We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Burnside B&B

Certificate of Excellence
Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Burnside B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 539: English reviews
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our third time staying at Burnside, and it never disappoints. The b&b is just ten minutes walk from beautiful Keswick town centre down a lovely wooded footpath, and 10 minutes in the other direction takes you to castlerigg stone circle, so the location is great. Sharon is a fantastic host, she is always ready with great advice on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emj2201
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Emily, Thanks once again for a lovely review it's always a great pleasure to see you both & thanks for choosing here for part of you honeymoon. Best Wishes to you both, Sharon.xx More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a glorious 3 night stay in this lovely B&B, Sharon couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful even recommended a local jewellery store to us where my fiance and I purchased the most beautiful ring and got engaged. Thanks a million Sharon for making it a great stay that we'll always remember. Xx

Helpful?
Thank Sally H
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Sally, It was an absolute pleasure having you both here in our home & thank you very much for a lovely review. I'll always remember both of you also as I had the pleasure of hearing about all your special plans for the future,I wish you all the very best & hope to see you again if you get... More 

London,England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is a slate fronted house, adjacent to two other B&Bs in the narrower, quieter part of Penrith road. Our room on the top floor ( you should not mind stairs but walkers usually don't) was bright, tastefully decorated, impeccably clean and very spacious. OUr room had a sofa where we sat down to read and have a cup... More 

Helpful?
Thank simari
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Simara, Thank you so much for an amazing review it was an absolute pleasure to welcome you both into our home. I hope you have enjoyed the rest of your holiday & hope you'll get the chance to come to the lakes again some day. Best Wishes to you both, Sharon.xx More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had an amazing 4 night stay for my mum's birthday in March (very overdue review). Sharon was so helpful - from exceptional breakfasts to fantastic recommendations for walks and things to do. I would highly recommend to everyone. Beautiful part of the world as well.

Helpful?
Thank nalvite
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Nalvite, Where has all that time gone, it's been a while like you say. Many thanks for posting us a lovely review I'm delighted you both had a great time. Hope you'll get time to come back soon. Best Wishes, Sharon.xx More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Stayed at burnside for the first time from 10th-13th june what an excellent b&b. Sharon couldn't do enough for us . She makes a brilliant breakfast and our room we could not fault. With the personal touches that she leaves in the room and her warm smiling face that greets us each morning makes us feel so welcome and we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jwardle1
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi June, Thanks so much for a really brilliant review it does mean so much to us. It was my pleasure helping you both find all the best places to visit ect. I'll look forward to welcoming you both again when you're able to find time to come back. Best Wishes, Sharon.xx More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Once again stayed at Burnside 04th year running, and wont be the last, When you stay at Burnside it is so warm and comforting, just like home. You will receive a warm welcome form Sharon & Peter Who are so helpful it may not be in the heart of Keswick but is well worth the 20 minute walk into the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pam01110
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Pamela & Jimmy, Once again a huge thank you to you both for staying with us once again. You've taken time to post us a brilliant review again which is very kind of you. I'm delighted you got fantastic weather for your 3 days here once again & hope to see you again weather at the beer festival or... More 

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

My wife and I stayed here from 28th - 31st May and have no hesitation in recommending this high quality accommodation. The room we stayed in ( number 2) was furnished tastefully and had everything we could need during our stay. The town centre is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away and offers many different places to eat or drink.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BE4gle
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Barry, Many thanks for a lovely review it was my pleasure. Hope you're well rested & hope to see you both again very soon. Best Wishes, Sharon.xx More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

We booked for an Easter break away and were not disappointed. Wonderful hosts who were more than helpful and obliging to our interest in the area. We were given maps and suggestions for events for the week we were there. The food was amazing and setting just perfect. Only a short walk along the railway line into Keswick this B... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArkiCambridge
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Arki, I'm delighted you enjoyed staying here & found all my tips helpful. Thanks so much for taking the time to post us a lovely review. Hope you will have time to come & see us again & your little friend will be ready for you.lol Best Wishes, Sharon. xx More 

Bedworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

We stayed at Burnside for 5 nights and it was perfect for us. The accommodation had everything we needed in a comfortable, friendly atmosphere. Sharon's delicious Full English Breakfast set us up for a days walking and we found the location ideal. In the evening we had plenty of choice for food, based on our hosts recommendation.

Helpful?
Thank YGossa
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

Hi Graham, Thanks for taking the time to post a great review it really helps. I'm delighted you had a great time here & I'm so pleased you got great weather to do all your panned walks. Hope you'll get time to come & see us again once the decorating is finished. Best Wishes, Sharon.x More 

Liverpool couple
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

Just back from our 3rd stay at the Burnside and Sharon and Pete excelled themselves again. The room really has everything you require for an extremely comfortable stay. The breakfasts are beautifully cooked and nothing is too much trouble. Sharon's local knowledge and advice was very useful ( she really does know the best places to eat). Can honestly say... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holmlands
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you both again & I'm pleased the weather held for you. Pleased you took my advise on places to eating out as you had some great meals. Hope you get the chance to come & visit us again soon. Best Wishes, Sharon.x More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#7 of 179 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#1 of 179 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
1.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 179 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $100 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay