We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

YHA Ambleside

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EU, England
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Ambleside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 255: English reviews
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Usually stay in a premier inn however this came up in a search. Would def return as it was a fab price and everything you could want especially the views ! Family of 4 and we had our own room with 2 bunks and ensuite shower and toilet.

Helpful?
Thank moifel
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for three nights, our first experience in a youth hostel as a family and it was brilliant. The staff were really welcoming, the facilities clean and tidy and the atmosphere was friendly. The views are great overlooking the lake and the on site restaurant offers a good variety of tasty food for all the family. Our 4 year... More 

Helpful?
Thank LisaBic
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a night visiting the lakes on a UK tour. Having seen that the hostel actually overlooked Windermere we perhaps over estimated the romantic appeal when we booked. In reality it was over crowded, full to breaking point and besieged by school groups that congregated in hoards dominating every available common area. We took santuary in our room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gorwydd
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our lively hostel, we hope that your next stay in one of the Youth Hostels in our network is more to your liking. More 

Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Group of 9 of us stayed there in July. The location is absolutely stunning over looking the lake. A great place to have a few pre walk into town beers on the water front. Staff was very good & pleasant. A very good cheap hostel to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Jezzs123
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your beer with a view, we love it too! More 

Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very clean newly refurbished rooms and wash facility's, only gripe was the £5.25 breakfast, mega busy on our 3 visits for it, quality ok but by the time you'd got sorted me found. Seat it was nearly cold! Also you're not given a lot but you can go back! If you can!! Would use again though

Helpful?
Thank Sknab
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

We hope to see you again.....and hopefully next time you come breakfast wont be quite so busy and you'll find a seat while it's still hot hot hot! More 

Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel locates perfectly with bus stop closeby and facing lake windemere at the front. It is very busy, but the shared toilets and shower rooms are kept clean. The self-catering kitchen is well-equipped and super clean as well. The free wifi is speedy. It is a terrific experience staying here.

Helpful?
Thank rubyihy
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

This is great to read, thanks! More 

London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived quite early for the Great North Swim recently and were looking to find a place to have a pre-race cup of tea and use the toilets. We checked at the tea room next to the ferry and they weren't open yet, so we went to the YHA. The staff were lovely - they opened up the cafe a... More 

Helpful?
Thank abroad123
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your morning with us and congratulations on completing the swim. Just a little tip - if you would like to stay with us for the next Great North Swim get your reservation in early as we're almost sold out for the Saturday night already! :) More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

This is a perfect spot to stay and enjoy Ambleside and the surrounding mountains. The hostel has a very popular bar and restaurant attached which serves lovely home cooked food. The hostel overlooks the lake with stunning views, it is easily placed to walk into town to the local bars and restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable, we had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicehelena1208
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we're glad that you liked it here :) Please be aware that on site parking is extremely limited, but if none is available upon arrival staff will point you in the direction of nearby places to park. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Myself and friends have stayed here before which is perfect for the great north swim and we have had a lovely stay previously but this year there was a change.... Great location, great price, great facilities, great food BUT... You was let down massively by a couple of members of staff who we found to be quite rude and abrupt...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chantel F
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Chantel and congratulations on completing the Great North Swim. While being told that you cannot consume your own alcohol on site was correct (due to our licencing restrictions we cannot allow anyone to bring alcohol anywhere on site), I'm sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with some of our staff members. We... More 

The Cotswlds
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

We were not staying here but had our elderly parents with us and we wanted some refreshments. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We only wanted a quick drink and stayed for a couple of drinks and some Nachos. We had choice of normal or with Chilli we went for the standard. Service was good and the food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan G
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Alan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
2.1 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#3 of 11 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
3.9 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
2.7 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Ambleside is located right on the shore of Lake Windermere, with fantastic views across the Lake to the Langdale hills and mountains.An ideal location to explore the Lakes with Lakeside Restaurant and Bar on site and activities bookable from reception. Offering family rooms and traditional dorm accommodation. Please be aware that parking on site is very limited but staff can point you to nearby alternatives. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Ambleside

Address: Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $35 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Ambleside 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your YHA Ambleside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Ambleside Hotel Ambleside
YHA Ambleside Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay