We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Keswick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hostel is in a great location. They are still doing the remedial works after the floods so some of it wasn't open when we stayed. Although it is all due to open soon. Still it was a lovely stay as always.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenW1234
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although it is awful what happened last year, the hostel is not fully ready and equipped for the number of beds. There is one heavily crowded kitchen/common area and only half the showers function. This makes the morning and bit of an ordeal. Ideally the occupancy should be halved to make a comfortable non stresful experience. Would recommend staying in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riccardobrooks
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Hi there Riccardo, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your stay with us over the New Year period. Firstly, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend in Keswick and that we were able to play a part in that. We find it regretful that you thought the hostel ill-equipped but New Year was...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was our very first stay at a hostel and we were very pleasantly surprised by the comfort and convenience of our stay. While the rooms were a little dusty as the hostel used carpet floors, the heater worked well for us. We booked a private room and the toilet and showers were just opposite us. The toilets and showers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rende410
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, rende410. We're honoured that you chose YHA Keswick to be your first hostel and thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We expect refurbishments to be complete and the hostel to be running better than ever by March of 2017 - we hope you'll consider visiting again...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On my 5x night stay as solo traveller. Staff very helpful. Self Service Kitchen Perfect. Renovations did not prevent me from having a good time! All good for the future when finished in March 2017. I look forward to staying with you in the New Year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasontonymorris
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review Jason - we look forward to welcoming you over the New Year!

Stotfold, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 13, 2016

The Keswick hostel was under repair/refurbishment during our stay at this hostel, the staff were very helpful and accommodating thank you and we look forward to going back next year to see the finished refurb

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith y
Orla S, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your stay at YHA Keswick. We're please you found the staff to be helpful and accommodating during your stay. The refurbishment should be completed in March and we look forward to sharing our new facilities with you then. YHA Keswick

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed December 5, 2016

I spent three nights at Keswick Youth Hostel with friends in a private room with 3 beds. The room was clean and spacious, the beds were comfortable with the added benefit of linen being provided. Showers and toilets were close by and were in ample supply and clean. It was great being able to use the public areas in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank euanross
Orla S, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of YHA Keswick. We're pleased you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, toilets and showers in ample supply and the hostel over all to be fantastic value for money. Although we are still undergoing refurbishment we've recently opened the new Self Catering Kitchen on the ground floor, so if you visit again you'll...

Eaglescliffe
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

We came here last year a few days before the devastating floods so felt we had to show our support as it was partly open. The place is warm and welcoming, we struggled to find the temporary entrance in the dark as we didn't see the direction sign. Facilities are limited but they tell you when you book. Members kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
Orla S, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. It's really nice to hear of your support for YHA Keswick and your continued visits to us. The renovations are progressing in stages, which means we now have the new Self Catering Kitchen open on the ground floor. The rest of the renovations (both ground floor and first floor)...

Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Amazing view of the stream just in front of our room, such a pleasant and nature-like sound especially during night time. Friendly staffs and good kitchenware appliances. I would recommend visitors to stay here for the good service. Thank you YHA Keswick!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzati Y
Orla S, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. We're pleased that you enjoyed listening to the sound of the river from your bedroom and found the staff to be friendly. We hope you'll pop back and see us again soon. YHA Keswick Team

Reviewed November 1, 2016

I had a great stay there in May 2016. My two friends and I stayed in a shared single sex room. The atmosphere, cleanliness, and comfort of the place made the stay really nice. It was close to a central buss station, had a nice view and was in a beautiful area. The only problem was that the internet didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adinomel
keswickmanager, Team Member at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us earlier this year, adinomel! We're pleased to hear the hostel was to your liking and that you put our prime location to good use. Situated in the centre of Keswick, guests have easy access to the charming market town while at the same time being just a few miles...

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Visited Keswick YHA last week. The hostel has been hit very strongly by the floods. The staff are so very helpful and nothing is a bother to them. The ground floor is still out of bounds but they have built a small kitchen in one of the rooms which is quite adequate until the main kitchen is fully up and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleRabbit
keswickmanager, Team Member at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, NewcastleRabbit! Unfortunately you just missed your old friend, Rachael from Hawkshead, who started working with us this week...do pop in and say hi next time you're in the area! We appreciate your patience and optimistic attitude towards our refurbishment process - we're expecting everything to be finished by March 2017 and it's looking...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
165 reviews
14.4 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
326 reviews
5.9 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $23 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from YHA Keswick staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Always had a good experience at YHA Keswick. Been on numerous occasions.”
 of 5 bubbles jasontonymorris, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“ask for top floor over looking the River Greta”
 of 5 bubbles joy211, Apr 11, 2016 | Read review
“Take a drink on the balcony overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles DGY-Eaglescliffe, Nov 26, 2015 | Read review
“Go to a B&B instead!”
 of 5 bubbles valuematters, Oct 8, 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to share, get a separate room, the extra price is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles R610TIstevenm, Sep 26, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay