We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
24 Egerton Gardens, London SW3 2DB England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$475
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Expedia.com
$473
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
$461
View deal
Hotels.com$473
Travelocity$473
ZenHotels.com$495
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (239)
Room & Suite (133)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#158 of 1,198 hotels in London
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Set in an elegant Victorian building nestling in the lush beauty of the private Egerton Gardens, The Franklin combines the warmth of a private home with the impeccable service of a luxury hotel. The hotel was refurbished by celebrity designer Anouska Hempel, whose work has helped create a temple to hospitality. Here, the charm of an English house meets the magic of Italian design, and the result is a unique, original style that has transformed The Franklin into one of the most outstanding boutique hotels on the London scene. Its common areas are embellished with sumptuous Italian velvets and silks, exclusive furnishings in grey tones and sophisticated decorative objects. Every one of the 35 spacious rooms and suites is a distillation of elegance and style. Flooded with natural light, tastefully decorated and boasting the finest contemporary comforts, they are sure to live up even the most demanding expectations. Most offer views of Knightsbridge or the lush green of Egerton Gardens. The Franklin Restaurant offers a superb gastronomic experience created by Michelin-starred Chef Alfredo Russo. The Franklin Bar is a stylish, Gatsby-esque world, a wonderful place to enjoy a Martini cocktail or a glass of Champagne. The Franklin offers very high standards of personalized service with Les Clefs d'Or Concierges, 24-hour room service and a team dedicated to organizing unforgettable experiences for the guests. The hotel also features a spectacular hammam, a fitness center, and a cozy library.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Paid public parking nearby
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 6 more
202Reviews0Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 156
  • 30
  • 7
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Zanderzaidan wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom333 contributions381 helpful votes
Stayed at the hotel to celebrate a special occasion and were not disappointed! The location is lovely just off a quiet residential street with plenty of privacy. We were given a lovely room with views to the garden and lots of space. Bathroom was amazing with 2 showers - great water pressure as well. Service was overall nice and attentive but also discreet. Hotel acknowledged our special occasion with a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates which is always very much appreciated! Breakfast can be served in the room at no extra cost and it’s a great option if you want to enjoy a few more minutes in bed. Food was delivered at the time agreed and was of great quality. We had a really good time and will be coming back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francesca Treggia, Other at The Franklin
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Zanderzaidan, Thank you for your recent stay at The Franklin London and for your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the service provided and the food. We very look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest Regards Francesca Treggia, Director of Operations
Read more
Y T wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California3 contributions
We are still here but trying to find alternative accommodation. We had booked a double deluxe which turned out to be tiny and dark room with very, very low ceilings. It was unbearable as the bathroom was awful. So we were compelled to pay an extra £290 per night to be upgraded to a Garden “Suite”. Globalists get NO love here. The “suite” faces a nice garden but it’s a small room and worse, the aircon doesn’t work and when the staff brought a fan in, there was difficulty finding a power point that worked so I had to give up one of my chargers so that the fan can be plugged in. The room is super warm. We cannot sleep. We are paying more than USD850 a night for a room that doesn’t have a working AC and a very cramped bathroom where there is nowhere to even hang a bath towel. The curtains are grotty and the sofa had cigarette burns.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francesca Treggia, Other at The Franklin
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Y T, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We're very disappointed to read that we didn't get things quite right during your stay with us and I apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay, especially in regard to the air condition. We did had a fault in our system, which was fixed on the same day late evening. We've taken your feedback on board and have identified steps we will take to learn from your experience, which we're so grateful to you for sharing. We do sincerely look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest regards, Francesca Treggia Director of Operations
Read more
Lenina C wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom94 contributions45 helpful votes
Pros: beautiful quiet location, lovely four poster bed, decent room service options, nice toiletries slippers & robes, friendly staff, comfortable bed. Cons: needs refurbishment to detail (cracks on glass side tables, wear marks on bed frame, loose towel rail). Poor shower pressure, no walk in shower in room (could perhaps have been moved to one with one?). Minibar EXTORTIONATE. £5 for a bottle of coke? Chill out mate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francesca Treggia, Other at The Franklin
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear LeninaC95, Thank you for your recent stay at The Franklin London and for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the feedback provided. We have taken a good note of it and we are already working on them. Should you visit us again in the future, please add your preference for a walk in shower in the reservation and we will do our best to assign it to you. Thank you also for your feedback with regards to the minibar; we sincerely apologize if that wasn't perceived adequate. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Warmest Regards Francesca Treggia, Director of Operations
Read more
bensmith989 wrote a review Jul 2022
Beccles, United Kingdom26 contributions40 helpful votes
Lovely looking hotel and initally impressed. Booked a suite which was OK but not wasn't overwhelming by any means. Early dinner (bar meal) the food was lovely, disappointing wine list and after food and wine was serviced we were kind of forgotten about. The bed was too firm for my wife.. but that's not really their fault, just a word to the wise as it were. We were meant to have 'turn-down' included, didn't get that on either night. Dinner in the restaurant the following evening was fantastic and good value (still poor / limited wine choice) I would say that my fish did have a couple of bones in it. Whilst I did and always do very politely raise any issues the apology was geniune .. but words only I feel, I think there should have been a room rate reduction and at least free wine for the bones in the fish when you consider it has a Michelin Star ? First world problems I know but there it is.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francesca Treggia, Other at The Franklin
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear bensmith989, Thank you for your recent stay at The Franklin London and for your review. We're very disappointed to read that we didn't get things quite right during your stay with us. We've taken your feedback on board and have identified steps we will take to learn from your experience, which we're so grateful to you for sharing. We do sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Franklin London. Warmest Regards, Francesca Treggia Director of Operations
Read more
Jane K wrote a review Apr 2022
San Diego, California48 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
Joan Lagahit and Francesca made sure to provide accommodations to fit our family of 4 in an executive suite with my Globalist status. The whole staff made sure to provide the best customer service. This was our first stay at a Small Luxury Hotel that partners with the Hyatt chain and was very pleased with all of the Hyatt benefits they extended to our family. The suite upgrade provided more than enough room for our family with the rollaway, and we very much enjoyed the child size robe and slippers they provided for my daughter. The kids had a blast wearing them! They especially enjoyed the separate walk in closet area with the curtain to run around in. The decor and amenities of the room felt very luxurious. The Frette sheets were amazing to sleep on, and we loved the Penhaligon bath products. Breakfast was also included in our stay with the status and it was so delicious and provided more than enough food for our family. The host was so gracious to let us order even though we arrived minutes before the kitchen closed for breakfast. The hotel was located in a quiet area of Egerton Gardens which was a 5 minute walk to Harrod’s and also a couple more minutes to Hyde Park. The children very much enjoyed the playground, watching the ducks, and eating ice cream. I wish we had a couple more nights to enjoy the property and the surroundings! We will definitely be back if we go to London.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francesca Treggia, Other at The Franklin
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Dear Jane K, Thank you for your recent stay at The Franklin and for your kind feedback. We are delighted to know that we were able to provide you and your family the best experience during your stay and that you throughout enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for your kind words towards our team; we always aim to deliver an exceptional guest experience and we are happy to know that you appreciated. We very look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future. Warmest regards, Francesca Treggia Director of Operations
Read more
Amelia Totman wrote a review Mar 2022
United Kingdom9 contributions11 helpful votes
2:45- 26th March, Mothers Day. The food was to die for, the flavour and frehsness of the food is the best I’ve experienced.All the staff on that day were so polite & accomodating. It was a stunning hotel with great ambiance. The two waitresses & gentlemen were lovely. Hope to be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francesca Treggia, Other at The Franklin
Responded Apr 2, 2022
Dear Amelia, Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience at The Franklin Hotel. I passed your kind words to our Chef and Kitchen Team and to our Restaurant Team. I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon! Warmest regards, Francesca Treggia Director of Operations
Read more
laradc wrote a review Jan 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom186 contributions102 helpful votes
We stayed in a junior suite in December before Christmas. The hotel is in a lovely area on a quiet street in Knightsbridge perfectly located. Our room overlooked the gardens which was lovely and very peaceful. It's a relatively small hotel but perfectly formed. Our room on the third floor had ample space, was beautifully designed, and very comfortable. Lovely bedding and bathroom products. We ate breakfast a couple of times, restaurant was very quiet and food was lovely with great service. Bar is small but both nights we stopped for a nightcap. Great cocktails and the setting is lovely overlooking the gardens. Check in and the front of house staff were superb. It was friendly, quick and efficient. The hotel was quiet but even if it had been busy there are lots of little nooks where you can find some peace. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel or any other in this chain again. In fact i've already looked at the offerings they have in Italy as I was so impressed with this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Junior suite was more than spacious enough for a couple of nights
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eleonora Bortolato, Other at The Franklin
Responded Jan 7, 2022
Dear Lara, Thank you so much for such a beautiful review of you recent stay, we are truly proud to read your comments and the team is incredibly committeed in making sure our guests are having the best time ever with us. There are many stunning properties to discover within the Starhotels family and we are excited to hear that we might welcoming you back in the future! Warmest Regards Eleonora Bortolato Hotel Manager
Read more
Memoirs of A Travel Bug wrote a review Jan 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates49 contributions13 helpful votes
I loved my stay at the Franklin, the hotel staff were super accommodative and professional throughout the stay (especially when I asked to switch to a room with a walk in shower rather than a bathtub). Rooms are modern and spacious (some could be a tad too dark), the hotel has a beautiful bar, but the main attraction is the incredible location a few minutes walk from Harrods. Would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eleonora Bortolato, Other at The Franklin
Responded Jan 7, 2022
Dear Memoirsofatravelbug, thank you for taking the time to share your experience, particularly about the team, they are truly dedicated individuals and they will be very proud to read your comment. We took good note of your preference for the room and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warmest Regards,
Read more
Joka_travels wrote a review Dec 2021
Warwickshire, United Kingdom38 contributions48 helpful votes
This is a beautiful hotel which scores highly on location and staff; the rooms and common areas are clean and tidy and the restaurant, although on reduced menu, still adequate. So far so good, the hotel however suffers from one of the common problems in London, that of space. There is practically no wardrobe (or equivalent) in the rooms and space is limited. This may not be an issue if you travel solo or if the plan is to not spend much time in the room or if you don't mind keeping everything in your case during your stay; -this gets us to the second problem, the hotel has no common areas that can be used, easily and flexibly, for business purposes, like a meeting, dealing with urgent calls and the like. There is a library but it needs to be booked and comes with some cost, there is also a bar area but it's small and not appropriate for a business call/meeting. So I ended up spending many hours in the room which made the space issue significant. I was in the equivalent of an attic, the window was small and the view was more top floors of adjacent buildings than the gardens. All in all a bit claustrophobic. Given that this is a 5*, I would have liked more for my double deluxe.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eleonora Bortolato, Other at The Franklin
Responded Dec 27, 2021
Dear Joka_travels, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and I am glad to hear that the team was welcoming and caring and you found the Hotel beautiful. I am truly sorry to hear that your experience was less positive while working at the Hotel and we will look at improving on the facilities to ensure an higher level of service for business, with the hope of welcoming you back in the future. Please, do not hesitate to contact me directly at e.bortolato@starhotels.com should there be anything else I can do. Warmest Regards Eleonora Bortolato Hotel Manager
Read more
NEB wrote a review Dec 2021
22 contributions33 helpful votes
Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Knightsbridge, 5 min walk to Harrods and close to Kensington. Fantastic interior in this small hotel which feels intimate and exclusive. Great service and attention to detail making a memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mishaal Eid, Other at The Franklin
Responded Dec 9, 2021
Dear nagmaeb, It's great that you loved liked the interior and location. We look forward to having you staying with us again. Best regards, Mishaal Eid Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$418 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonChelsea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Franklin
Which popular attractions are close to The Franklin?
Nearby attractions include V&A - Victoria and Albert Museum (0.2 miles), Albert Memorial (0.2 miles), and The London Oratory (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Franklin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Franklin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Franklin?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Franklin?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Franklin?
Conveniently located restaurants include 28-50 Wine Workshop & Kitchen South Kensington, Honest Burgers, and Layalina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Franklin?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Franklin have airport transportation?
Yes, The Franklin offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Franklin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Franklin?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Franklin offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.