We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (67)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Chestnut Villa comprises eight cosy rooms, each with en-suite shower or bath. The rooms all come with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV and hairdryers. Each room offers a panoramic view of the surrounding fells - a vista that can also be enjoyed from the large, comfortable visitors’ lounge and spacious dining room.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
14Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
296Reviews
0Q+A
60Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 237
  • 50
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chestnut Villa is located in a convenient place to explore The Lakes just on the edge of Grasmere on the Keswick Road. On our arrival we received a lovely warm welcome from the owner Mike who showed us to our amazing room. We were in the Superior King which is decorated in a modern contemporary design with wonderful furnishings and the biggest bathroom ever with a freestanding tub and huge shower. The room and the whole property is immaculately clean throughout. The views are amazing too. Breakfast is great with a good selection of continental items and the delicious freshly cooked hot breakfast is made to order. I have stayed at countless B&Bs in The Lakes over the years and this is the best one by far. Thanks to Mike and the team for a great stay, we will definitely be back.
Read more
Response from ChestnutVillaCumbria, Manager at Chestnut Villa
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Annie Thank you for writing this great review, I'm really happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with it, it's really important to us that people are happy with the accommodation. We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thanks, Mike
Read more
We stayed for one night on the Coast to Coast walk. Mike was the perfect host taking our wet boots to dry and cooked a wonderful breakfast to order . To top it all the room gave us terrific views of the Fells.
Read more
Response from ChestnutVillaCumbria, Manager at Chestnut Villa
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Mike Thank you for for leaving a great review on here for us, it was a pleasure and I'm really glad you had a nice time with us. Thank you, Mike
Read more
We stayed at Chestnut Villa for one night while we were on the Coast to Coast. We had a great room with lovely bathroom with separate shower and bath (very welcome after a day's walking). The place is spotless and the breakfast has lots of options. Mike the owner is very friendly, relaxed and professional. Definitely recommend.
Read more
Chestnut Villa is excellent. I turned up at short notice and the staff were very obliging, showing me two optional rooms before I made my decision Beautiful room, tasty breakfast and friendly staff. I will definitely return.
Read more
Response from ChestnutVillaCumbria, Manager at Chestnut Villa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi John, thank you for taking the time to write this review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to welcoming you here again sometime in the future. Hopefully, the weather will be just at good next time! Thanks, Mike
Read more
Stayed for two nights either side of climbing Scafell Pike, which is a good hour and 30 mins drive from here. After booking had a lovely email from Mike and as equally warm greeting on arrival. The rooms as a good size, good quality beds and a fantastic breakfast in the morning. Well maintained accommodation that I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend. It is situated on a main road but is absolutely silent in the evenings. Nice 5 minute walk to the centre of the village. Great accommodation.
Read more
Response from ChestnutVillaCumbria, Manager at Chestnut Villa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it helps us a lot. I'm really glad you had a nice time staying with us, we try hard to make sure everyone has a nice time so it's good when you get positive feedback. Thanks again, good luck with the three peaks, thanks, Mike
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chestnut villa hotel grasmere
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictGrasmere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing