We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 737: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went here for a retirement do from work. Everyone received pretty little tarts &nicely cut sandwiches. I had ordered veg gluten-free food. i was so disgusted to find ham sandwiches on my platter. When i complained i was told that it is vegetarian. It was taken away &brought back minus the ham. The sandwiches remaining were so dry i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveller011
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for your comments. My sincere apologies for your disappointing visit which will certainly be discussed with the relevant personnel to ensure these issues do not happen again. I do hope this experience has not marred your opinion of us and with this in mind if you would like to contact our Restaurant Manager Luke to make a...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for a single night. Hotel reception and bar is well presented and staff are friendly. Rooms however aren't the biggest and could do with some TLC. Our room for example had cigarette burns in the nets and was a little dusty on window frames. The room was very small and with no aircon it got very hot during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeeJay222
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback however, l am sorry that we were not able to exceed all of your expectations. We do inject a lot of money back into this 118 year old building and our ongoing project is to update some of the bedrooms/bathrooms, our rooms all vary in shape and size and it is with regret that...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for one night. Hotel in convenient location in Leicester. Car park directly at rear of hotel. Shame there is a £8 charge to use it but there you go. Check in easy and room looked clean and servicable. We could have done with more towels but made do. Tea and coffee in room hadn't been re-supplied but again we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shabahoo
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments, l am sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. However, for future reference we do provide more towels in the wardrobe/drawer. I have asked our Maintenance team to certainly look at the noise emanating from the fire doors outside of 317. Thank you again for your valuable feedback l hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Conference facility very grand, but hotel rooms, old and run down. Room carpets stained, heating didn't work when we visited in November and despite being moved to an alternative room where the heating worked for approx one hour only, the alternative solution was an extra duvet!! Heating came on in the morning but too late for us, the cold had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BamMax
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but l thank you for your comments.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived on New Year's Day at this hotel and with walking from the car park to reception, the hotel looked fantastic. The bar and reception were ultra modern and the restaurant also looked top notch. However, that's where it stopped. Upon arrival, after my partner had requested early check-in twice prior to our stay but with no response. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beahinchliffe
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. It was with regret that your breakfast was tarnished by the result of our chef going sick, however in such circumstances we do try to accommodate our guests the best we can and l am sorry that this impacted on your stay. If you are able to return to the hotel in the future...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I ended up at the Grand as the hotel we had first visited hoping to get afternoon tea was inaccessible (all doors locked at 3.30pm!). We were told on arrival that you have to book at least three days in advance for afternoon tea but that we could order food and drink at the bar. The girl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sj1977
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your reverie, l am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not in the mood to write that much on this hotel, but really, a part from the location and maybe the refurbished lobby, there's absolutely NOTHING positive to comment. Music at night from parties they organize over the week end (both nights) that won't let you sleep. Staff absolutely NOT reactive. No managers over the week end. Bathroom with no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pyp_Landia
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, however l am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but pleased that the team recognised this fact and compensated you.

Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another comfortable stay. Shame that the bar was closed for the duration, it's always nice to be able to have a drink when returning - a hotel is a bit like an airport, you should be able to get a drink at any time of the day. Didn't like the homeless sleeping rough in the car park, whilst they probably...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D1238YXpeterw
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . I am at a loss though regarding the bar, we have a residents 24 hr license and if there is nobody at the bar a quick order to Reception would have been enough for you to get your drinks. However, my apologies for the misunderstanding. Regarding the homeless we are in daily contact with...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a rather disappointing stay at this hotel. I am basing it on the room only as we didn't use any of the other facilities at the hotel such as the bar, restaurant, gym etc. We booked a standard room so I wasn't expecting luxury. The room was small but perfectly adequate for a one night stay. The cleanliness,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThursdaysChild026
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, however l am sorry that you did not allow us to rectify the situation for you at the time of your stay. Please be assured that all of your comments have been discussed with both the housekeeping and maintenance team to ensure the room is only let in future to our normal high standards. l...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited as part of group for Afternoon Tea. This consisted of sandwiches and various cakes - catered for different dietary requirements- my only criticism would be the actual tea. It was a bit stewed and not very hot. Needed more of it and had to wait to be served it. A much better service would have been to leave nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been discussed with the F & B team to be considered for future teas I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#12 of 41 in Leicester
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: $79 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Rochester, Minnesota
over a year ago
uk
over a year ago
Bath, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid street facing and near fire doors.”
 of 5 bubbles Shabahoo, 1 week ago | Read review
“My friends had used The Grand for lunch before..but on this occasion I was not impressed.”
 of 5 bubbles MariaMarcella, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Christmas Events make sure you eat before going!”
 of 5 bubbles katrinat276, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms rather on upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles rikanika, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles jillcoulsonc, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay