We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

734 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 717: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I attended a Christmas Party & meal & the soup was cold. I had to ask twice for more bread rolls. I had the vegetarian main course which was nice but not very filling. More vegetables with it would have been good. The tart for pudding was nice. I don't drink tea or coffee and it would have been good... More 

Helpful?
Thank 588Paula
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Looks nice but pretty disappointing stay. The room was too dark to get ready in and only had one very badly placed mirror, my colleague woke up with a rash all over her body and didn't even get an apology, just a "it might be the laundry detergent", my other colleague had to ask the cleaner to vacuum his room... More 

Helpful?
Thank julianoble

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was very friendly and accomodating.The marketing manager Rob especially made us feel really welcome and we had quite a chat. I found it strange that the disabled toilet was on the 2nd floor as what would happen if the lift broke down or there was a power cut ? very disturbing thought. Marcos restaurant was very disappointing as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback which will be shared with all the team. Firstly, all standards are in place should we have a power cut or lift malfunction. I am sorry and disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal in Marco's and that we were unable to redeem ourselves at the time, please contact Luke the... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Spending time in Leicester with friends and stayed in the Mercure despite some of the reviews. All I can say is that the hotel was more than satisfactory. The rooms were small but adequate - clean and nicely decorated. Very comfortable beds and not at all noisy except for a party on Saturday which finished about midnight. Drunk guests were... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevin m
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very pleasant feedback, which all the team will be happy to read. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future when l am confident your next stay will be as pleasant as this one. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

cost of staying here it is very over priced it is not a 4 star hotel it needs a complete renovation having to climb into a bath to have a shower is not 4star finding the car park is not easy and then payed over 100 pound a night they want 8 quid a day to park

Helpful?
Thank Ronniemelling
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations but thank you for taking the time to write your review. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Centrally located and spacious. Not especially expensive. Car parking at £8 per night. Marco Pierre White restaurant within the hotel. Disconcertingly egotistical decor as EVERY (huge) picture in the restaurant is of him! Breakfast is fine. Room was a wee bit tired, the bathroom especially but very clean and well stocked. Wish there were proper steam irons not the usual... More 

Helpful?
Thank BristolPavs
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive and fair comments regarding the hotel, team and location. More 

Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean, bed was comfy, service is good, and the hotel has its own car park albeit it at a cost. The only negative was that the shower was at an awkward height meaning that I had to bend down to shower properly.

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jamesgH7971XT
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay albeit the shower. We will ensure to put this on your profile for future reference We look forward to welcoming you back in the future More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked into this hotel on our wedding day and had a slight problem (because of some incorrect information from another staff member), that the lovely reception staff sorted out and were very helpful. Before our wedding we had drinks in the bar. The look on the girls face when I ordered a cocktail was total shock, I think she... More 

Helpful?
Thank ALM_MAM_16
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I was so sorry to read some of your comments, as customer service is the forefront of our business as you thankfully found ou at breakfast Please be assured that we will speak with the team involved with your meal to ensure this does not hap[en again. However, I thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast and the Reception... More 

Lisburn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently on my last night stay at this hotel and it's safe to say I won't be back. It is unbelievably expensive for what you get. When you walk through the doors it is absolutely beautiful, don't get me wrong and the staff are lovely but that's about the only good points. Once you step in the elevator... More 

Helpful?
Thank tartansurprise
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review but thank you for your constructive comments. Firstly, the hotel was particularly busy on the night of your stay, due to a party and some of the guests staying and returning to the hotel in the early hours of the morning were less than considerate to others. It must have been very irritating... More 

Colchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came in October & November for work conferences. The entrance & bar areas are very grand & enticing but the rooms are very shabby that we had both times. The first time the room had steps up to the toilet & very steep steps down to the bed area. The breakfast buffet was also very average only fried eggs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maxiene
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback As you are now aware, the bedrooms are of all sizes and shapes due to the age and set up of the building. I am sorry that you felt your breakfasts were average, a point that the chef will certainly monitor. However, thank you for your positive feedback regarding the team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (95)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#12 of 41 in Leicester
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: $77 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Rochester, Minnesota
over a year ago
uk
over a year ago
Bath, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles jillcoulsonc, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“4th floor is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Alshoes, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“Request a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles 66amandas, Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles james595832, Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“Somewhere where you don't need to take a magic carpet ride to get to the room would be helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles Michcav, Sep 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay