We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shemara Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shemara Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 181: English reviews
Start your review of Shemara Guest House
 Click to rate
Edinburgh
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

This is a special spot for myself and my family. We have been regular visitors to Shemara for the last few years and it is our usual place to stay when visiting Keswick. The location in the heart of Keswick is perfect and we are always greeted warmly when we arrive. One of the highlights for us is the food....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scot174
Reviewed November 15, 2016

My partner and I stayed at shemara for a couple of nights. It was Great welcoming from Richard and Sayfon. Lovely clean bedroom and many choices of breakfast. We had a chance to try Thai food here we both loved it. Absolutely come back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 11, 2016

Dogs running around whilst eating breakfast, showers too hot, place was dirty, not worth the money they charge, and the Thai food was horrific. The worst Thai food ever. DO NOT STAY OR EAT HERE. Much better places all over, I would never stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kolton K
richatki, Owner at Shemara Guest House, responded to this review

Hmmm, not a place you have ever stayed at. Will keep this short and sweet, we do not accept dogs at the Guest House nor do we own a dog so how on earth could dogs be 'running around whilst having breakfast' ? The showers have mixer dials so the temperature is controlled by you ( but of coarse you...

Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Stayed here two nights and were disappointed that this B&B had three proper parking places which were full even though we arrived quite early. Paying car park nearby. Room was busy with furniture. Breakfast good and staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here this evening. The Thai food was excellent - very fresh and tasty. Very hearty portions too. Warm and welcoming service. Will definitely go back when we are next in Keswick. Note they are not licensed though so you have to bring your own beer/wine or you can buy soft drinks there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgw911c4
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

Excellent hosts spotlessly clean rooms beautifully furnished with a lovely on - suite fantastic breakfast and exellent Thai food in the evening too.fantastic location only 150 yards to the town centre will definitely be coming back during late summer next year we had a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil C
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Thank you Richard and Sayfon and not forgetting your daughter for making us so welcome and for your wonderful hospitality and amazing Thai meal and scrumptious breakfast. Room 3 was lovely, comfy bed and amazing view of cat bells. Spotlessly clean. Will definitely return. X

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bessybeck
Choppington, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

We have been staying here for over 20 years and would not go to another b and b in Keswick. Perfect in every way. Very good rooms and extensive breakfast choices. Richard Fon and Nancy are fantastic. Well equipped rooms. Ironing boards hair dryers all there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

This was an excellent location in the centre of Keswick. Very friendly land lady who was willing to help even providing means of drying out wet walking gear. Her daughter was an excellent asset to her and a lovely polite girl. Lovely breakfast with many choices. The breakfast room then converts in the evening to a traditional Thai restaurant which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shahinaahmed
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 14, 2016

We had room 2. Beautifully clean,quality furniture, very comfy bed, en suite, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Fantastic welcome from Sayfon, who can't do enough to make your stay comfortable. I had full Cumbrian breakfast which was fabulous and Eggs Benedict -highly recommended. Situated in the centre of Keswick. I could not fault this guest house at all. Hope to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#10 of 177 in Keswick
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#30 of 177 in Keswick
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#52 of 177 in Keswick
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 177 in Keswick
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#7 of 177 in Keswick
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#124 of 177 in Keswick
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central location, quiet 4 star guest house. All rooms are ensuite with mountain views and are furnished to a high standard. Wide choice of breakfast menu. In the evenings the dining room is open for Sayfons authentic Thai cooking. Some private parking available.A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shemara Guest House

Address: 27 Bank Street, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $99 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shemara Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shemara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shemara Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 3 with the best view in Keswick”
 of 5 bubbles C2165VPpaulk, Jul 3, 2016 | Read review
“Room 4, very spacious overlooking the mountain range to the rear of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ianwW1457MK, Jun 17, 2016 | Read review
“Any they are all lovely,”
 of 5 bubbles janej343, Jun 11, 2016 | Read review
“Ring Shemara direct to discuss your needs, the room above the dining room has a stunning view of the central and northwestern fells.”
 of 5 bubbles Lizzymcbusy, May 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles 403keithj, Nov 22, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question