We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$242
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$255
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/15/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$216
View deal
Hotels.com$249
Travelocity$249
Destinia.com$274
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (670)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (476)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hope Street Hotel
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 117 hotels in Liverpool
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Hope Street Hotel is an independent 4 star boutique hotel. 147 rooms are divided between Standards, Deluxes, Studios and Suites all with an urbane and fresh, cool style. Plum in the middle of Hope Street, the epicentre of the fashionable Georgian, Knowledge and Cultural neighbourhoods - with two iconic Cathedrals as bookends it has two successful theatres, the Everyman and Unity, the Victoria Museum and Gallery, Philharmonic Concert Hall and a plethora of independent restaurants, University departments and infamous ale houses - all within minutes of each other. The interiors combine the original Victorian warehouse structure of pitch pine beams, Cheshire pink bricks, iron pillars with bespoke cherry wood furniture, solid birch and oak floors, sea grass corridors oversized beds draped with bright white Egyptian cotton. The care and quality of the chosen room amenities include; REN toiletries, complimentary mineral waters, slippers, Nespresso Coffee makers, Sky and BT sports and high speed Wi-Fi. Complimentary services include guest office, 24-hour gym, shoe shining, and ironing and very helpful and informative 24-hour reception and room service. A full English and continental breakfast is available at £15.50 on a bed and breakfast rate when requested on booking and is served in our brand new restaurant - 1931. Our new neighbourhood restaurant is in the heart of Hope Street, serving pizza, international breads, pasta and meatballs, salads and sharing boards - enjoy the open kitchen and watch your order being prepared by our Head Chef, Vijay. 1931 takes inspiration from the trade routes that came through Liverpool in 1931, alongside some of our favourite travels. It may be an international menu, but all of our delicious ingredients come from local suppliers. The hotel’s award-winning restaurant since 2004, The London Carriage Works, serves modern British dishes using regional and seasonal produce alongside a perfectly balanced wine list of over 200 bins. Open from lunch to nightcaps it is advisable that our guests book dinner with reservations to avoid disappointment. We are a child and dog friendly hotel – staff will advise on how to entertain and exercise both!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Street parking
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Light therapy
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 9 more
2808Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,830
  • 619
  • 228
  • 88
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cath Vincent wrote a review Yesterday
12 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel fabulous. Got everything you need on your doorstep, fabulous location in a lovely place to explore the City. Two very different restaurants on site to suit all tastes and budgets. Immaculately clean, room facilities excellent. Staff lovely, Liverpool amazing, not what I expected, delightful folk, loved it, thank you Xx
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Liverpool is a busy City wherever you stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Irene R wrote a review Sep 2022
Southwold, United Kingdom2 contributions
This is an elegant, welcoming hotel, one of the most civilised places I’ve stayed. My room, a king standard, was spacious, immaculately clean, with a superbly comfortable bed. I loved the view down the hill, from the handsome tower of St. Luke’s church, to the equally handsome Liver Birds. Breakfast is served in a friendly and efficient manner, an asset if you’re pushed for time. Do try the perfectly cooked poached eggs. Above all, the staff are wonderful, warm, courteous, friendly. There is something in the air in Liverpool that makes people so very giving. The staff at Hope street must gulp it in by the lungful. I was there working but am already planning to return to Hope Street and Liverpool for a mini-break. Irene O’Hear.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Abbas V wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Well attended Med School Reunion of septuagenarians. Extremely convenient location on Hope Street, which symbolically links the Metropolitan and the Anglican cathedrals. On the plus side also was the quality of food (except the self help breakfast, which was disappointingly bland and the fried and scrambled eggs had run out and not replenished!). There was no toilet brush and no handrails around the bath and shower. Minimalist obsession was rather overdone. There were no drawers of any description in the room. Hence a reluctant **** and definitely not a ***** experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Luckily with our disability badge we were able to park right outside the hotel. Hotel car park a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Abbas V, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us whilst attending a reunion nearby. We really appreciate your feedback and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our food and beverage team and also our housekeeping teams. We do hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill L wrote a review Sep 2022
Luddenden Foot, United Kingdom28 contributions29 helpful votes
A beautiful spacious and quiet hotel. Fabulous staff from beginning to end, very peaceful with a classy minimal decor throughout. Breakfast was amazing with the manager Giuseppe, really professional, ensuring tables were looked after and cleared, but always in a friendly manner. I stayed 3 nights and plan to go back. The only gripe for me was that the pillows were way too soft so would have like a firm alternative but other than that, too marks all round.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jill L, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback following your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Guiseppe and the team! We look forward to welcoming your back again soon. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victoria A wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
My partner and I stayed here for my birthday last month and it was absolutely amazing! Wonderful view of the liver buildings and radio city tower from our room and the spa is beautiful! So much more to offer compared to the other spas in the city centre. Special thanks to Katy who got us booked in and ensured we had the perfect stay! 10/10 would definitely reccomend! Can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Victoria A, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent birthday celebrations with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and visit to our beautiful spa! I will be sure to make Katy aware of your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BoldlyGO wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom459 contributions286 helpful votes
I stayed for three nights at a business event locally. The staff were excellent and we had a warm welcome. The room was small but perfectly fine for us and the only downside was the bathroom door not fitting well plus the tricky business of getting the shower temperature right! Bed was great. Housekeeping was a tad lax- no refills of tea and milk and removal of used wine glass from bar hence 4 stars. Bar staff made fantastic cocktails and the breakfast staff were also excellent. I thought the breakfast generally was very fresh and well done. Nice quiet area and would consider again if I needed to be in that part of Liverpool.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear BoldlyGO, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback to help improve our guest experience and I will be sure to pass on your comments on to our housekeeping manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BournemouthJoanne wrote a review Sep 2022
Bournemouth, United Kingdom57 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed as a couple over the August bank holiday weekend. Check in was quick and efficient; friendly staff who were happy to share their knowledge of the area. Our room was clean and spacious, with all the facilities expected in a hotel room. Bar staff were efficient and polite. A great find and we will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear BournemouthJoanne, Thank you for your great review! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel during the recent bank holiday weekend. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our lovely team and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zara B wrote a review Sep 2022
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom5 contributions
We stayed at hope street whilst visiting Liverpool for a birthday weekend for my boyfriend. The hotel was easy to find and close to the city centre. Despite me being slightly worried about no on site parking ( I had read up and apparently there is parking around 5 minute walk however I wasn’t keen this due to having a couple of bags/ suitcases to take in ) , luckily when we pulled up to the hotel there were spaces in the on street parking directly outside the hotel which was a bonus! I think this cost £5 for two hours however it was free from after 6pm - 8am The woman on the spa reception ( Meg ) was absolutely lovely , very friendly and helpful throughout our thermal journey - so shoutout to Meg! The spa facilities were all amazing, and we very much enjoyed these. I did not actually see the gym but my boyfriend was very impressed with the gym in the spa. Our room was lovely - very modern, we only booked the standard double room but this was still a lovely little room, the tv had a great selection of films. The bathroom was very nice with a good size bath and a separate walk in shower. The happy birthday chocolate plate was a lovely gesture too. We stayed and had our late dinner in the 1931 Italian restaurant which is part of the hotel. The pizza was absolutely amazing and one of the best I’ve had! Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed it. I can not remember our waitresses name however she was super nice and even put some balloons on the tables as it was my boyfriends birthday - such a lovely gesture. We ate here for breakfast too,It wasn’t the best breakfast we’ve had but not the worst, could have been better but it was still ok, the sausage and bacon just didn’t seem very good but the rest was absolutely fine, again the waitress and waiters were very friendly. Overall I’d rate this a 5/5 stay. I would definitely like to stay again and stay in one of the rooftop suites or terrace suites as they look amazing !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear zarab1801, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We are delighted to hear we were your chosen hotel in the city for your recent celebrations - we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend! I will of course pass on all of your feedback to Meg and of course the 1931 team too! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris S wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I get the feeling this was trendy a few years ago but it just didn’t live up to expectations based on the price for us. We stayed in a studio room as as special occasion we paid for an upgrade. There are some strange design choices here. Firstly the floor is wooden which creeks as you walk around. The problem is so does the person sleeping in the room above you, and when we stay they seem to want to get up to go to the toilet every 30 minutes. The bathroom is really nice but again strange design decision, there is no curtain or blind on the window. While this may well be privacy glass from the outside you certainly do not feel when having a shower like you were obscured from view. This is a very strange thing to have decided to do in a hotel of this level. The bed really wasn’t comfortable at all, far more comfortable in a premier inn. The studio room mostly made there be more wooden floor to tread on and make a noise as you moved about. There was a sofa bed in the corner but it wasn’t anything fancy or comfortable to sit on to make it worth having. We also ate in the restaurant and whilst I’m sure this is high class food frankly the portions are way too small and overpriced for what you get. The bar was excellent and the staff in the bar excellent as well the cocktails. A paragraph I get this is positioned as a high end hotel and that’s what we were hoping for but really it just didn’t feel like value for money and with the strange decisions resulting in a poor night sleep and having to pay for extra food just a feel for it really wasn’t worth the circa £700 we paid for one night away. I thought the breakfast was good. Yes nobody‘s cup of tea is a buffet style but it was all fresh and hot when we went and all the staff were really nice and there was plenty of choice. Everything seemed hygienic by being served for you and covered up again which is great in the post Covid era.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Chris S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback following your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our maintenance team. The London Carriageworks is a fine dining restaurant however we do also have 1931 and the bar menu to give guests plenty of choices, however I am sorry this wasn't up to standards. Thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast, our breakfast team will be delighted to hear this! We do hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jill s wrote a review Aug 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom57 contributions33 helpful votes
We stayed in a studio room, bed and breakfast. The room was great, massive bed, good quality toiletries, spacious and clean. The breakfast is really good at this hotel, they cater for gluten free and vegan. We ate at The London Carriage - excellent meal and wine, my partner felt the fish portion could have been bigger. We did the thermal journey at the Spa, it was a lovely relaxing 3 hours, This was our second stay at the hotel and it will not be our last! The staff are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 259jills, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and also at The London Carriageworks and our lovely Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hope street liverpool, hotel hope street
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideLiverpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hope Street Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hope Street Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Quirky Quarter (0.3 miles), Liverpool Arts Bar (0.1 miles), and CoverStar Experiences (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hope Street Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hope Street Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hope Street Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hope Street Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cowshed, La Finca Eivissa, and Fogo Brazil bar & grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hope Street Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Liverpool.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hope Street Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.