We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holbeck Ghyll Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,101: English reviews
Cambridge
Reviewed June 26, 2015

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Holbeck Ghyll earlier this week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have been staying there for 16 years now and I am delighted to report that it is as good as ever. We always try and book the Lord Lonsdale room which has splendid views over Windermere to the fells beyond. Housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CambridgeRambler99
Tyldesley, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 25, 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights last weekend. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special - Bags taken to room whilst given the tour. Then into the room and it was very spacious with a balcony facing the lake. Bed extremely comfy. Evening meal was absolutely lovely and although I was "talked" out of my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheDamBuilders
galashiels
Reviewed June 24, 2015

This was our first stay at this lovely hotel. We stayed in Easdale, a stunning room a short distance away from the main hotel. Very modern, in total contrast the the main house. This property is still undergoing renovation and I dare say will be wonderful when complete. At the moment there are large roof supports sticking out, which presumably...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timeoutgalashiels
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Easdales bedroom view I have to agree with you is stunning with its floor to ceiling windows and when the new balcony and electronic sliding windows get fitted it will solve the ventilation issue. I like your idea of a velux in the bathroom; I will...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2015

We have just spent three wonderful nights at Holbeck Ghyll. We have been here before and everything remains as perfect as ever. The views from the hotel are stunning, staff are friendly and efficient, service is impeccable as is the standard of housekeeping. The food is excellent and exactly what one would expect from a Michelin starred restaurant, as is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yvonne C
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

What a stunning review, I could not have written one better myself! On behalf of the whole team here at Holbeck Ghyll a BIG THANK YOU. I have printed your review off and put it on the staff notice board as I feel they deserve to see it. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 18, 2015

Fantastic location with lovely peaceful gardens and great views. Hotel is luxurious but a little dated for our tastes. Our stay was to mark our anniversary and we were given a complimentary room upgrade and some excellent chocolates. The food was superb - particularly the lemon dessert which was without a doubt the best dessert I have ever had and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillyBear01
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Firstly I am sorry the spa hot tub was too cold for you but due to our cleaning standards along with Health and Safety guidelines we clean out our hot tubs every week and it can take a few hours to heat the fresh water. We here at Holbeck Ghyll have a variety of...

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2015

We are in the lakes on a family holiday with a visitor from America, we wanted to take her out for a typical Afternoon Tea, following research on the internet we choose to visit here. We were not disappointed the food was delicious, the service excellent and in beautiful surroundings. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon and I'm sure the cakes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle849
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review I am so pleased you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea. I hope that you were able to take it on our Terrace as the view from there is world class and I am sure your American friend would have loved it. Our Afternoon Tea is as popular as now guests get even more cakes, Jenny...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2015

We had an overnight stay, travelling with our dog from a touring holiday of Scotland and stayed in some amazing accommodation for the previous 10 nights. Our treat was the Holbeck Ghyll for our last night - being the most expensive - we expected it to be the best. The receptionist accompanied us to the "Ghyllside Cottage" to introduce us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynn T
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

I was so sorry to read that we had not reached your expectations with regards to the decor of Ghyllside Cottage. We are undergoing a gradual refurbishment and I will look at bringing forward the plans to update that cottage. Again, I am sorry that my team didn't look after you in the way that we are trained to do....

Hale, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 16, 2015

Holbeck Ghyll was quite good but not as good as we had hoped! We stayed overnight in the Langdale Room and found the accommodation spacious but slightly tired. The rooms are undoubtedly cosy but fail to meet the standards to which the place would appear to aspire. We love an English country style at our hotels but at Holbeck Ghyll,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George S
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay however, I was so disappointed that you found the food unexciting. Both myself and my kitchen team send our apologies but do hope that you will give us a second chance to show you that we can shine. Yours sincerely Andrew

Runcorn
Reviewed June 13, 2015

Myself and my new wife booked two nights in the Miss Potter suite to celebrate our Honeymoon after coming directly from the Lakeside Hotel -Newby Bridge where we got married and celebrated our wedding. This is our third visit to the magnificent Holbeck Ghyll hotel.. (Please see my previous reviews) As I said we booked the Miss Potter suite, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoystonBling
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Dear Roy and Debbie First of all congratulation on your marriage and I hope you are enjoying married life? Thank you for taking the time out to write this fantastic review I am so pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and everything sounded perfect. I hope you will visit us again very soon if not then for your many,...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed June 12, 2015

My wife and I visited for the first time and even though we came from far away, Hong Kong, we will definately be back. The whole experience was excellent from the moment we checked in and we were made to feel special, whatever our wishes were. Dinner in the evening was a culinary experience with attention to detail that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank koert t
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

WOW this is a great award!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this brilliant review. I am so very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the UK and especially Holbeck Ghyll. I have passed on your comments to all my team as I think it is important to show them that people appreciate their hard work....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

652 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (385)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (243)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Buttermere Suite (31)
Viewed
Eltermere Suite (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite (26)
Viewed
Luxury Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $230 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holbeck Ghyll Country House staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Bardon Mill, null, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Woking, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holbeck Ghyll Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Hard to imagine that they have any poor rooms.”
SteveNorthampton.UK, 6 days ago | Read review
“Lake view is a must”
Friertuck, 6 days ago | Read review
“The view from room 20 is stunning”
dper195829, 1 week ago | Read review
“Lake views are best”
realamyparnell, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Fantastic views of the Lake from Room 1”
Begbroke, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question