We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charlotte House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Charlotte House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 334: English reviews
kleen
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful location for both the castle and the minster. Very large rooms and bath/shower room and separate dressing room. The shower was exceptional with a head that had multifunctions. Bed was comfortable and rooms clean. Plenty of car parking. The breakfast was a little sparse in the choice of cold options but the cooked breakfast was fine.

Helpful?
Thank peterKleen
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Charlotte House, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I shall have a look into our breakfast offering to see if there is anything that can be added, it's worth noting for future guests that currently we offer. Continental Fresh o.j / cranberry & apple juice selection of cereals, muesli,... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was described as 'luxury' and we chose it for this as well as for its location and the fact that it had parking. However it still had the atmosphere of a nurse's home, which it used to be, and was not very luxurious. The staff were not very welcoming and although we had been asked when we would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am really disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay here with us, we pride ourselves on our customer service. Charlotte house was built as an accommodation for nurses, not a nursing home, but as such the building layout does not allow for a lift to be added. Help with luggage will... More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good size room with a separate sitting room. Bed was comfortable, a little high for small folk. Superb shower room, very modern with a good shower. Water heater/cold water filter machine for drinks. Two large tvs and music players. If you're on the top floor it can be a bit of a struggle with luggage as there isn't a lift,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marg C
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, we hope that you will consider us for future stays. kindest regards More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our first time at the hotel and if I didn't already live in Lincoln it certainly wouldn't be the last. From start to finish the manager we dealt with, Peter, was superb. Friendly and helpful, I think it helped us both feel more at ease with planning our wedding as we weren't afraid to ask questions or improvise.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, I am delighted that you & your wedding party enjoyed your day here with us. Please do continue to spread the good word! We shall hope to see you again in the near future. kindest regards Peter, David & the rest of the Charlotte House team. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had the most fantastic wedding weekend @ Charlotte House. Exceeded all our expectations and more. Huge shout out to David who ensured everything happened as planned and more. His input and ability to take on board all our plans was noted😜 which enabled us to concentrate on our day without concern. All the staff were 1st Class⭐️ So friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoeyMumbles
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words! We pride ourselves on the services that we deliver here at Charlotte House, unlike many other venues, building bespoke packages. We wish you every success for the future. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a weekend away and stayed in a nicely furnished room. But the carpet was very dirty I had never seen one as dirty, needed a clean. Bathroom was nice and big and well appointed. Hotel near to shops and castle etc., but high climb back to hotel. Breakfast was available but not evening meals. No lift, so stairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tmw46
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Whilst there are small marks to carpets, which will be serviced in line with our maintenance regime, I trust this didn't hinder your stay. We are a family run guesthouse & as such do not operate a restaurant or indeed have a lift. Nowhere in our literature do we claim to have these facilities. I... More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in room 13. A brilliant room spotlessly clean,amazing bathroom and amazing view of Lincoln castle. Let down badly though as the hot water filter didn't work. My husband got the man on duty to have a look at he. His reply was "I don't know what to do". He then left the room never to be seen again. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank harrybobs
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am sorry that you had difficulties with your hot water filtration device, I have just been to the room to test the machine and it functions as it should. Perhaps you can contact me directly to give details of the issue that you had. peter@charlottehouselincoln.com Kind regards More 

South yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is our first time at the hotel. The hotel is ideally situated to the castle, restaurants, a few local bars and steep hill. The hotel is an old charming building. We stayed in room 6, the Willis room and we were very pleased. The room had a huge size bathroom with both a shower and double bath, we also... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanineE313
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

We had our wedding at Charlotte house and we had the most perfect day. All the staff went above and beyond for us and made us feel so welcome. The food was amazing and all our guests are still talking about our special day now! From the minute we walked into Charlotte house we knew it was the place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becki Lou P
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Thank you Becki! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us & have said such kind words. Please do continue to spread the word! ;0) We hope that our paths will cross again in future! Kindest regards Peter, David & the Charlotte House team. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Just back from a weekend break, fantastic hotel rooms are spotless and the staff are amazing. Celebrated our wedding anniversary and got a free upgrade to one of their suites, it was amazing. Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and very good quality, Can't praise this hotel enough!

Helpful?
Thank Amac1962
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Charlotte House, we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Here at Charlotte House we have a range of different rooms & suites & will always upgrade where possible. We hope that others will enjoy our offering as much as you have. As a small family run guesthouse, every review... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 stars 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bail House & Mews
Bail House & Mews
#12 of 53 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#5 of 53 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Charlotte House Lincoln you're more than just a customer - you're our guest. Our warm welcome is extended to all our guests whether travelling on business or leisure, Charlotte House is located opposite Lincoln Castle and Cathedral. Surrounded by 8 acres of landscaped gardens, the lawn complex also houses the Sir Joseph Banks tropical conservatory with its extensive collection of exotic plants and water features, and John Dawber gardens. With 14 unique rooms and suites and a choice of contemporary or traditional to choose from there’s something to suit everyone’s taste. We specialise in events and weddings, but ensuring a good night sleep is our main priority. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charlotte House

Address: The Lawn Centre Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range: $100 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Charlotte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay