We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 271: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Alexandra Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I hadn't visited Blackpool for many years so we decided to book a weekend there last year. The receptionist was particularly friendly upon arrival and The Royal Alexandra is situated in a great location. The decor is a little tired and dated and our room was pretty basic but breakfast was delicious and really it was everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheliaj1963
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind feedback. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Alexandra. In regards to the decor -Thank you for your comments, The Royal Alexandra is in constant refurbishment - upgrades to many areas are yet to be completed however we have recently finished a lower ground floor area of rooms to a wonderful...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been at this hotel before. Dead central for everything. Can't fault good hotel staff, or the other guests. All Glasgow stuff. Only fault....iffy wifi. Not the end of the world. Not the Ritz. Neither is the price. Truly canny whack it. 👍👍👍😀😀🍾🌹

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your great feedback. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Alexandra and found our staff welcoming. Thank you for your comments regarding the WIFI, At present WIFI is offered in communal / Public areas however we aim to roll out - in room internet access in due course, this is on...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here Twixmas 2016 our room was a family double bed and bunk beds nice view of the tower. It was recently decorated fresh paint new carpet lovely bathroom suite only complaint about bathroom was not enough light when using shower. Paper thin walls I could hear my mum and son from corridor and door was closed. Dinning room again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kelz139
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for your very kind review. It's wonderful to learn of your great holiday at the Royal Alexandra. Mark and his team will be very pleased you found our newly decorated rooms lovely, in regards to the light in the shower-thank you for your comments, all guest feedback is taken on board so we can aim to...

Reviewed January 2, 2017

Stayed here over the Christmas period and had a fantastic time! I heard others complain about their rooms but couldn't fault ours at all. As others have said corridors etc are narrow but so are a lot of hotels that I have stayed in! The food was ok, not top end but you get what you pay for and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A J
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it really is wonderful to hear you had such a great festive holiday with us. We are pleased you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed our food. We took extra time planning our Christmas break this year and our chefs and kitchen staff worked extremely hard preparing the food so we will be sure...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Checked into here for what was supposed to be a nice trip to celebrate new year our room was on 3rd floor which was a trek to get to on coming out of lift which only 2 people had to use we entered the maze through 2 fire doors down steps through door to get to it corridors so narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are so sorry to learn the Royal Alexandra was not to your personal taste. We do kindly ask all of our guests to notify our reception team / management immediately should something not be up to standard during your holiday. That way it gives us the opportunity to rectify issues there and then to ensure a more...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 28, 2016

We stayed here for the xmas period. The room was a bit small and tired but this was more than compensated for by the hotel staff who were great. Nothing was too much trouble and they worked hard to ensure everyone's comfort. There was always snacks and beverages available and the meals were great especially Christmas dinner. There was entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet S
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for your review. It's lovely to hear you had such a wonderful holiday at the Royal Alexandra Hotel. Our staff will be very pleased to hear that nothing was too much trouble and they made your stay such a memorable one. Our Christmas break has had lovely feedback and it sure sounds like our Christmas Dinner...

Reviewed November 1, 2016

Travelled to Blackpool for a 5 day illuminations trip through Blackpool Promotions from 17th -21st October and stayed at the Royal Alexandra Hotel. The trip was perfect from start to finish. The hotel is being refurbished so not all of the rooms have been redecorated, but we were fortunate enough to be allocated a refurbished family room which was great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen B
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, what a great review! Thank you! It's brilliant that you had such a great time on holiday with us, all of our staff work extremely hard so i'm sure Mark and his team will be very pleased to hear of your kind words. It's great to know that you will be using Blackpool Promotions for all of your...

Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the perfect location for a lot of the attractions!! The food was delicious with plenty of choice and the waiting staff were second to none, we will definitely be back, thanks for a wonderful stay 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa m
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your lovely review. It really is warming to hear of your wonderful holiday and fabulous that you found our food delicious! We hope you won't leave it too long until your next visit, from myself, Mark, Sophie and the rest of the hard working team we wish you all the best and hope to see...

england
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here Mon-Fri, not the best hotel we've stayed in because it needs a bit of tlc , but great value for money! Restaurant staff VERY efficient and friendly, other guests complained of small breakfast ( 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg, hash brown, beans) was enough for us. Food hot and tasty. Great location, would def stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oompaloompah
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest we thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are aiming to roll out refurbishments to all areas of the hotel in due course, this will happen but as you can appreciate unfortunately this takes time so please bear with us. Its great to hear of your fab holiday and we hope you will...

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016

On arriving we were greeted at reception by a very nice member of staff who game me my room key and told me and my son how to get to our room, We had to use a very small lift. It only fits two people in it. On entering room 202 I noticed that it was nicely decorated and very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adele D
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your in depth very kind review. It's lovely to hear you had a great time on holiday with us, we do take all guest comments on board so we can improve so i'd like to thank you raising matters. It would be lovely to see you again in the future and it's great that would...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#28 of 72 in Blackpool
809 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 72 in Blackpool
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished town centre hotel right in the heart of the resort close to the Winter Gardens, The Grand and all the amusements your heart could desire,beautiful en-suite rooms for all, including our four poster, doubles, twins triples and large family rooms with cot beds, each room has refreshments and 26 or 32 LCD flat screen TVs.Our hotel serves a buffet breakfast were you can eat and drink as much as you like. Alexandra boasts a coffee shop where morning coffee and afternoon tea is served and we pride in home baking,Evening meals for fill most appetites with a choice of menu with fresh local produce daily. Evening entertainment in our cosy cabaret bar with fun and games for all, If you are peckish call room service for our 24 hour house menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Address: 74 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $51 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 month ago
1 month ago
6 months ago
Dunfermline
7 months ago
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not good for disabled as there are lots of steps and narrow passages.”
 of 5 bubbles janets245, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“Great stay at The Royal Alexandra”
 of 5 bubbles 355adeled, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 313!”
 of 5 bubbles simonwZ7945KE, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“None to give”
 of 5 bubbles W8760IGlesleym, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Lifts for each floor but only would accommodate 2 safely, 4 at a push”
 of 5 bubbles 360maureenb, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question