We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Lincoln Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lincoln Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,512: English reviews
Hemel hempste
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

the Lincoln hotel is ideally situated for walking into the Xmas market which I would whole heartedly recommend. The hotel is tired but I believe under going a refurbishment next year. The staff are very friendly. We had a problem on our first night this was addressed straight away and sorted to our satisfaction..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxine M
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving a review on our trip advisor page. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall visit and I am delighted that we were able to deal with the issue you raised in an efficient and satisfactory manner. We very much hope to see you again and in the meantime, thank you for...

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel perfectly placed with good parking for our visit to Lincoln. Greeted by friendly staff on reception and check in was quick, though we were a little early so had a coffee in the Reception Bar so that was OK. The room was sufficient for our needs with good storage and well provided tea making facilities. The only negative on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SiStation
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your recent review on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. However i am sorry to hear of the problem you encountered with the heating in your room and please accept my sincerest apologies for this. We endeavour to deal with any issues as quickly as...

UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is perfectly placed for visiting the Cathedral region of Lincoln including its Christmas Market. The helpful bar staff welcomed us on arrival. Our room was functional and warm if a little tired in decor, but the bed was comfortable and we slept well and were able to have an open window for some fresh air- something you rarely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhf50
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay over the weekend. However, I am sorry to hear that you felt the rate was high. We believe that as a three star hotel our rates are competitive with other hotels in the area, however I shall pass on your comments to the management team. We very much...

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked two rooms for the Christmas Market Weekend and weren't disappointed! The rooms were well equipped and the staff were all friendly from the young man organising the busy car park to the reception and restaurant staff. We enjoyed a pleasant festive meal on Saturday evening and a delicious breakfast on the Sunday. We had a beautiful view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pip1964
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your recent review on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us over the weekend, especially as you were staying in one of our Cathedral view rooms; they certainly have a spectacular view! However, I am sorry to hear of the issues you had with the heating...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked this hotel in December 2015, for the 2016 market that has just finished. Having lived in Lincoln for over 10 yrs and passed by the hotel on many occasions, but being a local never really needed to go inside. Over the last 12 months we have been checking the reviews,some being good, others not so good, especially in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plodds
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our trip advisor page following your stay at The Lincoln Hotel over the Christmas market weekend. I am so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable visit and found everything that the hotel has to offer to your satisfaction. However, I was sorry to hear of...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stopped at the hotel on Friday 2nd December for 1 night, the hotel was nice and easy to find and had plenty of car parking which was free of charge. The location of the hotel is fantastic at the top of the hill next to the cathedral so was perfect for the christmas market. Our roon was available from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul27182
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us over the Christmas market weekend, the food served at breakfast and of course the service offered by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon. Yours sincerely Suzie Watson Guest Relations...

Ambleside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arranged our annual trip to the Christmas Markets, but unfortunately this year the normally high standards seem to have slipped. Firstly my wife has food allergies which I notified the hotel of prior to our visit - as I do every year. Unfortunately this year no one seemed to be aware and we had to explain the situation every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your visit to The Lincoln Hotel over the weekend. I am so sorry to hear of the problems you encountered and I shall be contacting you directly under separate cover. Yours sincerely Suzie Watson Guest Relations Manager The Lincoln Hotel

sheffield
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is perfect for the Christmas markets. You can stay (and park) right at the edge of the market areas. But apart from that it is an excellent hotel with extremely helpful staff and very good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msw555
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend in Lincoln and all of the amenities the hotel has to offer. I shall certainly pass on your kind feedback to the staff involved as they take great pride in offering an excellent service to our guests and they will be delighted with your comments. We hope to...

Northumberland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Due to Lincoln being exceptionally busy during the market weekend, we knew from past experience it was difficult to book a meal anywhere. The receptionist at this hotel (Suzy?) was exceptionally helpful when I emailed to ask about booking and then rang me a couple of times to discuss and finalise arrangements. It was much appreciated. We were travelling over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tallis
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to The Lincoln Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure arranging your booking for you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. In the meantime I have passed on your kind comments to the team. Yours sincerely Suzie Watson Guest Relations Manager The...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Its looking old and tired. The ceiling fan in the bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. A lot of peeling paint on window ledges etc. The breakfast was your typical English Hotel. Staff were pleasant but the whole place is lacking the spark. Great location. The guys on the desk didn't seem up to speed on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ps_Phil
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel. However, I was sorry to read of your disappointment with the decor of the hotel. I would like to assure you that we are continuously updating and refurbishing all areas of the hotel in order to modernise...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

269 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (234)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
297 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Green Room Restaurant
The Green Room Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
No photo provided
The Long Room
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range: $104 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Lincoln Hotel staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Lincoln Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The cathedral views from rooms at the front are stunning”
 of 5 bubbles msw555, 6 days ago | Read review
“View to the Cathedral if love you chimes”
  • Yep, needs some cleaning
 of 5 bubbles Ps_Phil, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 124 did not have a view, but was very quiet. The restaurant faced the cathedral square which made a wonderful backdrop for mealtimes.”
 of 5 bubbles gdr52, 1 week ago | Read review
“Front of hotel best rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Donna2019, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a Cathedral view you won't be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles needabreak493, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay