We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
27 Poultry, London EC2R 8AJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$344
Hotels.com
$344
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$284
Extra 3% off with AGOTA1222
Booking.com$346
Priceline$346
Travelocity$344
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1128)
Dining (308)
Room & Suite (229)

About

#401 of 1,205 hotels in London
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
The Ned is a hotel, members club and collection of restaurants in the City of London. Set in the former Midland Bank building, The Ned was designed by Sir Edwin 'Ned' Lutyens in 1924. The heritage building's restaurants include Cecconi's City of London, Millie's Lounge, Malibu Kitchen, Kaia, Café Sou, Zobler's Deli, Lutyens Grill and The Roof Bar. There are 252 bedrooms and suites channeling 1920s and 1930s design, a range of men’s and women’s grooming services and ‘Ned’s Club’, where members and hotel guests have access to a rooftop pool, gym, spa, hamam and The Vault late night lounge bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Hammam
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English
1384Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 815
  • 274
  • 126
  • 75
  • 94
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Notaire k wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. There was not one single positive point during our stay. Crowded at entrance, loud music, no places in any bar to sit for a drink. In the room, no air con working, nesrly all bulbs not working. Staff really not very nice. All in all a very bad experience. We will never ever go back there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol O'Connell, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ned
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Notairek, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and naturally we are disappointed to hear your experience at The Ned. We have shared your feedback with our management teams. Many thanks, The Ned
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DES K wrote a review Nov 2022
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked the Sunday feast for a small family celebration for 6 adults. Cost was £90 per head (a 50% increase on the last price) and was told we would be allocated a two hour slot. We arrived on time only to be told there was a 10-20 minute delay we were advised to go and wait at the bar. At the bar we were told it was table service only, waited patiently for waitress to give us a table to stand round then a further 10 mins for someone to take our drinks order. We waited for someone to tell us our dining table was ready but no one came so I went to the greeter and asked how much longer would our wait be. They told us our table had been ready for 30min and that we should have come back and checked with them. We were shown to our table in the far corner of the hall we had to negotiate a 12” gap to get to our table because a chair on the next table a poor lady was seated at was blocking the way got unintentionally bumped by us. We were told we had an hour and half to enjoy the feast. No staff was attentive to us, we had to go and ask for everything inc cutlery, we was supposed to be giving a glass of Prosecco on arrival, again we had to ask for this. The food layout was sparse not like on our other previous visits, the replenishing left a lot to be desired. Our bill was just put on our table with no chance for us to ask questions about the service. My son remarked he had better service at a Toby carvery. This felt like we were in a different room to the main restaurant with all the entertainment going on next door. This is not what anyone should expect from a five star hotel/restaurant , poor all round service and presentation. With no one available to take constructive feedback. Far better places to have a special Sunday lunch with the family, where you will feel you have not been cheated. Pic below of the gap six of us had to negotiate every time we went for food.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Wombat wrote a review Nov 2022
Kalmar, Sweden72 contributions78 helpful votes
Brilliant hotel, with a vibrant lobby to be modest! The gym is one of the best I seen in London hotels. Cleaning is perfect and rooms are cozy and traditional. One thing which I didn't like is the breakfast and the limit of GBP 25! For a 500 to 600 GBP per night room, they could have just added 10 to 20 to the room rate and remove or raised the limit at breakfast. Beside that I highly recommend the Ned and will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
112luxurytraveller wrote a review Nov 2022
England, United Kingdom26 contributions28 helpful votes
Another comfy stay in the City with our dog who was treated like a fur princess! The butler delivered to our room bottled water bowls cute wicker bed and treats The Ned is quirky stylish and fun.The Turkish baths and spa are a great retreat away from City life . Drinks on the roof top bar set us up for Dining in the exclusive club style vault restaurant We have dined in the hotels Italian restaurant on previous stays which was first rate too
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Happyholsl wrote a review Oct 2022
London8 contributions8 helpful votes
Arrived early in Millies for dinner with friends and needed to send an email before friends arrived and was told I could not ...when I said I was not aware of any such restriction I was threatened with being evicted by security. Completely destroyed the evening ...I will never return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol O'Connell, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ned
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Happyholsl, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and naturally we are disappointed to hear your experience at The Ned. We have shared your feedback with our management teams. Many thanks, The Ned
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikey C wrote a review Oct 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom31 contributions6 helpful votes
I know the response from management will be, oh sorry but this is our policy and there’s nothing we can do about it etc. I wanted to take my wife and two daughters to the Ned for the Feast for four at the Millie’s Lounge for my wife’s birthday. It was going to be £90 per head which is not cheap in this current climate. I was out walking my dog and forgot to bring my credit card to hold the booking. When I called, Spoke with Rita first who refused to hold it provisionally for me. Spoke with Gabriel and Langa as well who also refused to hold it for me. I said to them, I will leave my details and contact number and I promised that I would call back with my credit card in 10-15 mins if only they could hold it for me provisionally. I even said to them that I might even lose the time slot I wanted by the time I called them back. Of course I was right, when I got home to call with me card details, the slot was not available anymore. I’m upset with the fact that the reservations team/ guest services were simply not willing to go the extra mile for a new customer. Even Andre the Res supervisor called me back and arrogantly said to me that I did not FIT THE CRITERIA and hence did not want to help or take my booking. I explained that instead of being so robotic and governed by the computer, they couldn’t even write a little post it note reminder to call me back in 10 mins to take my credit card details and proceed with the booking?? I thought The Ned was a fine luxury establishment and that the staff there would be a little more empathetic and flexible to try and make a new customer happy for what was meant to be my wife’s birthday celebration. But instead they left a bitter taste even before we set our feet through the doors. I suggested to Andre that there’s no point in have physical beings working in his team then. Instead just leave a VM to advise people to book online. The computer will probably have more empathy. Very disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Service
Room Tip: Yeah book their restaurant online instead as the humans working there are just as robotic
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
denismurfy wrote a review Oct 2022
Twickenham, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here during lockdown and were allowed to avail of the 50% off NHS workers discount. Fantastic hotel. I’d recommend a stay, but if that not possible then please try and experience the grandeur of the main hall and enjoy the great restaurants and music. Five stars
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bbtrees wrote a review Sep 2022
57 contributions59 helpful votes
Stayed here for a week. Grand place with a very classic look. The quartet playing in the lobby is the main centerpiece in the evening. The go-to-place around Bank for a drink or three. The staff are nice and courteous, and the rooms are extra spacious and the amenities (pool/spa etc.) are great! If you're going in for a long stay watch out for the GBP150 a night deposit you need to put down..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: watch out for the nightly security deposit - of 150gbp!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lifou T wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom246 contributions279 helpful votes
Stayed at the Ned twice in June when on business in London. Short review - absolutely not a hotel for business travelers. Rooms cramped, no proper blackout blinds, uncomfortable bed, lighting making it hard to work from the hotel room. Staff generally disinterested. Guests no longer have access to the rooftop, which is a deal breaker for me. A random service charge was automatically added to my final bill - absolutely ridiculous. The hotel should just pay a living wage to its staff. All in all, not staying here again when traveling on business.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
dedicatedtraveller wrote a review Sep 2022
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England5937 contributions625 helpful votes
We went to The Ned for coffee and a pastry as we walked past it on our London City walk and I remembered it from its Midland Bank days all those years ago! Very pleasant area to have coffee in. Waiter fine but I couldn't believe a 5* hotel only had full cream milk available. I changed over to a hot chocolate which arrived very attractively presented but it was only tepid. My friend changed to an orange juice which was ok. The Danish pastry was very good. Whilst it brought back a lot of memories from my working days I'm not sure I'd go back again.... I was planning to but... now not so sure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$402 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonCity of London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
252
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE NED - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (London, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ned
Which popular attractions are close to The Ned?
Nearby attractions include Augmented Reality Outdoor Experience (0.3 miles), Guildhall Art Gallery (0.2 miles), and The Monument to the Great Fire of London (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ned?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at The Ned?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Ned?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Ned?
Conveniently located restaurants include The India - Best of the City, Gaucho City, and Gordon Ramsay Street Pizza - St Paul's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ned?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Ned located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of London.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ned?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Ned offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ned?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (1.9 miles), Tower of London (0.7 miles), and Houses of Parliament (1.8 miles).
Is The Ned accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.