We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Brathay Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brathay Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 229: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visit Ambleside at least once a year and were impressed with Brathay Lodge. Very friendly staff and the rooms were very nice. It is next to the busiest road in Ambleside but the double glazing keeps the traffic noise out. It is very handy for all the restaurants and most walks from the guest house. Carol at the front... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather R
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for an excellent review were pleased you enjoyed the location and the ease of access to all restaurants etc. Room 11 (twin) is on the first floor overlooking the car park with approximately 15 steps, we think you were in room 20 top floor as it is large and overlooks the tennis courts. Thank you for your... More 

Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this place, only a week before our holiday so I was a bit sceptic as everything else was almost full. We booked a family room which was very spacious for 3 adults and one child. The room was clean and the land lord very helpful at all times. My only comment would be to leave enough toiletries in... More 

Helpful?
Thank RCZMalta
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking time to review Brathay Lodge glad you enjoyed your overall stay and apologies for the oversight with the toiletries. Glad the family room was suitable. Regards More 

Clayton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just come back from a 1 night stay at this hotel and was very pleased with our stay. Having been camping in the lakes, we ended up avoiding the Storms and booking in here. The hotel is very clean and tidy, and the owners are extremely friendly and we're very welcoming. Our room was right at the top... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodie S
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review glad we were able to accommodate you during the poor weather, i'm pleased to say the weather since has been great for camping!! We lookin forward to welcoming back to the Lakes in sunnier climates. Regards More 

Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very accessible for cars and is at the north end of lake Windermere. We found the management and staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was continental and very good. All in all an excellent base from which to see all of the Lake District.

Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review pleased you enjoyed you break in the Lakes. Regards More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Shower was too hot then too cold, to much noise from the traffic coming through. Not enough tables for breakfast in the morning. Bed linen was dirty in arrival. No one at reception after 6pm. No people skills and rude. I would not recommend this place to family and friends as its not worth the money they charge you.

Helpful?
Thank smeg290316
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

We have no recollection of this person staying at Brathay Lodge. More 

Livingston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I broke our return home from holiday to spend a Friday to Monday stay at Brathay Lodge. We were early signing in but were greeted warmly and were given a room on the second floor. I have included photographs of our bedroom and en suite, to show the very comfortable accommodation with which we were provided. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnKnox
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for an excellent review glad your first visit to Brathay was an enjoyable one and thank you for all the feedback. Each Winter when closed we generally do a large project of some form and this Winter we are extending our Wi-Fi service to all rooms! Regards More 

Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two nights here whilst sailing at Coniston. Room was very good everything that you could need the spa bath was especially nice after coming off the water after a hard days sailing and relaxing before we went out for dinner. Was also offered a discount card for the restaurant we were eating at, Continental breakfast was just great.

Helpful?
Thank Frederick F
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a very positive review glad your sailing break went well and Coniston being just 8 miles away is a great alternative to Windermere. Glad one of the many discount cards was made to good use! Regards More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A friend booked this for us, the owner was very friendly ... We stayed in room 12 which has 2 bay windows superking bed, good quality bed linen, a sofa, table and chairs dressing table and wardrobe, large spacious room with ensuite and spa bath, nice toiletries, coffee making facilities .. Complimentary bottled water .. Flat screen tv .... Bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

Overall a great stay and thank you for the feedback look forward to your next visit. Regards More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brathay lodge was a very good stay. Spacious clean rooms with power shower and spa baths. (Amaing after a day out). Tea /Coffee facilities are good. The beds do have solid mattresses so ask for topper if you like soft bed. We were on the ground floor with our own access (good) However if you want the view that draws... More 

Helpful?
Thank tracey_hamilton2
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor, were pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to meeting you again the near future. Regards More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a last minute booking and we were delighted with the welcome, the standard of the rooms, the cleanliness and the overall ambience. The breakfasts were outstanding. I have never had such fresh and good quality fruit and choice of cereals and breads. The free wifi and ample parking were real bonuses and the location is superb. An ideal... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame B
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and for giving us top marks, we look forward to welcoming you back to the lakes. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 106 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#15 of 106 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rothay Garth
Rothay Garth
#41 of 106 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#45 of 106 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Manor
Ambleside Manor
#32 of 106 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 106 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Brathay Lodge

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $111 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brathay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Brathay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brathay Hotel Ambleside
Brathay Lodge Ambleside, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay