We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Save
Traveler (57)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (13)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent97%
  • Very good2%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“rod denise”(51 reviews)
“short bread”(11 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Free Parking
Additional information
Offers from Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Offers & Announcements: Bank Holiday rates
Offers from Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Offers & Announcements: Bank Holiday rates
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
779
18
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
779
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade shortbreadrod deniseshort breadshortcakepot of teagreat hostslake districtsingle roompacked lunchon arrivallittle touchesnothing is too much troublefresh milkb and bwarm welcomehome from homebeer festival
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 799 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I stayed in the single room, it was very nicely decorated. The bathroom was very modern looked brand new. The breakfast was very good, lots to choose from. Rod and Denise are more than happy to help with suggestions of things to do while in...More

Thank jamesbird87
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded today

Thank you James, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to make the most of your weekend. All our rooms have modern ensuite shower rooms and we thank you for your comments about them. We hope to see you again one day and...More

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We stayed here for the Lakesman Triathlon which was perfectly situated near the centre and a short walk from the Lake. The hosts are more than friendly and make you feel at home, rooms clean and tidy, the breakfast excellent! The shortbread and banana muffins...More

Thank Birkatron
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded yesterday

Thank you for the great comments. It was good to meet you both and we are pleased you felt at home here - we are doing things right! We hope the Triathlon went well and that you are maybe both going to take part next...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

I think this is our 8th time back here and from the 1st time to the last, we can't fault ANYTHING. It is like staying with family and sadly, its like saying goodbye to family when we leave. Previous reviews say it all really. There...More

1  Thank Ross W
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 5 days ago

Thanks again Ross for another great review. We always look forward to seeing you - the time seems to have flown by, and yes, it is like having family to stay. It is lovely to know that you appreciate all our little extras - any...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Another year and another Beer Festival but it wouldn’t be the same if we stayed anywhere other than Portland House. It was great to see Rod and Denise again and they made us feel as welcome as ever. Shortbread, cakes and a cuppa on arrival...More

Thank Jay-n-Sal
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 1 week ago

We always look forward to the Keswick Beer Festival because we know we will have a house full of guests that have now become friends. Although you didn't all know each other at first, the fact that you have all re-booked again for next year...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second year in a row we have had a wonderful stay. Hosts are great, breakfast fantastic and rooms so clean and everything is thought of. Husband very happy because he got extra bacon today! Will defo book for next year's festival.More

Thank Monica W
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 1 week ago

It was good to see you again for the festival - so pleased the weather was brilliant and you were able to participate in the events this year. Thank you for posting this review - glad the extra bacon went down well (excuse the pun!)...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Keswick
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
$49 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$49 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (57)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (13)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Shantanu N
July 26, 2015|
Answer
Response from Rodden10 | Property representative |
Hi We have some limited parking but there is plenty of unrestricted on-road parking surrounding our house and guests do not have a problem. Hope that helps Denise
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Any, all very good, but Room 1 ground floor is where we always stay. Excellent bathroom :-"
Read review
"All rooms will be immaculate no matter which one you get."
Read review
"Single room is an excellent option for solo travellers"
Read review
"Room 3, 4, 5 or 6 are the ones to choose."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing