We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,034: English reviews
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I selected this hotel for its convenience to Paddington and its apparent quality. When I checked in, I was told that, due to a technical problem at thehotel, I could not be accomodated in the Shaftesbury Metropolis, but I would be moved to another nearby hotel. Eventually, acar turned up and moved me to the Shaftesbury Suites. I as placed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cmacken12
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you on your arrival at our property. We are extremely sorry, however we had some issues with few rooms as they had to be taken out of order. We had no other option than to arrange an alternate accomodation for our guest's.... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had originally been booked into the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Kensington (which now appears to be called the Park Grand Kensington) and while on arrival it was clear there was some renovation ongoing as a number of workmen were around, it was nothing that concerned me. I was checked in, my credit card was taken then was told I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank hilary d
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to the transfer situation which was quite unfortunate. We are extremely sorry to know that the room you stayed in was not upto what you excepted it to be. I request you to kindly forward me the room number so... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked via lastminute.com and wasn't disappointed. We had a complimentary room upgrade (so don't know what the smaller rooms would be like) and the room was fine - very clean - and even had a microwave (although I don't think all rooms have this facility). The breakfast was OK. The staff were excellent. It's an easy walk to Paddington underground... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alic J
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location appropriate. It will be a great pleasure for us to serve you again . Kind Regards Sincerely Aparna dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com More 

Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

First of all I have to say I ravel over 20 weeks per year all over the world, which kind of makes me an advanced user of hotels and airplanes (and not a first time user). Being that said, let's got to the facts. I stayed in this hotel at the end of February 2013. Quite pleasant hotel, nothing to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe M
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park. We are extremely sorry to hear about the inconvenience you went through , however would like to say that we did receive a seperate email from your end regarding the same case and our reservations agent was dealing with it. Even the hotel representative replied to you regarding this. Please feel free... More 

coop16
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was a bit worried about booking here due to the reviews I had read, especially as we were choosing this for location and many people had be allocated to other properties upon arrival. We were 2 couples visiting London for the marathon, and stayed 2 nights. I had emailed the hotel a few weeks beforehand to have them confirm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank coop16
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park. We thank you for your valuable feedback which is of great importance to us. We are sorry to know that you had difficulty conversing with our staff , however we do have fluent english speaking staff as well. All our team was very pleased to serve you and look forward to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Booked one night to be near West End on Saturday night. On arrival at 8 pm we were told that due to a technical fault with a boiler we had to go to another hotel in Chiswell Street in the City, miles away from where we wished to be. The hotel had not trouibled to call beforehand; I could have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Edwardreviewer
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park . Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you on your arrival at our property. We are all the more sorry to hear that you were not informed about this unforseen situation. We had arranged your stay at our sister property which is of a much higher category .... More 

uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After readining reviews of the Shaftbury hotels I was a little concerned because a lot of people had put about bad experiences after being transferred to other sister hotels. The day before we left we received a phone call saying we had been moved to this hotel due to water issues at the other one. Atleast point I though the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank steph_taylor_12
GurpreetLondon, Front Office Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Wow what a feedback! Once again many thanks for sharing your thoughts about recent stay with us. Guest's feedback is really important to us as they hep us to improve more and more. Your excellent comments has been shared within whole team and feel proud that we were able to meet and greet all expectations with us especially... More 

Ottawa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Clean rooms. Good price. Beds a little soft but everything else good. Staff and reception polite and professional. Would stay again any time. Lots of restaurants and breakfast places nearby. Very close to Paddington train and Tube stations.

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBOttawa
GurpreetLondon, Front Office Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to London. We thank you for your comments and also for sharing it on this website. We are a learning organization here and always aim to reach highest level of customer care. Whole team at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel was really... More 

Warriors Mark
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed there with the family and found the service courteous ad the rooms very clean and comfortable, the price was very good for central London with lots of interesting shops and food possibilities nearby.

Helpful?
1 Thank nlcperk
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park. We are very pleased to read your excellent comments and thank you for the same. It was a great pleasure for us to serve you. Please do write to me prior to your future stay as I will be more than happy to allocate one of our best room for you. Kind... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stay in hotels every week and have never written a review, but felt compelled to write a review of this one...I'd stayed in this hotel before and decided not to stay there again. Sadly I was moved from another hotel to this one and it was actually worse this time around. My room was tiny (not enough room to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 494KevinD
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park . Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to the transfer situation. We are devastated to read comments about poor cleanliness of the room you stayed in. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as I will definitely discuss this with my housekeeper so that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

431 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Club Double Room (30)
Viewed
Club Double with Romance Package (28)
Viewed
Club Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Club Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#203 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#195 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $119 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England
Hotel Style:
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#372 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay