We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Oakthwaite House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Oakthwaite House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 387: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights as part of my husbands birthday celebrations and couldn't fault the service and welcoming atmosphere! Our room was on the top floor overlooking the street with a wonderful view across the hills, it was spotlessly clean and most importantly had a very comfortable bed! We had tea and coffee facilities and the en suite was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

Hello Sarah Thank you so much for such a glowing review I am so happy you had a great stay and you found Keswick such a fantastic place to visit I wish you both well and hope to see you again real soon Very best wishes Peter More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

On arrival to oakthwaite house we where welcomed by Peter... on first impression we thought he was a nice welcoming man, he had a joke saying that he hadn't had a reservation under my name which I thought was quite funny and thought he had a good sense of humour. So on arrival yes I was looking forward to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bashamhartley
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not get the service you and your partner was hoping for but thank you for posting your comment kind regards Peter More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

Before we arrived at Oakthwaite House we rung ahead to let the hosts know we were stuck just over an hour behind our original check in time, we were told this was not a problem, however on arrival we did not receive such a warm welcome. We were taken to our room which was lovely, well furnished and clean, everything... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice U
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

Dear Alice, I telephoned to speak to you to say how sorry I am to read your comments but you was not home, so I am really sorry you did not get the service you should have. I will not make excuses just to say we all get ill from time to time and it was more to do with... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Cannot fault this B&B, room was very nice and spacious (we stayed in no5) and facilities were excellent. View from room was beautiful, bed very comfy, always had hot water for a shower which is a must after peak bagging around 4/6 wainwrights a day!! Loved how the room had everything we needed which has clearly been well thought out... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry R
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

Hello Kerry Thank you so much for such a glowing review and I am so pleased you had such a great experience at Oakthwaite House and everything was to your expectation. It was my pleasure to welcome you both to my home and I really do hope to see you back next year. Very kind regards Peter More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2016

This is a lovely B&B tucked away in Kewsick Excellent quality rooms, very comfy bed and well equipped rooms. Nice hot showers which we needed after our muddy trail race, Pleasant owner who was very helpful. Unfortunately I could not comment on what I believe is an excellent breakfast due to an electrical issue in the kitchen but the owner... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm A
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

Hello Malcolm Thank you so much for a glowing review, nice to know i'm a pleasant owner who is very helpful, I do have my good days!!! I am so sorry you did't get to sample an excellent breakfast but really happy the cafe gave you an alternative. With so many wonderful places to eat in Keswick, I may even... More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend, lovely B&B, very spacious and comfortable room (we had room 2), the shower was amazing! Location was great, a 5min walk into the town centre. Breakfast really good (on the final morning the electrics had gone so we had to sort ourselves out but Peter reimbursed us for this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jen D
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

Hello Jen Thank you for posting such a lovely review, yes again sorry for lack of breakfast but we have so many wonderful places serving just as good if not better breakfasts in the town. No problem over the keys and thank you for confirming by telephone you got them ok. You know most guests who stay in room 2... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome, beautiful spacious modern room finished to a high standard excellent, admittedly breakfast is early 8.15 or 8.30 but fabulous food with plenty of choice on the menu, overall this place represents value for money, couldn't ask for more from a bed and breakfast really - would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Laura F
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for post such a glowing review and am so pleased you would highly recommend the B&B. Keswick is a beautiful place and well worth a visit any time of the year, so I do hope you'll be back real soon. kind regards Peter More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

The owner was very welcoming and allowed to get the keys early. Breakfast was at 8.15 or 8.30 and your choices needed to be in the previous evening, which was great coming down to your breakfast without having to wait. :-) Rooms were on the small size but I think they were reasonable for the location and price. Would stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank katykt77
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am so pleased you had a good welcome and found everything to your liking. Not all the rooms are small maybe next visit you should book room 5 the king size or room 2 the super king I do hope to see you both real soon with... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2016

This B&B is a little gem of a place, tucked away on a quiet side street only a few minutes walk into Keswick village centre. The first impression when you walk into the hallway is it is stunning, beautifully decorated, with thick wool carpet (ideal to walk on with sore, aching feet - having taken off your walking boots). Absolutely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glitter_Tray
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

Hello Firstly may I apologise reservedly I meant nothing by my comment at all I t was only said in jest and as I have seen my very dry sense of humour was not taken very lightly As a chef in days long gone by I am very much use to cooking scrambled eggs in many different ways and am... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2016

Oakthwaite House is a mid-terrace house built in the traditional style from Cumbrian slate. It is located a few minutes walk from the centre of Keswick but is wonderfully quiet and peaceful. It is family owned and run.It has been lovingly refurbished and converted from a family home into a Guest House. The rooms are large with a very well... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMH5000
oakthwaite15, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review

Thank you both so much for such a beautiful review and for covering so much that other guests will appreciate knowing before they book with us. You were a great delight to have in my home the perfect guest and a pleasure to have got to know you both a little better. I look forward to welcoming you real soon,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#49 of 177 in Keswick
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#11 of 177 in Keswick
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#15 of 177 in Keswick
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#98 of 177 in Keswick
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#12 of 177 in Keswick
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shemara Guest House
Shemara Guest House
#78 of 177 in Keswick
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakthwaite House is a Victorian town house built c.1876 in a quiet residential area of Keswick, only a five-minute walk from the town centre. We provide a high quality service and offer you a comfortable, relaxing, refreshing and enjoyable stay. The location of our guesthouse in Keswick and in the Lake District National Park makes it an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the many wonders of the northern Lakes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakthwaite House

Address: 35 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $81 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Oakthwaite House Hotel Keswick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oakthwaite House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room five has a huge bed, the biggest I believe, and stunning views over the fells.”
 of 5 bubbles Glitter_Tray, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Top floor at the front (room 5). It has eaves but a huge window and great views of the fells over the tops of adjacent houses.”
 of 5 bubbles SMH5000, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“Don't be a group”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmw618, Jun 26, 2016 | Read review
“We had a top floor room (which is in the roof space), so it had a sloping ceiling on one side of the bed, but very spacious otherwise.”
 of 5 bubbles christinecH2947LO, Oct 18, 2015 | Read review
“The dormer bedroom has a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles Dan_G_Wright, Aug 14, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question