We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clink78

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clink78
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,909 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,128: English reviews
Start your review of Clink78
 Click to rate
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location-wise it is brilliant - only a 5-10 minute walk away from Kings Cross Station, with loads of restaurants and 24/7 shops on-route. We paid to have our own room with en-suite bathroom, which was more expensive than the dorm rooms but it was worth it for the extra privacy and is much cheaper than staying in a hotel. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMunn
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really great place, good location. Everyone is really nice. There are no shortage of amenities at all. They have laundry facilities, Kitchen area (word of advice; if you are cooking on the stove top just be aware that they take forever to heat up (I'm not exaggerating) and can take job that would have been 5 minutes into (what felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kathleen H
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Kathleen, Thanks for your great review! We love to hear you made new friends, that's where we are about :-) Hopefully we see you back again soon! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The old court house provides comfortable hostel accommodation, which included a simple continental style breakfast. The location is about 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross, and the connections from there give easy access to the rest of London and beyond. During my visit the lift did not work. Travellers unable to use the stairs should probably communicate this to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarneyB1981
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Barney, Thanks for your review! Happy to hear you loved the location :-) Sorry about the broken lift! We are getting a new lift installed at the moment which should be ready in about 3 weeks. We always advice guests to not leave valuable things in the luggage room, there are separate lockers for that. We also have CCTV...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is my first time in clink 78 the place is clean ,the wifi is v.good and the staff is really friendly and very helpful but the rooms is kind of small but still comfy . The place as a whole is near from underground station and transportation generally I recommend clink 78.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asln4
Reviewed 1 week ago

At a very good location, just 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross/St Pancras this was an ok place to stay for just a few days or over a weekend. The rooms are old prison cells so ragged with time but still good enough standard. Simple Ikea furniture. No alcohol to be brought inside but local pubs just outside the door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chandra S
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Chandra, Thanks for your review and great feedback! Happy to hear you liked the location :-) The breakfast is free and therefore indeed basic. We are thinking about getting some extra things, so thanks for your thoughts :-) The Wifi is normally really strong, so for next time you don't have to worry about that! Please next time ask...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome if you're traveling by yourself and on a budget. Friendly staff, great bar and the small dorms are great. They have a very cosy camping feel about them. Showers are nice and the breakfast is very basic, but you don't really need anything else. 10/10 would visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay K
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Thanks Lindsay for your amazing review! Happy to hear you had a great weekend! Happy travels :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After an evening at 0*C and rain, you would expect a nice warm room to return to. Not the case. The heating system did not work and it was colder than at the reception or the hallway. The staff did not solve the problem and did not offer another room/bed. Breakfast is poor. I will not go there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D4reY0u
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback! Sorry about the cold room! Could you send me more details of your stay so we can investigate why this happened? Thanks! The breakfast is free and therefore basic. If you'd like to have a greater selection, we are more than happy to give you our recommendations of places close to the hostel :-) Kind...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My room was on the top floor (5th) and was terrible. The radiator didn't work and the wind came through the CLOSED window. I am now ill due to sleeping in these conditions. The corridor was warmer than my room. Very satisfactory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgsgsg604
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi, So sorry to hear that! Please next time come to the reception right away with this so we can check the heater or change rooms for you! Hope despite this you enjoyed London! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here before and usually find it very good and have an enjoyable stay, but on this visit staff were not usual friendly or helpful selves. The lift was not working, no advance warning was given or offer of assistance or alternatives as the room was on 4th Floor. Will give another go as other visits have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cuten S
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Cuten, Thanks for your feedback! I will let the team know about this! Sorry about the lift, can image that was annoying! This month a new lift will be placed. We definitely hope you will be back with us soon, we will make sure you will be satisfied again :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was my first visit ever to UK or in any hostel in that matter and I am glad I chose clink78. I lived good 6 yrs in boarding school and this place brought back the memories To start off. The location is Fantastic.. it's close to the station and in middle of a happening street. King's cross offer variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shashi12345
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Sashi, Thanks for your great review, happy to see you had a great time with us! Unfortunatly we can't put the lockers in the corridors due safety reasons.. We hope to see you back again soon :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

659 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (390)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (232)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm Basic (20)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Private Room Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#56 of 820 in London
576 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#31 of 820 in London
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 820 in London
2,306 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 820 in London
441 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 820 in London
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighborhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clink78

Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Price Range: $21 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Clink78 London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Clink78 staff and other travelers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Clink78 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Close to tube station and buses.”
 of 5 bubbles 655chandras, 1 week ago | Read review
“The small birdsnest dorms are the cosiest.”
 of 5 bubbles lindsayk394, 1 week ago | Read review
“Don't get a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles sgsgsg604, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“go to the upper levels if you can not downstairs- may be less mouldy.”
 of 5 bubbles kelp23, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“rooms far from the bar are quieter ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles AnneAnke, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question