We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
12/24/2017 12/25/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Portland House Bed and Breakfast

    19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
    011 44 17687 74230
    Call
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    12/24/2017 12/25/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in KeswickSee available hotels in Keswick
    Traveler (55)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (13)
    Overview
    • Excellent97%
    • Very good2%
    • Average1%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travelers talk about
    “rod denise” (49 reviews)
    “short bread” (12 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Wheelchair access
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Portland House Bed and Breakfast
    Offers & Announcements: Christmas Gift idea!
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (765)
    There are newer reviews for Portland House Bed and Breakfast
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    181 - 185 of 761 reviews

    Reviewed May 21, 2016

    We booked our stay at Portland House on the strength of the TripAdvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We were made welcome from the moment we arrived. We stayed for four nights in room 6 which had recently been upgraded with a very comfortable king-size...More

    Thank Jeff S
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded May 22, 2016

    Thank you Jeff for this excellent review. We pride ourselves on the quality of our accommodation and our award winning breakfasts and it is always nice to receive such favourable comments. We are fortunate to live in this beautiful area and Keswick has so much...More

    Reviewed May 20, 2016

    I have just come back from a weekend stay with Rod and Denise and my only complaint is that my tummy has got bigger in spite of all the walking!! This is due to the amazing breakfasts, packed lunches, cakes on demand and fabulous shortbread,all...More

    Thank suzievjames
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded May 22, 2016

    If the only complaint is that you have gained a few pounds after your stay, we are happy, you were on holiday so not a time to count the calories! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was fun to meet you and...More

    Reviewed May 19, 2016

    Warm welcome with pot of tea and home made shortbread provided. Beautifully clean, great choice and well cooked breakfast. Secure bike parking and Rod and Denise are the perfect hosts and they are motorcycle enthusiasts!.More

    Thank Terry P
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded May 20, 2016

    We were pleased to be able to accommodate you on your way home. Being bikers ourselves, we know how welcome a hot cuppa is when you stop which is also appreciated by our walking guests along with the home made cakes they can help themselves...More

    Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

    We always look forward to our visits to Portland House, the welcome and hospitality we receive is always fantastic. A freshly made pot of tea or coffee is always offered, along with some delicious homemade cake or shortbread. And a good old catchup. It is...More

    Thank Roz T
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded May 17, 2016

    Thank you for the great comments in this review both about us and Keswick - the cinema is definitely worth a visit! It was good to see you again and we are pleased you were able to stay for a good few days this time...More

    Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

    Stayed with Rod and Denise at Portland House for five nights at the beginning of May.. We had a very comfortable room no. 6, with en-suite bathroom. The breakfasts and optional packed lunches are very good. Rod and Denise helped to make our stay in...More

    Thank Paul T
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded May 17, 2016

    Meeting people and becoming good friends is one of the great things about running Portland House. It was lovely to see you again and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for posting another review - we really appreciate it. Look...More

    Grasmere Hotel
    810 reviews
    #1 of 14 hotels in Grasmere
    10.6 mi
     
    Overwater Hall
    557 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Ireby
    7.2 mi
     
    The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
    489 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Grange-in-Borrowdale
    3.7 mi
     
    Lyzzick Hall Hotel
    652 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Castlerigg
    2.3 mi
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    Details
    • Price range
    • $49 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Lake District >
    • Keswick
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (55)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (13)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (59)
    Bathroom (3)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Keswick
    The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
    489 reviews
    3.66 miles away
     
    Lyzzick Hall Hotel
    652 reviews
    2.26 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Fellpack
    172 reviews
    .16 miles away
    eS Bar
    371 reviews
    .16 miles away
    The Square Orange Cafe Bar
    887 reviews
    .14 miles away
    The Wainwright
    570 reviews
    .16 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Derwentwater
    2,285 reviews
    .09 miles away
    Walla Crag
    109 reviews
    .18 miles away
    Fitz Park
    113 reviews
    .20 miles away
    Moot Hall - Keswick Information Centre
    151 reviews
    .20 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Shantanu N
    July 26, 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Rodden10 | Property representative |
    Hi We have some limited parking but there is plenty of unrestricted on-road parking surrounding our house and guests do not have a problem. Hope that helps Denise
    2
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "The 1st floor family room is massive, bright and airy"
    Read review
    "All the rooms on offer are of a high standard."
    Read review
    "Ours and Daughters rooms, modern, quiet and spacious. Will be visiting again early next year."
    Read review
    "Room #6 was on the second floor(third US) and had view of a hill."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing