We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Alexandra Hotel

06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 281: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Alexandra Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

booked mystery hotel through blackpool promotions though been to this hotel before found rooms very small but was well impressed with family room 4 on ground floor myself husband and grandson room very big staff made my granson feel very welcome even though he is very fussy eater they went out their way to acmodate even got him apple juice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy D
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are very pleased you had fun on your Mystery Hotel Break at the Royal Alexandra. Vito and his team in the restaurant will be delighted hearing of your kind words, it really is great to learn they all made your sons holiday enjoyable. In ref to your room - we do have larger rooms available which can...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is about 10 minute walk from the town centre. the hotel room is clean, there is a tv in the room and tea making station in the room as well. The staff were helpful and the breakfast and 3 course dinner were great. I would definitely be staying at this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zee189
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind review. We are pleased your visit to the Royal Alexandra was an enjoyable one. Mark and his team will be delighted, it's great that our staff looked after you so well and that you enjoyed our food. We will look forward to welcoming you on a future holiday to Blackpool, Best wishes...

scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a fantastic weekend reception staff great as we changed room from double to twin couldnt be more helpful xx hotel really clean get what you pay for xx food was amazing vito In restaurant couldnt be more accomodating xx will defo be back been to several other hotels In blackpool promotions chain and this is far the best hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandGirls
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your very positive review. We are so pleased that after your room change you had such a fantastic visit to the Royal Alexandra. Vito will be happy hearing of your comments, we will be sure to pass them on - both he and his team all work extremely hard for us here in the Restaurant....

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a experience to remember was told would get room on first floor problems walking. When I got there, was put in the basement or jail more like it. They have a cheek To put sign up free wi-fi it should read know signal on phone in basement omg this is 2017 modern technology. Give due where due is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sorcha13
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are very sorry the Royal Alexandra didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. We do aim to deliver a great experience to all so it saddens to receive negative feedback of any sort. We are sorry to learn you weren'r fully satisfied with the room you were allocated - Management do kindly ask guests to notify them...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I booked a short break in August 2016 and stayed in room 12. The only thing missing was a bedlight, just the main light with the only switch at the door, otherwise no other issue with the room. The food and service was very good in the restaurant. The lounge provided two cabaret acts each night with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmy433
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your belated review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in August 2016. In regards to the issues mentioned: We do ask guests to make management aware immediately of any issues so they can be resolved - i'm sure our management team would have arranged for a bed light...

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 22, 2017

Spent 5 nights four days at the Alexandra Hotel. Coach travel from Hamilton to Blackpool 4 hours including 30min stop at Tebay services for a smoke tea/break. Coach Whitestar Coach drivers were first class, comfortable and smooth and fresh we arrived at 2:30 at hotel staff at reception very efficient and roomed straight away, room was warm clean tea coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnnykaka
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your very nice 5 star review. Reading excellent guest comments make our week - we're very pleased you had a great time on holiday with us.. from the journey down on whitestar to your brilliant experience with us here at the hotel. Vito will be delighted for his great mention, he works extremely hard and...

Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 17, 2017

Stayed at the Royal Alexandra for the Grand National, Friday till Sunday, lovely hotel and staff, they couldn't do enough for you especially the restaurant staff, room although small was very clean and the bed was so comfy!! Meals were delicious and the breakfast was also lovely nice and hot noticed other posts complaining about the portions being small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shona R
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for feedback. We are delighted to learn you had a great time on holiday with us and it's brilliant our staff looked after you so well. We aim to deliver a great guest experience from check in to departure so it's fabulous you were very comfortable in your allocated room. Food at the Royal Alexandra receives...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 8, 2017

my wife and myself have just spent 5 days at this hotel and can highly recommend it .....our room was clean the food was great ...the service was first class ....and the entertainment was amazing ...I must make a special mention to the amazing four ds ...and the singing sensation her self ...Sheila diamond.....who were just 2 of the fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank david h
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geast, wow what a great review! Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your holiday from the food, the service and entertainment at night! It's great you got to see the fantastic Four D's during your time with us, they will be performing regularly throughout the season - so hopefully you'll...

West Lothian
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

Stayed with daughter fri-mon hotel is just same as last time we stayed mostly same staff. In newer bit of hotel & room nicer. Freshly painted & new carpet. Food was nice & good choices. 99p bar from 12-5 nightly entertainment & bingo good stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lpratt77
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review. We are so pleased you were comfortable in our newly refurbished section of the hotel. Being returning guests your comments are invaluable to us so thank you for the feedback on our food, as with last time - we're pleased our standard continues to deliver. The 99p Bar from 12pm until 5pm...

Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here, with my sister and our daughters. 2x Triple rooms, were a good size, however rooms were very outdated with damp patches on ceiling and walls, stains/rips in carpets. 1 room had bathroom updated and room seemed more fresh than the other. Decor in rooms very old. Views left a lot to be desired and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you weren't fully satisfied with your allocated rooms. We do kindly ask guests to make management aware of any issues immediately so they can be resolved there and then to ensure your holiday is enjoyable. We may have offered other more suitable rooms either at the Royal Alexandra...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#29 of 70 in Blackpool
838 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#12 of 70 in Blackpool
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 70 in Blackpool
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 70 in Blackpool
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished town centre hotel right in the heart of the resort close to the Winter Gardens, The Grand and all the amusements your heart could desire,beautiful en-suite rooms for all, including our four poster, doubles, twins triples and large family rooms with cot beds, each room has refreshments and 26 or 32 LCD flat screen TVs.Our hotel serves a buffet breakfast were you can eat and drink as much as you like. Alexandra boasts a coffee shop where morning coffee and afternoon tea is served and we pride in home baking,Evening meals for fill most appetites with a choice of menu with fresh local produce daily. Evening entertainment in our cosy cabaret bar with fun and games for all, If you are peckish call room service for our 24 hour house menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Address: 74 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $44 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Ayrshire
2 months ago
Ayr, United Kingdom
3 months ago
3 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for family rooms on ground floor if hve children”
T2091QInancyd, 3 days ago | Read review
“We were on t g e 2nd floor at back of hotel and very quiet”
ShonaR_12, Apr 17, 2017 | Read review
“Not good for disabled as there are lots of steps and narrow passages.”
janets245, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“Great stay at The Royal Alexandra”
355adeled, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 313!”
simonwZ7945KE, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates