We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

799 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 781: English reviews
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Popped into reception to say we were staying and where was the car park, Mitch was very helpful and gave me a satnav post code that took us on a small city tour, but we got there. Booking in was effortless, the room was of a good size with a firm, comfortable kingsize bed and a large ensuite bathroom. Style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisnjose
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review. It is always a pleasure to respond to a post that highlights the team. Who endeavour to provide great service all of the time and often goes unrecognised. I was delighted to read you found the check in effortless, nice room with comfortable bed. We look forward to welcoming...

Surrey
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed a weekend in Leicester and booked into the Mercure hotel. We arrived on Friday evening and checked in. We were told that we'd been given a room in the attic due to several events happening over the weekend. We were grateful for that, unfortunately the pay off was a quiet room with a tiny window which was hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SurreyTweety
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back...

uk
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Did order a double and got a twin ???? Very tired room. Not cleaned properly. Bath had old soap suck to it. Window latches broken and Windows needed a clean. Didn't have hairdryer so had to ring for one but they did send one asap due to staff. Not worth the money I paid stayed in far better in town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smurfs61
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations which is our aim with every guest. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with all the hotel team to help us move our business forward. Our car park is capped at a very competitive rate for residents compared to all the other...

Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

I came here a few weeks ago and was amazed by the beauty of the place. Although I didn't stay over I found the reception team lovely and helpful when I asked for a taxi, a pen to write a bday card, map of the city etc...plenty of smiles and warmth from this lovely team. However, my friends and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julieevans79
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read you loved our ground floor and almost all of the team you encountered. I am disappointed to read you found a member of the team on their laptop after work in the bar as we have a policy that does not allow this. Be rest assured this will be actioned...

Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

I visited that hotel for one night only.location is good in the city centre. Looks nice from outside. But the rooms is not good with small size. No air conditioning. There is construction next to them so it's noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wael O
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in a great location. Our rooms do vary in size, shape and design. We do not have air condition (due to listed status) and nor does it stated anywhere that we do. However we do have a large stock of portable fans for the odd hot week we have in Leicester. There is...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 17, 2016

While it's obvious that Leicester's Grand Hotel was indeed grand once - which I'm sure would have been in it's heyday in Victorian times - I think the shine has been knocked off somewhat since then. Nevertheless all the staff were extremely helpful, but the hotel itself was rather ordinary. It certainly is a labyrinth of rooms which does not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michcav
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have tried over the years to be sympathetic to the age and character of the building. Adding photos of Leicester, famous people who have stayed here including Amy Johnson in our Grand Kings Hall from 1931, carpet specifically designed with parts of the building in it. New ground floor with lighting enhancing the Victorian...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Visited on a saturday for late lunch at 3.45 order was taken 3.50 for drinks and food at the same time there was no other dinners in the restaurant. Come 4.20 still no sign of drinks or food and we only ordered wings, pizza and sweet potato fries...so we walked out angrey to say the least, the waitress who looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unknown_Singh
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read your comments and may I express my sincere apologies. Your feedback will be shared with our operations team to ensure that this is addressed internally. If you are in the area again please do contact me direct and I personally will make the necessary arrangement to ensure a pleasant...

Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

We booked a room here and when we arrive the place looked beautiful. When we got to our room it was horrendous. Curtains weren't the same length stains all over the carpet bathroom was filthy and not one bit of furniture matched the other mahogany black pine it was horrible. We actually left and went to a premier inn and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Clearly we had not serviced the room prior to your arrival which was a genuine human error that has been addressed with our housekeeping team. May I personally express my sincere apologies. We would also love the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future on a complimentary basis and we have forwarded you...

Tring, Herts
Reviewed September 13, 2016

I was part of a large party - some stayed and others dined as part of a large group. Detailed plans had been made after the problems we had last year with the service to ensure they were not repeated and sadly some of them were. Drinks were due to be ready for the guests arrival and with 10 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzyb28
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. May I express my sincere apologies for the shortcomings during your event. I am currently in the process of addressing your concerns with the organiser who will inform you of the outcome further to our meeting in relation to next years event. Once again thank you for your review and I am confident that next...

Luxembourg
Reviewed September 13, 2016

As stated in the title, the hotel has an excellent location at the start of the main shopping area as well as to local sights of interest. As our trip was both business and pleasure this was just right. The staff my wife and I came into contact with were most helpful and friendly. Very nice bar and restaurant. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taffknight
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and Leicester itself. As a Victorian hotel and as you have mentioned we do endure some stairs in certain areas, with regard to the approach to the 5th floor we are more than happy to deliver luggage to any guests bedrooms. We look forward to your...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#13 of 41 in Leicester
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: $82 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Rochester, Minnesota
over a year ago
uk
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quietest rooms are internal but no view.”
  • Desk, TV.
  • Warbrobe space, second desk for tea tray.
  • Pleasant ambience from wood and decor.
  • Toiletries supplied.
  • Large comfortable bed.
  • Bathtub with shower.
  • Plenty of room, separate seating area.
  • Quiet but not much of a view.
 of 5 bubbles C6631CHmartinw, 1 week ago | Read review
“Asked for room with bath and got it”
 of 5 bubbles 540tracyk, 1 week ago | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles carolb429, 1 week ago | Read review
“Get one at the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles 799nigelm, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Go to another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jakntone, Feb 18, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question