We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverside Hotel

Expedia.com$103*
View Deal
#4 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Riverside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

997 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 987: English reviews
Long Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

Moderately priced. Very clean with attentive staff. Typical run of the mill hotel with decent food and average rooms. Good central location for other parts of the lake districts. Decent spa and nice views!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, although we do aim for a little higher than simply run of the mill! We're pleased you had a nice stay though. Thank you.

Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

Three stars is about right for this hotel. We were in room 110 which was large and had a nice river view. The room was a bit too warm and the safe was unusable as the last guest had closed it and we were told there was no handyman to fix it. In the end there was no handyman for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott1421
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay and taking the time to post your review. We appreciate the feedback and wish you had had a better stay with us. I am pleased to read your comments about our staff and we'll all set to work to up our game on the back of your comments. Thank you.

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 21, 2017

With a friend of mine we decided to stay for a couple of days in a lovely looking hotel by the river Kent. We have extended our stay as the experience was exactly what we needed. Lovely swimming pool, sauna and gym. The room was very spacious, beds comfortable and the service really professional and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank enigma2904
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Acting on one's impulse is sometimes exactly the required course of action for a relaxing break in a comfortable hotel like ours. I'm delighted you did so and had such a nice time that you ended up staying a bit longer. Thanks for taking the time to post your review and hope to welcome you back again. Thank you.

preston
Reviewed March 20, 2017

With a couple of days to go, our weekend away with friends at the Newby Bridge hotel was cancelled by the company and we were offered rooms at the Riverside in Kendal. I have nothing against Kendal, we spend quite a lot of time there but it wasn't my place or venue of choice and I went with more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snigglecleet
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

How often people drive right by poor old Kendal and into the Lakes. It is understandable, but as you now know, Kendal is a wonderful place to stay and an excellent gateway for forays into the Lakes. It also punches well above its weight as a small market town with a lot to offer. Although it was an error that...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Arrived Friday afternoon. Quick checkin and general information Room is good. Kendall suite deprecate bedroom with ensuite bathroom and separate sitting room Furniture in good order. Lots of storage View of river from windows. Restaurant is clean and staff friendly Bar is cosy and relaxing Prices are average for a hotel Location is excellent for Kendall centre Enjoyable relaxing couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanRawl
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for spending a relaxing weekend with us. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your accommodation with us; it's a great room for views and relaxing! I'm pleased you enjoyed the bar and restaurant and appreciate your mention of our staff. Hope to welcome you back again. Thank you.

Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at the riverside hotel. It was perfect. Off street parking, friendly welcoming staff and a lovely room. Only down points, the room was very hot! We had to put the fan on in the night, and the heating wasn't even on. Also the shower leaked a little bit but that's nothing of major concern. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexlou88
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review and stay. I'm delighted you had an enjoyable time and appreciate all of your nice comments. Thanks for the feedback about the room temp and shower as well. Next time you visit, do make sure to bring your swimming costume, and your dog too! Thanks again.

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Our first stay at the Riverside - really enjoyed it! Excellent location, just a few minutes walk to the town, with good free parking too. Staff on Reception really friendly and welcoming, as were staff in the bar, and at breakfast. We were in Kendal just for one day/evening - we ate in the Tannery Bar, and received a £10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluesboy52
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review and 5 star rating. We're delighted you had such a lovely birthday stay with us and that you enjoyed our location, food and hard working staff! We'll look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Lovely hotel. Very welcoming. Room comfortable with everything you'd need and a lovely river view. Very short walk into town and close to Kendal castle, well worth a visit. Evening meal was delicious. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointing farse. Had to ask for cups at the table, tea bags and water for the boiler...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice review and feedback about breakfast. It can get busy when everyone decides to come down at the same time and we are always looking for ways to improve. I am so pleased you had a nice stay though and hope to welcome you back again! Thank you.

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile

My husband booked overnight as a birthday treat we arrived very early but that was not a problem we where in our room by 12 noon staff very helpful and very friendly Room had river view very spacious,comfy bed very nice we did have a sandwich which was very good.Good breakfast plenty of choice good service highly recommend this hotel.Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueken62
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for spending your birthday with us. We're delighted you had such a nice stay and cannot thank you enough for your comments about our staff, location and accommodation. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope to welcome you back again.

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 25, 2017

Stayed one night while walking the Dales Way. Room was comfortable and a good location near the train station. Didn't eat as the place wasn't as dog friendly as we had hoped and couldn't take our dog with us into the eating areas. Only told us later we could have had breakfast elsewhere with our dog. A bit disappointing really.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie A
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting. I'm sorry we didn't make it clearer to you that you could have eaten breakfast (or lunch/dinner for that matter) with your dog, in our bar. We appreciate the review and hope you'll consider visiting us again in the future Thank you.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

379 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (184)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Room (21)
Viewed
Suite (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)
Viewed
Twin Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
985 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: $118 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Riverside Hotel staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Great views and comfortable beds that provided a good night's sleep.”
468marieg, 1 week ago | Read review
“I was allocated a room accessed by stairs but with a stairs A lift near to the room but a flight of stairs to access the restaurant”
jonnymacwirralUK, 1 week ago | Read review
“if possible Get a room with a view over the river and the bridge, great on a sunny morning”
kenle2016, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a river view. We got one without asking, but it was lovely to look out over the water”
Ragman270569, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“High floor for better views.”
jackiep659, Apr 20, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$103* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$103
HotelQuickly$170
Travelocity$103
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates