We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 421: English reviews
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 31, 2016

We had a great stay in December the room was very clean, and comfortably, the only downer was this room faced the alleyway down to the nightclub and sports bar so we had noise in the wee dark hours..... On the other hand the hotel is friendly and comfortable and the food was excellent, plus a very good breakfast all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElaineG973
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on a pre christmas break. Very good value for money. Great rooms and bathrooms. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Excellent location.Had a lovely afternoon tea in the pub opposite which was included in the deal and had an evening meal which was also included. Good variety of bars close to hand. Great Wetherspoons around the corner. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rafabenitez_13
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 20, 2016 via mobile

We arrived on a Saturday when the market was in full swing. You park at the rear of the hotel and are given a permit. It's about a 50-60 metre walk depending where you get a space. The hotel is clean, tidy and food good. The staff were ok,although they are very clinical and don't attempt to make any conversation....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barnie64
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 17, 2015

It is the first time we have stayed in the Kings Arms & we weren't disappointed. There was a lovely welcome when we checked in and our room was really comfy and surprisingly quite spacious ( room 10). Dinner in the restaurant at night was really tasty & plentiful and it was lovely to sit in the cosy bar afterwards....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Byram15
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 17, 2015

Arrived 2nd December in desperation as our usual destination was unexpectedly closed. Headed for Main Street in Keswick as we knew there were many hotels in the area. At 9pm we were delighted to be able to book in for a couple of nights. Our room was on the top floor at the end of a steep staircase. Very acceptable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

Went 5th December for christmas Victorian market but was cancelled due to floods. Still, hotel was excellent. Really cosy, welcoming staff, rooms modern and slick and Spanish. Decorated tastefully for Christmas. Food in restaurant was also excellent. Thanks for a great stay. We will come back in Sumner and be staying at kings arms for definate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will be coming back to see us in the Summer. Kind Regards Leah

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 20, 2015

As we had just done some major shopping in the town and the outdoor market we wanted a drink to accompany a deserved seat in this typical pub , country style decor and busier than normal due to the pre Christmas buyers. Becoming folks that enjoy a nice ale we had Dogs Bollocks, Cumberland Sunbeam and a snack in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NORMAN E
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Norma Thank you for popping into the Kings Arms Hotel and for leaving us a great review. It sounds like a drink was just what you needed after a busy day of Christmas shopping. We hope to welcome you back to the Kings in the future. Kind Regards Leah

Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 11, 2015

We have stayed in Keswick on many occasions and never been disappointed. This last stay with our Labrador was just fabulous. We booked two nights for my husbands birthday and had a lovely time. The manager was very helpful from start to finish. We arrived earlier than the stated 3pm check-in which was not a problem. We were given the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin w w
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin Thank you for such a lovely and informative review which no doubt other people will find useful. It’s great to hear that your Labrador also stayed and was able to enjoy walking in the Lake District with you. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Leah

United Kingdom
Reviewed November 7, 2015

We dropped by here for a drink in August, when we were in Keswick.The pub had a rather cosy feel to it, but staff need to be more welcoming and sensitive to a diverse clientele, to do the place justice.We didn't feel inspired to either stay long or have dinner there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gl0balCitizen2013
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to leave us a review from your recent visit to the area, however I’m sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service that you received. I shall feed this back to the appropriate Head of Department to ensure that our service lives up to our usual high standard. I hope that you...

durham
Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

We stopped at the kings on Thursday dinnertime for a quick snack. I got the beef stew which was lean tender and loads of beef and tasted amazing.well done chef.my wife got a cheese sandwich which she also had no complaints about. We will eat there again the next time we are in keswick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geordiedaveDurham
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GeorgieDave Thanks for dining with us, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us and I shall pass your comments onto our chef. Good choice with the beef stew, it’s one of our favourites. We hope to welcome you back to the Kings in the future, for a drink, meal or overnight stay. Kind Regards Leah

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
548 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
570 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
660 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $109 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Did not stay at hotel only used restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles rowenan828, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor room if you find steep stairs difficult”
 of 5 bubbles amandarM8195JS, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“Number 9 was comfortable but up two flights of steep winding stairs”
 of 5 bubbles rochesterrambler, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“Look for a different hotel first, if this is all that's left, don't go in room 7. small and noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenw119, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the front of the hotel if you want to sleep soundly.”
 of 5 bubbles Ttaylo3, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question