We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wellington Hotel

Show Prices
#493 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wellington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 384: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 28, 2016

I stayed at the Wellington for three nights over Christmas and enjoyed the experience. The location was ideal as I was going on a Thames cruise from Westminster Pier on Christmas Day and going to a show at The Festival Hall in Boxing Day. I was greeted by a friendly receptionist and check in was easy. There were a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieJ48
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Afternoon Julie Thank you for your review on your stay here with us at the wellington I will pass on your comments to the rest of my team please take care and I hope we get to see you with us again Happy new year Mark Leeds

France
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

Dreadful room, narrow single pull-down bed with sagging mattress, dirty stool as only chair, non-functioning TV, non-functioning bedside light. Was nearly in tears and requested different room (being too late to get a different hotel entirely). After some rearranging, the hotel management did kindly change me to a better room (6 instead of 5). I stayed for 4 nights but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I have just seen your review I am shocked at what you have said ! now I am going to look into your booking and do a full investigation PLEASE get in touch with me ask for mark I am the Manager and let me show you the real wellington . I am so sorry you had a...

essex
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

Great location for the Royal festival hall with only a few minutes walk. Very friendly helpful staff. Nice clean rooms with ensuite shower room, would be a problem if you find it hard to walk up a few flights of stairs. Good bar menu but it can be a bit hard to find a table to eat at. breakfast ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lionhall
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to do a review I will look into the tables at breakfast and I am so sorry about not having a lift but like me the wellington is a old building . Merry Christmas Mark

UK Southampton
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Wellington for one night, pub looked grea, top floor so lots of steps, room was small but very nice, there was a bit of road noise from drunk people shouting etc but I knew that was a risk before booking, all in all a great hotel for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrinceyNaz
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Afternoon thanks for the review I am sorry about the noise but it being Christmas does not help as well . As for the steps I cant say a thing . I hope you have a very merry Christmas Kind Regards Mark

durham uk
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

It's just outside Waterloo station so is ideally located for pre rugby drinks before catching the train to Twickenham. It's got all the usual offerings at reasonable for London prices and although we didn't sample the food it all looked ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunlunlad
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rugby fan a big thank you for the review I hope you enjoyed the game the England team done us proud have a good Christmas Regards Mark

Howell,NJ
Reviewed November 17, 2016

This hotel is very centrally located to all the top attractions in London. The prices were very fair for a city hotel. The rooms were adequate. However, try to get a room on a lower floor, as there is no elevator and the stairs are quite narrow & steep. Breakfast was included. It is part of a pub and near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hwllmary
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Morning thank you for the review and like you say we are close to everything ! sorry about not having any lift but this is a very old building just like me . Have a very merry Christmas Mark

Exton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed November 3, 2016

We chose this hotel for location which was close to Underground, walkable to London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Tower of London, shopping, pubs & restaurants. The "reception desk" was a window at the end of a long bar. There are no elevators (lifts) to the rooms so you'd better have small bags or large muscles. Our room was on the 3rd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish C
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to do a review on your stay here with us at the wellington I am sorry about the no lift but we are a old building and we have looked into this but we have been told it can't be done . I am going to look into the booking with regards...

Warton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016

thank you mark ,valerie and all the staff at the wellington hotel we stayed only one night as a treat for my mums 80th and the service was second to none . we were made to feel very welcome and the extra attention afforded to my mum and her flowers really made her day thank you one and all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hardman2015
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest all I want to say is thank you for your review and your mum is one special Lady make sure you give her a hug everyday Kind Regards Mark

Reviewed October 29, 2016

My daughter and I stayed here for 1 night in a lovely very comfortable room, with a much larger than usual double bed. The room was modern. spotlessly clean and immaculate. The furniture is querky fun and modern, and the shower was so good it was hard not to spend too long in there. Quality hairdryer provided - which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TisFridayYippee
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your stay here with us I hope you lady's had a good time in London and with regards to the hairdryer all the guest tell me they like them even the men . Kind Regards Mark

Reviewed October 26, 2016

Stayed here for a few nights before flying out of Gatwick and it is in the perfect place to see all the sights if you only have a short time. Crackign breakfast in the morning and reasonably priced beer ( for London). Despite being above the pub the room was quiet and the beds were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben N
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review I will pass on your comments to our breakfast chef . I hope you had a good journey home Regards Mark

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

400 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Single Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Twin Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#199 of 1,087 in London
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Tune Hotel - Westminster
#404 of 1,087 in London
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family hotel with restaurant, near London Eye Free full breakfast and WiFi Main amenities: 25 smoke-free guest rooms, restaurant, ATM/banking services, tour/ticket assistance What’s around: In South Bank London Eye (0.4 mi / 0.6 km) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $141 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England
Hotel Style:
#276 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lower floors, as there is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles hwllmary, Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room LOWER than 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles trishc2013, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seem to be the same quality . if a light sleeper train noise may annoy but did not bother any of our party in any way”
 of 5 bubbles hardman2015, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“be prepared for general London noise.”
 of 5 bubbles vickyw123452016, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“Obviously rooms on the higher floors are quieter, but no lift means not ideal for people who have trouble with steps.”
 of 5 bubbles hitman22, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question