We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Fisherbeck

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Fisherbeck
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 468: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed for two nights in room 9,arriving a little earlier than check in and we're pleased to be told that our room was ready. It was beautifully presented,clean and the bathroom was filled with shampoo,soaps and big fluffy towels. The views were stunning and the bed very comfortable,I wouldn't be surprised if it were the best room in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosynat
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From checking in to checking out we four were delighted with every aspect. The views from our balconies(not lake view but dales} From substantial breakfasts to lunch-time dishes , to drinks any time day or evenings, For smiley staff all very well trained by Ray and Gillian. For comfortable rooms and plenty of hot water in the showers /baths etc.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank patrick g
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for writing your very kind review. I think you just about covered everything I would wish anyone would say. We are a little overwhelm by your very generous praise. So thank you again and we are just so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. And we do hope we will be able... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Myself and my partner arrived at about 8.50pm Friday night! We had booked a garden room for two nights which was lovely, spotless, spacious, even the bathroom was large with a fantastic walk in shower and large bath!! Breakfast was beautiful and the owners and staff were very welcoming and friendly! We had this hotel recommended to us by my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and we are just so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Even when people recommend something you are never quite sure if you are going to have the same experience. Glad we didn't let the side down. So thanks also to your parents for the suggestion... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Second time at the Fisherbeck - and just as good as the first time. Very professional service, superb breakfasts (the choice is amazing) and a great location for exploring charming Ambleside and further afield. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Andy G
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is well located and very clean. However, it would benefit from some form of blackout as our room was very light which is not great when you need a good nights sleep after a long day od walking. Also floors are very creaky and walls very thin so you can hear everything overnight; next door snoring, next door... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon S
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. It is always a good thing for us to hear comments good, bad or indifferent. We apologise for the noise issue but I am not sure which room could have been the problem as the room next door to you has a three foot thick wall between as... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had bought this break away for my husband's birthday. We have had a fabulous 3 day break. We're greater by the manager in a very friendly manner. As our room was not quite ready we were offered tea or coffee. Within 15 minutes we were told our room was ready and did we need any help with our bags?... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your kind review and we are most pleased that you had an enjoyable stay for your husbands' birthday. We do try very hard to keep our establishment as clean as possible and our wonderful housekeeping staff do a great job. And so glad you enjoyed breakfast. There's nothing better than some hearty fare to... More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time at the Fisherbeck,easy to find with good car park,room at the rear was small but spotless with a very good shower room.thursday morning had a fair bit of outside noise with the refuse wagon collection.breakfast was very very good with excellent selection.will book again.

Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us; and breakfast. Sorry about the refuse collection noise but unfortunately that is something completely out of our control and we are just pleased that we have regular collections. We do hope you will think of us... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here many times and the warm welcome to our upgraded Garden Room by Mr and Mrs Lane was as always the perfect start to a delightful stay. Handy for the Town and the Ferry, with free car parking and the best breakfast you could wish for. Other guests were a delight and clearly enjoyed their stay as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kandersteg
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time stopping here but it won't be the last. Location excellent with free parking. Rooms are clean and well equipped Best breakfast we've had in a while with lovely serving staff. Would recommend to anybody looking for a quiet and clean stay.

Helpful?
Thank Bustergonards G
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do feel very blessed with such a great location being just about equidistant from the lake in one direction and the shops & restaurants in the other and wonderful views of the surrounding fells. The... More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just stayed for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. Great room with a lovely view over the mountains. Lovely large bathroom. Great staff. Couldn't find fault with anything! Only a short walk to the centre of Ambleside for our evenings out. Sandra and Carl

Helpful?
Thank sandra9696
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Dear Sandra. Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review and it was great to spend a little time with you both during your visit. I must admit we feel very blessed to have such lovely views from our front facing rooms and we never tire of it. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and the convenience of our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $109 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay