We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Howbeck

Booking.com$137*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Howbeck
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

926 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Howbeck
See the most recent reviews
Showing 925: English reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I treated my boyfriend to a romantic break here for his birthday 2 weeks ago. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Howbeck and will definitely be returning sometime in the near future! The staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay and couldn't do enough for us! Our room 'Meregill'' was perfect! We especially enjoyed the air bath and are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lazylizz
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Dear guests, we are extremely pleased to read your lovely review and know how much you both enjoyed your stay in our Luxury 4 Poster room 'Meregill'. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the breakfasts, they have been shared with all of the staff. We truly hope to welcome you back in the not so distant...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The howbeck hotel was just perfect for me and my partner, the bedrooms were so clean and staff very welcoming and helpful. I would say its perfect for couples for a spacial weekend in the lakes. We will definatley be coming back soon. Your in walking distance of bowness and windermere town too with lovely restaurants and plenty to do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aimee p
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Dear guests, "perfect getaway", what a charming title to a truly wonderful review. We are so pleased to read how much you both enjoyed yourselves. It's great to know you plan to return and we will look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks from all of the team.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from the most magical and romantic weekend in the Lakes staying at the Howbeck Hotel positioned half way between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere. My Partner treated me for an early Valentines as he will be away working next weekend! We stayed in the Windergill with a four poster bed that was extremely comfortable. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Dear guests, we are all so very pleased to read about how much you both enjoyed your Valentine's break away. Your comments are truly lovely and have been shared with all of the team. Thank you for recommending us to others - we sincerely appreciate it! We all hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes from all at The...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We've been in the Howbeck over the weekend to celebrate my birthday.We've been welcomed by a friendly member of staff Aga,with a cup of coffee and a bunch of flowers for myself to start celebration of my birthday.The room was excellent,4poster,very clean and tidy.My husband ask for a romantic package,chocolates,champagne,rose petals etc.The staff remembered as well about my favourite chocolate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann k
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Dear guests, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Howbeck and for sharing such a wonderful review. To receive 5/5 across the board is truly fantastic and makes us very proud - Thank you! We look forward to your return visit.

Lancashire
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had a few of days in the lakes walking while my wife was on a training course, I chose the Howbeck as it is close to Windermere centre and main bus routes. My room was spotlessly clean and very comfy. I had an evening meal that was excellent and the breakfast next day that you choose the night before (full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callaway7Lancashire
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you for sharing your lovely review. It's wonderful to receive such kind comments regarding the cleanliness and comfort, breakfast and the staff and service - Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back and also to meeting your wife. Kindest regards.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We travelled to the Howbeck as a last minute weekend break. From the minute we arrived the stay was perfect. Roberta the manager welcomed us with tea and coffee on arrival and showed us to our 4 Poster room. It was lovely and my boyfriend had suprised me with booking a romantic package which was chocolates, champagne and rose petals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you from all of the team for your lovely comments and fantastic ratings - Full marks across the board! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your surprise Romantic Package and were happy with your room choice. Thank you also for recommending us to others, we are truly appreciative. We look forward to welcoming you back in...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 6, 2013

What can I say, the food was excellent, we had evening meal and breakfast both fantastic. The service we received from the staff was also excellent. The rooms were lovely. Overall I would definately recommend and hope to go back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikhael T
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you for lovely review. Your comments regarding the service, food and our rooms and all lovely to read. We hope you do return next year,

lancashire
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We havy recently returned from a two night break through Secret Escapes and were delighted upon arrival to be told we had been upgraded to four poster with spa bath.The stay was pleasant enough but little things were lacking compared to similar rated and priced breaks we have gone on recently. The bathroom and bath didn't seem as clean as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank charlotte h
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you for providing feedback following your stay with us. We are extremely sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. We are however slightly puzzled by your review for the following reasons; We were delighted to give you the complimentary upgrade so you had the use of the spa bath instead of just a shower...

Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in the retreat had numerous problems & poor service that you wouldn't expect for a 5* guest house or for the money you pay (before they make excuses that the AA rate the guest house they charge the prices) TV didnt work in bathroom, Freeview never worked on arrival, cracked tile in bathroom, bathroom door dragged across floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mpelsa
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

We were extremely disappointed when reading this review as we always strive to provide guests with the most enjoyable stay possible. The guests were contacted by management and the issues dealt with immediately. We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of December for my partners birthday. The room was lovely with a big four poster bed, clean and well decorated, very warm for the time of the year, but if anything negative could be said it was a little smaller than I had expected. Spa bath was really great and I used it both nights...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rob F
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Dear guests, we're all pleased to read about how much much you both enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the cleanliness, decorations, spa bath and the breakfast. We are sorry you found the room to be smaller than expected. Every room is different so we recommend contacting us prior to booking to discuss which room is...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

217 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (203)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,299 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $158 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Howbeck staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Howbeck staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Mickleden room at back of hotel. We didn't hear any noise at all.”
katb52, 1 week ago | Read review
“Deepdale has a good view”
801Radz, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“we stayed in the Deepdale room but heard about a 4 poster bed room ;-) maybe you should ask,,,, either way the rooms are amazing”
, Feb 18, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are prone to some road noise.”
mlordy, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“luxury rooms have 4 posters etc”
BoltonbigT, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$137* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$137
Hotels.com$161
Travelocity$161
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates