We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Balmoral Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Balmoral Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 2 nights here having paid £60 per night last minute for a large double room. We were immediately struck by the friendly and no nonsense check-in and our room, although basic, was absolutely fine considering we were only sleeping in it. In fact the room was very quirky with uneven floors and a small bathroom but the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank daveatkinson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a 5 night stay in The Balmoral Hotel and the overwhelming memory of our stay was the sincere friendly welcome from the staff. It really made the holiday. The decor is a little dated but it's a thoroughly clean hotel. The entertainment was good and suitable for children and adults alike. I truly enjoyed the stay and it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wivboy
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service from friendly and efficient staff. Basic rooms but spotlessly clean and warm. Breakfast was very nice and evening meal was good quality home cooked food. We would definately stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Jane N
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. This is my second 2 night stay and was pleased to find a clean freshly renovated spacious room for 3 . Staff all friendly and helpful and there is now free wifi in all rooms. The evening ents a godsend and my son loved the dancefloor. Thank you to all we will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate S
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2016

went here on our honeymoon, booked up to from Monday to Friday at a cost of £400, me and my wife were both ill so we had to leave two days early, it would of been nice of them to refund us at least the cost of the evening meals

Helpful?
Thank davedcfc2016
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Haywood, Its always regretful when guests have to leave early because they are ill, in your case your wife developed a sore thought on the second day of your stay and on third your you also confirmed that you were similarly unwell. Later in the day, you informed that it might wise for you both to be at... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

Excellent service all staff friendly and nothing to much trouble for them thank you .special mention to Tom and Craig . food excellent breakfast made to order and brought to your table a lovely touch I thought .waitress service by Trisha very good as we're all the waiting on staff. Evening meal three course and everyone enjoyed it. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jujuman666
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review- I am glad all went well with your stay and happy to know that my staff looked after you well. Kind Regards Martin More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 day break. The staff are very friendly and polite especially Tom and the night porter Craig. The only negatives for this hotel is that it's decor/ room fittings are very dated and needs an complete refurbishment. On the Sunday evening the bar closed at 10.30pm which wasn't fair for those returning from shows.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ramona B
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you this review- always good to know that the staff have looked after you well. Regards hotel- we are working on refurbs in stages during the quieter months-. Best regards Martin More 

Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Balmoral Hotel. We booked two rooms, one for us and one for the kids as they like their own space now. Firstly, the positives far outweigh the negatives. The only slight negative is that the rooms we stayed in could be doing with a refurbishment but on the whole... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carl-al-2912
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this review- and really glad your stay with us was happy one. The hotel is undergoing refurb. works in stages over the quieter month which you will notice on your next visit. Kind Regards Martin More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

This hotel's staff, entertainment and food deserves more than 2 stars but unfortunately the accommodation was appalling.... Bedding and towels were clean but it ends there. The mattress was disastrous... The room decor was shabby and very tired....the bathroom smelt of urine. The floor of the bathroom was springy!!! I think the building has subsidence. £80 bed and breakfast is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Jane W
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah Jane, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and all positive comments about your stay with us. As always it would have been good to to know about the negative points whilst your stay here as it give me an opportunity to address these points direct with you. Our cleaning staff are quite diligent in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
bradford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Just stayed here for 2 nights with my mum and overall we were impressed. The staff were friendly and polite, the room was very clean and offered everything we needed. Location is ideal and all this at a great price! The entertainment on offer is great for the more 'mature crowd' and breakfast was also lovely.

Helpful?
Thank lisaB22
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LisaB22, Thank you this review and I am really pleased that all went well during stay with us. Please do not hesitate to come again, you will be most welcome. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#44 of 72 in Blackpool
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 72 in Blackpool
658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
1,212 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
779 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 72 in Blackpool
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Balmoral Hotel is a friendly hotel with a unique smoked glass fronted exterior. Built at the turn of the century this fine hotel is ideally situated on the sea front between Blackpool Tower and the Pleasure Beach with the Central Pier just yards away. The hotel offers accommodation for couples, families, singles and small groups but strictly no Stags or Hens. There is a well-established evening restaurant attached to the hotel which includes an a la carte menu and is open to the public.We provide free entertainment, bingo and quiz with a free finger buffet 6 nights per week, subject to numbers, in our cabaret bar and lounge. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.On warm sunny days you can relax in the forecourt café/restaurant area enjoying a long cool drink and watch the world pass by. If you prefer to relax indoors our lounge offers elevated and panoramic views of the Irish Sea. During the world famous illuminations you can watch the special illuminated trams as they pass by the hotel without having to leave the comfort of your armchair.The location of the Balmoral is such that you are only a few minutes away from all the fun filled areas, the town centre for shopping, the tower headland with its comedy carpet and new wedding chapel, the tower with its new dungeon and walk of faith, Sea World and the world famous Madame Tussauds and of course the Pleasure Beach. Transport links are good with the Tram stops directly opposite us and bus stops are a few yards away enabling you to travel further afield at ease. We offer competitively priced packages for 3 day weekends, 4 day mid weeks and 7 day packages on either a BB or HB basis. We are booking Christmas, 4 days 24-28 Dec, and New Year, 3 days 30 Dec to 2 Jan at competitive prices. We also offer Christmas Shopping break weekends, 2 nights throughout November and December. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: 215-217 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $73 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors mean less noise from the evening entertainment”
 of 5 bubbles Julieanna65, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
“We had room 202 ,but Understand there are sea view room which are also bigger with king size bed ,would like tottery next time.”
 of 5 bubbles 308alisonm, May 15, 2016 | Read review
“try to get a sea view if possible !”
 of 5 bubbles griff2, Sep 29, 2015 | Read review
“Best tip. Don't go.”
 of 5 bubbles aldo50Glasgow, Sep 18, 2015 | Read review
“Sea views are worth the small extra cost”
 of 5 bubbles SandraW981, Jul 27, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay