We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonecross Manor Hotel

{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wheelchair access
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Leeds-Bradford Airport54 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
228
291
158
64
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
228
291
158
64
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed travelzoo offer steam room and jacuzzi groupon deal evening meal lovely hotel spa facilities set menu birthday treat booked this hotel salmon plenty of parking one night stay room was clean and comfortable lake district food was lovely a lovely stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 800 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I phoned & booked a king room. On our arrival we checked in & was told the usual things like evening meals times & breakfast times. We booked 7pm for dinner as we had booked dinner bed & breakfast. We then proceeded to our room...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Cgrainger70
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

It was not good the beef sandwich was tough the cake selection was chocolate chocolate not a selection of cakes as a person who doesn't really like chocolate cakes it was awful the only good thing was the scone and then he didn't have butter...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Liz S
Response from stonecross, Regional operations manager at Stonecross Manor HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Liz S Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit and am sorry you were disappointed with your afternoon tea. We always receive such rave reviews regarding our afternoon tea. I would appreciate if you could contact me to discuss further so I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a weekend recently. The building is lovely and so was our room. Most of the staff were great. However, the breakfasts relay let them down. The choice was fine but the quality was definitely standard chain hotel stuff. None of it was...More

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank johnl69
Response from stonecross, Regional Operations Manager at Stonecross Manor HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear johnl69 Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us and pleased you were happy with your room and surroundings. With regards to breakfast I am sorry you were disappointed with this. We cook all food from fresh and usually have excellent feedback...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow how things have changed since our last visit! It's almost 3 years since our last visit & the hotel has had an amazing makeover the dining area, reception & guest lounge is stunning. We had a lovely renovated room on the 1st floor the...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Maria C
Response from stonecross, Regional Operations Manager at Stonecross Manor HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Maria C Thank you for your lovely review following your return visit and so pleased you are impressed with the change following our refurb. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kibd regards All the team at Stonecross

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Needed somewhere to stay as working in the area for a few weeks. The hotel seemed well located so chose to stay. Indeed was right. Location is ideal, not far off the M6 and close to Kendal town. I was surprised how modern the hotel...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Paulieh1879
Response from stonecross, Regional Operations Manager at Stonecross Manor HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your terrific review following your recent stay with us. It is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback. I am delighted you approve of our recent changes and look forward to welcoming you back again next week.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
smitzy11
June 2, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 366kevenh | Reviewed this property |
No I don’t think so
0
Votes
Andy R
December 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from northernstarajs |
As of July 2018, the refurbishment is still happening. I've just stayed in an unfurnished room - not good.
1
Vote
Nina G
August 31, 2017|
Answer
Response from Heldn | Reviewed this property |
I never said anything about this subject I gave a good review !!!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for a quiet room."
johnl69
1 week ago
Read review
"Mountain view is quite lovely, very tranquil"
kym590
Oct 18, 2018
Read review
"Book and check online"
388keitha
Jul 19, 2018
Read review
"Room 105 has a four poster bed and a large bath plus shower over top"
julies159
May 8, 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stonecross manor kendalhotel stonecross manor
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictKendal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing