We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveler (33)
Room & Suite (23)
Storyboard
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“bunk room”(9 reviews)
“well stocked bar”(11 reviews)
“film night”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Thorney How
Offers & Announcements: Wine and Meal Deal
Offers from Thorney How
Offers & Announcements: Wine and Meal Deal
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
121
44
13
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
121
44
13
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk roomwell stocked barfilm nightindependent hostelchicken pieself catering kitchencoast to coastfriendly catshouse catslocal lagerbottled drinksuniversity studentsown mealshigher priced hotelsmodern additioncommunal showersguest kitchen
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

People running the place are obnoxious, unhelpful and horrible to deal with. Facilities weren’t as advertised and we generally felt (group of seven) unwelcome. Never come back here again. It is a shame as I have some fantastic memories of the Lake District and it’s...More

Thank J D
Response from TaylorNuttall, Owner at Thorney HowResponded 1 week ago

On the first night of their stay J D and his group were in breach of our terms and conditions. The larger group arriving late at around 10pm. As it was late it was expedient to resolve the issue quickly. We were within our rights...More

Property's Favorite Review
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

We picked Thorney How to stay as we were aware of it’s location, 10 minute walk from Grasmere centre and at the foot of Helm Crag so perfect base for many walks. We stayed in an ensuite double room (Room 2) in the main house....More

Thank Ralfre
Response from TaylorNuttall, Owner at Thorney HowResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you so much Ralfre What a pleasure it is to receive such a thoughtful and helpful review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to submit this. We are confident that...More

Reviewed April 8, 2018

Lovely people run this place, clean accommodation, good pizzas for pizza night and a great location! We had a family en-suite room and the bunks were really comfy. Had a really good night's sleep and a good breakfast was included.More

Thank vanessa771
Response from TaylorNuttall, Owner at Thorney HowResponded April 9, 2018

Hi vanessa771 Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. hopefully you may choose to stay with us again sometime soon :-) For information, please note that our excellent home made...More

Reviewed April 7, 2018

Much better than I expected, first time for us in a hostel - clean, comfortable and with great facilities. Great dormitory room for our family and good value for money. Great walk from the door to Easedale tarn and waterfall. Would definitely return.

Thank slou2015
Reviewed January 17, 2018

Wasn't going to leave a review but here goes. Lovely old building sparingly restored. Excellent outbuilding for bike storage. I was hoping to use this for longer to avoid having to hide my bike in the car while I walked up Helvellyn. In the end...More

Thank JanStetka
Response from TaylorNuttall, Owner at Thorney HowResponded April 11, 2018

Hi JanStetka This is an update to a previous response. We are very pleased to say that the road has now been repaired by Cumbria County Council. Whilst we are not entirely satisfied with the quality of the work done, it is certainly an improvement....More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Grasmere, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$78 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$78 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (33)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Thorney How staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Book early to get a choice they have a range of rooms available with ensuite if thats your thing"
Read review
"go for the en suite rooms with a view, and eat some meals there"
Read review
"Rooms are overpriced and noisy. Would not recommend if allergic to/ dislike cats- one climbs through windows..."
Read review
"Just go for it."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing