We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Burnside B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Burnside B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

561 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 560: English reviews
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Burnside is still my favourite B&B. Sharon is a wonderful hostess who really cares that you have a good stay. It had been a while since we had been able to visit so it was lovely to catch up. We took my parents and they thoroughly enjoyed it . Sharon takes time for all of her guests and remembers things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonathanMary
Manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago

Another wonderful stay at Burnside, our home from home in the Lake District. Fantastic welcome, brilliant breakfasts and the kind of hospitality you can only dream of, unless you, like us, visit Burnside! Go on, you know it makes sense...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjw_md
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Peter Katherine & Joshua, I'm delighted you all had fun once again it was an absolute pleasure to welcome you all into our home & as you mentioned your second home, I'm touched!! Perfect weather for November who to ask for more with bright crisp sunny days stunning!! It's always so lovely to see you both again & now...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from another brilliant weekend away in the Lakes. We only stayed here for 2 nights but we wish we could have stayed for longer! From the start, Pete and Sharon make you feel at home with their gracious hospitality - on hand to recommend local walks and places to eat. Their B&B is truly charming, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank flavouruswoolly
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi James, I'm delighted you had a wonderful time here in Keswick & the sun was shinning for the day you did your lovely walk round the lake. Thank you very much for your amazing comments I'm touched & delighted you enjoyed staying here. As you both have a sweet tooth I'll look forward to making you my famous waffles...

Reviewed November 2, 2016

This was a charming traditional, B&B, and we must call out the excellence of the breakfasts! (Don't leave without trying the banana waffle!) It was clean and bright, and well appointed, and very welcoming. Our hostess provided special maps, touring and eating advice and a very cheerful stay. It is quite close to the Castlerigg Stone Circle, which we found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia U
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Cecilia, Many thank for taking the time to post us a lovely review I'm delighted you enjoyed your time here at Burnside & it was my pleasure meeting you both. Hope you'll get time to come & stay with us again soon. Best Wishes, Sharon.xx

MIDDLESBROUGH
Reviewed November 2, 2016

We stayed here recently and found this guest house to be in a perfect location. Not only was the accommodation very clean and comfortable, but tastefully decorated throughout inline with a period property. We had a fabulous breakfast, perfect for a long days walking on the fells. Sharon is lovely and very welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill J
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Gill, Thank you so very much for a really lovely review it was my pleasure having you in our home. I'm so pleased you were able to enjoy all the Autumn colours at their best & the sun is still shinning,long may it last. Lets hope you'll get time to come & enjoy them next year & hope to...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Stayed here for 6 nights with friends, rooms 2 and 4. Both rooms spotless and spacious . Beds comfortable and all facilities good. Beware of the teddy it moves every day a lovely little touch and even more fun if you enter into the spirit of things and move it as well. The breakfast was lovely and Sharon could not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bierlein
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Shirley, Thank you all firstly for choosing to stay here at Burnside as I really loved having you all in our home! I'm delighted you all enjoyed staying here & hope I'll get the chance to meet you all again soon. Who knows what ted will do if you return!!!! Best Wishes, Sharon.xx

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Burnside for 3 nights this September. Immaculately clean and cosy, and everything you could want in the room. Breakfast was amazing! So many options, and Sharon was always on hand to give advice on trips/things to do. It's in the perfect location to Keswick town centre - within easy walking distance, or 2 mins in the car...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine_McElroy
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Catherine, Many thank for taking the time to post us a lovely review I'm delighted you enjoyed your time here at Burnside & it was my pleasure meeting you both. Hope you'll get time to come & stay with us again soon. Best Wishes, Sharon.xx

brandon, ms
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. Room was comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Lake District is just beautiful. The B&B was within easy walking distance of keswick, although it's quite hilly there as expected. The walk back from town is a bit uphill. Only a consideration if your legs are tired from hiking all day! 😜

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jnyoimd
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Jnyoimd, I'm so pleased you enjoyed staying in our home/B&B. Delighted you were able to do plenty of walking as the weather had been kind to us this year. Hope you'll get chance to come & do some more so I'll meet you both again soon. Best Wishes, Sharon.x

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2016

As always Sharon looked after us so well it feels like a second home! A lovely breakfast and the beds are so comfortable, great after a long walk in the rain! We can't wait to come back - we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeilaAlex1
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Alex & Leila, Thanks very much as always for a lovely review & looking forward to seeing you both in a few weeks time & hearing all about your holiday. Best Wishes, Sharon.xx

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 23, 2016

Another return visit to a wonderful B&B. We were made so welcome and looked after, we had a wonderful time. Everything is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were delicious (as usual). We feel we are visiting friends now. Thank you Sharon for making our stay in May so memorable. It was simply a pleasure to stay with you again for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A K
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Thank you AK for once again a great review. Delighted you both enjoyed your mini moon here at Burnside. Looking forward to seeing you both again very soon. Best Wishes, Sharon.xx

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#5 of 177 in Keswick
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#10 of 177 in Keswick
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#11 of 177 in Keswick
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $100 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Burnside B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room 2 and 4 both good”
 of 5 bubbles Bierlein, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 faces away from the main road near the B&B so is better to avoid Traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Harry-Roam, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“rooms with windows facing the front are larger but you may hear the occasional car”
 of 5 bubbles simari, Jun 26, 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 is spacious”
 of 5 bubbles jwardle1, Jun 13, 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are much smaller than others”
 of 5 bubbles YGossa, May 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay