We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

YHA Hawkshead

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Hawkshead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Needed a family room in the lakes but when looking no where seemed to accommodate a room where all 5of is could sleep. And the ones that would were around £200+ a night. I stumbled across the yha hostel and for a special of £50 a night I thought 'what's the worst that can happen!!' I was so happy with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mnsavage .
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, I'm glad you had a great time and we hope to see you here again! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

3 night stay in one of the new camping pods. Great location- just outside Hawkshead so very central for lots of activities in the area, we definitely made use of our national trust membership! Camping Pod- very cosy- don't worry about being cold, lovely view of the tipis in the camping field, fire pits and wood provided (unfortunately we never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Milly H
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the pods. Thanks for your feedback on the rest of the hostel too- we are working to improve the facilities we offer our guests and your comments are very helpful. We hope to see you here again. More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's sad that a place like this, located in a fantastic environment, is so badly looked after. We stayed in room 8 and the outdoor that goes to the corridor has a big hole, almost falling into pieces. The room is smelly and looks that it has cleaned a long time ago; the carpet is filthy and the bathroom is... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Fersan
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I'm sorry to hear you feel the hostel is badly looked after. We continually strive to improve the offering to our guests and update and repair our facilities. There is no excuse for cobwebs and grease however and it's a shame that you found both during your stay. If you... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was my first time back here since my childhood when I often visited with friends, and this time I brought my family. We stayed here for one night in a family pod and had an excellent time the pod had a double and 2 single beds and was quite spacious. Everything was available on site within 30 seconds walk,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin481111
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stat with us and we look forward to seeing you here again soon More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here before a race in the Langdale valley and it was a lovely spot, very close to Grizedale forest. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was home cooked and delicious. Very reasonably priced to stay and eat here. There is a separate little bunk barn with rooms separate to the main house which offers private... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicehelena1208
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you here again before too long. More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

The camping site is very clean and provides sufficient grounds for kids to play, and adults to do their BBQ etc, I used a disposable BBQ and my family enjoyed it a lot. The staff was very nice, and the toilets had good supply of toiletries. I had already booked the breakfast, which was good, although the bacon was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Imranaziz
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Stayed in own family tent over may weekend. The location of the hostel is pleasant and quite handy for Hawkshead village where we had tea in the local pub on the first evening. Showers were good and warm, there is also a drying room available for wet clothing and a kitchen that campers are free to use to prepare meals... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tobias62
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

Because I was traveling alone i was subjected to funny looks & comments from yha staff! Rooms were standard, facilities terrible, no where near as good as other yha establishments in the Lakes! Staff were terrible, must reiterate that, I will not be returning! Also the hostel was further from the village than stated!

Helpful?
Thank BillyB232016
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to hear than you encountered issues with my staff. Lone visitors are not uncommon and always receive the same high levels of customer service as all our other guests. We are constantly striving to improve the offering to our guests and it's a shame that we did not... More 

Warrington,England
Level Contributor
292 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend in dorms which were typical YHA standard. The lounge and dining room tended to get taken over each night by a large party of female teachers so we had to set up in the seperate self catering room which isnt very condusive to spending any length of time in it. Breakfast was ok but... More 

Helpful?
Thank The_Crofter
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

This was our first time in a pod. My two young boys loved it. The pods were clean and warm and spider free (for mum)! Definitely going to go again. Having full use of the hostel facilities was useful but we enjoyed cooking on our camp stove and having a bbq.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathmars1975
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
5.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
3.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 2,445 reviews
4.1 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
7.0 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Hawkshead is a regency mansion set in stunning grounds overlooking tranquil Esthwaite water. We are located one mile south of Hawkshead village, known as "the prettiest village in Lakeland".We offer private and family rooms as well as dormitory accommodation. Spread across two buildings, there is a lounge, games room, drying room and self- catering kitchen. We offer evening meals and breakfast, to be enjoyed in our spacious dining rooms overlooking the garden. Picnic lunches are also available for a day in the fells. We are fully licensed and offer a range of local beers, lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks.We have a small shop, selling a range of gifts, souvineers, maps, guides, snacks and basic food provisions for those wishing to self- cater.Our helpful and friendly staff have a wealth of knowledge on the area and can assist you in planning your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Hawkshead

Address: Ambleside, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Price Range: $25 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Hawkshead 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your YHA Hawkshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Hawkshead Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay