We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Beech Hill Hotel & Spa

GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were not staying in this hotel and,noticing that there was a distinct lack of dining pubs on this stretch of road next to the Lake,we called in for an evening bar meal. There is a beautiful outside eating area with great views over the Lake; the Wow factor,however,did not extend to the rest of the hotel. The bar menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank bikerider599
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here for a long weekend with my girlfriend (it was recommended by a family friend). I was pleasantly surprised by the views of the surrounding hills and lake and was equally impressed with the attentive and polite staff. Food was second to none and I will be going again this year. Excellent thank you to all the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank derek s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We only dined there and the peaceful lake view was just what we were looking for. The food was very good but the service not so professional. I think the waiters were mostly apprentices in training. However the evening on the terrace with a glass of wine is very relaxing. I would recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Laurel V
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoy having an afternoon tea in the Lake District every now and again and have tried most. Many are becoming too expensive though now - Beech Hill Hotel advertised one at a more reasonable price. Clearly not many people go there for afternoon tea - staff didn't appear too familiar with it, there wasn't much choice in types of... More 

Helpful?
Thank LakesWanderer
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely stay. Beautiful location. Hotel a little tired in places but in process of being renovated. Room was down below car park and was dreading what it would be like but was great with patio area and over looking lake. Room a little tired but clean. Spa/pool area all newly refurbished . Dined in restaurant and the service and food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I have been in this amazing spa with my family .. i really enjoyed my stay although it was only for one night. . The location was ok .. the breakfast was good .most important the lake view was magnificent.

Helpful?
1 Thank zainab A
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my wife got engaged in this hotel a few years ago and thought it would be nice to go back for our one year anniversary, when we checked in the hotel had upgraded our room and put a bottle of champagne in ice in the room and left a anniversary card what was a real personal touch. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Unfortunately the new upgrades to the hotel (pool, steam room,hot tub and sauna) do not offset the things that make staying at Beech Hill close to unbearable. The biggest issue is a pervasive lack of ventilation , and very strong fungus smells emanating from the carpets and washrooms. The front desk staff were wooden, dismissive and abrupt with us when... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent 2 x days at Beechill hotel Windermere , has fantastic views over looking the lake, but hotel very tired and shabby, large room with new bathroom although shower was tiny , large whirlpool bath, swimming pool and sun deck lovely. Has great potential to be a good hotel if refurbished

Helpful?
3 Thank Rita W
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked into family room Sunday. Access to hotel very poor at rear gravelled uneven car park. Cannot stop at front on main road traffic too busy. Room smelled, bathroom disgusting see pics. No flowers or water in room as advertised. No fridges in rooms either I complained to receptionist who gave me a key to another room 4 flights down,there... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank looyates
beechhill11, General Manager at Beech Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was obviously disappointed to read your comments and can only apologise for what was an unsatisfactory room. We are constantly refurbishing bedrooms and these family rooms were due to be started towards the end of August, we did suffer a maintenance issue the morning of your arrival which is why it was difficult to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

225 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (186)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
4.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
8.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Food & drink at the hotel
Burlington's Restaurant
Burlington's Restaurant
Cuisines: British, French, European, Gluten Free Options
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Beech Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Windermere LA23 3LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $144 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Beech Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Windermere
Hotel Beech Hill
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Windermere, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#5 Green Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#17 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay