picture of a beautiful lady and Sylvester the cat. Pics attached. Well done to everyone from the receptionist, all the staff and the cleaning lady who cleaned our room to a high standard every day. THANK YOU.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mike P wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
I normally rent AirBNBs but I decided to stay here on a recommendation from a friend. Bottom lime: I was blown away by the overall experience and I will stay here often when I come to London. The staff were awesome. Very attentive and accommodating. Clean hotel. Cozy and nice. Restaurant was such a great bonus. I loved the included breakfast. Yogurt w/ granola, croissant, and a cappuccino. On the weekends its full at night. So nice to be able to pop into a crowd on your way in or out. The classic rock theme is cool. Many one of a kind art pieces spread throughout. The rooftop bar was clutch. Super cozy and indoor/outdoor spaces. Perfect for a party, which we had. I stayed in the Junior Suite for nearly two weeks. It became my home and it felt like it when I would return from a long night. Everything provided was quality and what you would expect from a boutique hotel. The bar was fully stocked in case the moment is right - nice to have that option. Bed was comfortable and the hot tub was clutch when I had company over. I honestly don't have a complaint. I felt like the hotel treated me as a valued customer and went out of their way to entertain my sometimes crazy requests. I think this is the kind of service you can only find in a small hotel with a tight-knit staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: They aren't stingy about giving you extra free bottled water
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Gillykippax wrote a review Feb 2024
Phnom Penh, Cambodia54 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
The only place in London we stay when on a visit from the Philippines. Mark, his family and team, really know how to make everyone feel at ease and he is of course the consumate host. Always available and great fun to be around. There is always something special happening in this place at weekends and of course Mark will ensure his guests are invited and looked after. The hotel itself is extremely well maintained and has lost none of its quirky charm and ambience it is renowned for. Some fantastic artwork decorate all the public and room areas, making this place a class of its own. Breakfast is a great choice of cooked and continental. The bar is well stocked and great for some of their cocktail creations. Rooms are spaceous by central Soho standards and very well equipped. Beds are very comfortable, with pillows like clouds. Will be back again on our next UK visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctum HOTEL, General Manager at Karma Sanctum Soho
Responded Feb 26, 2024
Dear Gilly Thank you so much for our 5-star review. We are so glad you enjoyed our little family-run hotel, and that you could enjoy the amenities and meet Mark and the team. We loved having you and can't wait to welcome you back. Wishing you all the best the Sanctum Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fay C wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Absolutely fantastic hotel, fabulous staff, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was wonderful, location the best. Loved our room. The roof top bar was just another level, we were a small group and stayed up there till 3am. Can not wait to return again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Byett wrote a review Feb 2024
Newbridge, United Kingdom44 contributions50 helpful votes
Perfect location. Amazing ambience. Rooms are large, clean and funky. The Team are friendly, knowledgable and extremely happy to help. Breakfast is freshly cooked and top notch. Bar has a great atmosphere. Rooftop bar is perfect for all occasions. Really truly brilliant hotel. Book it!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Greg P wrote a review Feb 2024
Lexington, Kentucky29 contributions30 helpful votes
This was my first visit this property and I couldn’t have had a better experience. This was a business trip and I was splitting my time between an office on Saville Row and a conference at ExCel London. The Bond St station is < 10 minute walk. There are so many pubs and restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. My room was a jr suite which had a sitting room with a pull out couch and a bar. The bedroom had a king bed, a decent sized closet, and enough room for my luggage. The bed was comfortable and I liked that housekeeping put the accent pillows away soon don’t have to deal with them every night. The bath was awesome although if I was traveling with my wife, the sink area would have been tight. The shower had a cool feature which had LED lights that changed as the water temperature increased. The rooftop lounge was my favorite. There is an outdoor cigar lounge along with a trendy indoor bar. I will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel. The rooms are decent size but I wouldn’t stay here if I had 2 huge...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kerry M wrote a review Feb 2024
6 contributions3 helpful votes
A jewel in the city! One of the most friendly hotels in London! A pleasure to stay in, with fabulous attentive staff and great location! Clean and very comfortable rooms and a laid back bar and fab Japanese style dinning! Can’t wait to visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctum HOTEL, General Manager at Karma Sanctum Soho
Responded Feb 8, 2024
Dear Kerry Many thanks for the fab 5* review. We appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed our little hotel and that we were able to deliver the service and comfort you deserve. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon The Sanctum Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aziza_Bikbaeva wrote a review Jan 2024
Moscow, Russia4 contributions
Dirty rooms, separate cold and hot taps (uncomfortable for non UK guests). After check out my credit card was charged, I have no idea for what. Actually, we prepaid our reservations. We booked 2 rooms: superior and budget for kids, bur budget room is better than superior. Receptionists didn’t help us with our complains. I’d like to giving thank you to Russian-speaker housekeeper. She was helpful and friendly. I don’t recommend this hotel for my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctum HOTEL, General Manager at Karma Sanctum Soho
Responded Jan 14, 2024
Dear Guest We are sorry you didn’t like our rooms nor the UK tap system of hot and cold water, and that we did not have a Russian speaking receptionist. As it relates to the rooms, we find this comment strange. As you can see from our many 5 star reviews we are always complimented on our comfortable beds and clean rooms. The charges applied are for items consumed from the mini bar, which we tried to communicate at checkout Sorry you didn’t like our little family ran hotel. Wishing you all the best. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lee S wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed three times in all the best rooms in hotel which are lovely and an ideal location, Couldn’t be better . staff were lovely . But then popped in for a drink one day and on previous visits Mark was more than lovely and helpful but that night we got treated like dirt , so much that it made me not want to go back . But Shortly after we was with a well known singer from a band and the club shut we was in. So headed to the hotel to carry on with a nightcap . To which the receptionist was fairly rude and said no . I said it’s me we’ve stayed often but she wasn’t allowing anyone in room only the singer, she recognised us too . A bit baffled we all headed our own ways and the the guy went to his room . I haven’t had this problem ever , I partied so loud , imaginary skipping to Malcom McClareans double Dutch on full blast at the Shard . We had a full 36 hour party in our room and balcony in the standard hotel and no problem , We’ve even shaken a tail feather in a travel lodge and ok . So a hotel that echoes its a party place and can have best fun was really fibbing . Btw we’re not youngsters we’ve all been around the block and know the score and respectful too . Shame hotel doesn’t say what it says on the tin . Won’t stay again I’m afraid , if you want a wild one head to the Standard King’s Cross and get room with bath on balcony .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Go for the best rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tenaciousangels wrote a review Dec 2023
Scottsdale, Arizona3 contributions
Coming to London has been a dream of mine and being able to plan a solo performance and book launch that was near and dear to my heart was crucial. From the moment I reached out to Shereen and the team, I was welcomed with open arms. As a rock and roll 80s girl, I could not have had a better fit! The entire hotel is CLASSY, rock n' roll and fit my needs perfectly. The theater and food, drinks bar tender, team to get things ready, rehearsal time, Marc the GM, the art work, I CANT ET ENOUGH!! I booked the Junior suite at the top and was just blown away by my experience, if I get the chance to spend a couple weeks in the summer there is no better lace to stay. I LOVE YOU ALL!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Get the Junior Suite its worth it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
$313 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonVictoria / Soho
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KARMA SANCTUM SOHO - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (London, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Karma Sanctum Soho
Which popular attractions are close to Karma Sanctum Soho?
Nearby attractions include London Party Pub Crawl (0.2 miles), On The Rocks Bar Crawl (0.2 miles), and Insider London - Day Tours (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Karma Sanctum Soho?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Karma Sanctum Soho?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Karma Sanctum Soho?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Karma Sanctum Soho?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Karma Sanctum Soho?
Conveniently located restaurants include Scarlett Green, Green Bar at Hotel Café Royal, and Hard Rock Cafe London Picadilly Circus.
Are any cleaning services offered at Karma Sanctum Soho?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Karma Sanctum Soho?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Karma Sanctum Soho?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.0 miles), Tower of London (2.7 miles), and Churchill War Rooms (0.8 miles).
Is Karma Sanctum Soho accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.