We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

995 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 976: English reviews
doncaster
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Used a BuyaGift voucher. Beware of room 138. It is a single room with a double bed crammed in. Evident is the single bed side light and only one bedside cabinet. The bed had been pushed against the wall in order to provide more room. When the bed was moved to allow access from both sides, the carpet smelt and... More 

Helpful?
Thank peterhDoncaster
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here same time last year too, & the air-conditioning wasn't working then either! We asked for an iron and ironing board & fan, was told they'd be put in the room for us. The first 2 were propped up against the door outside, but no fan! The room was like an oven all night. Also, I would recommend that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruralretreat1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and whilst it is generally quite tired it is centrally located and provides car parking, however, do not forget to register your car registration at reception or you will receive a parking fine from the very zealous car parking company that looks after the area. I had cause to... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
David C, Customer Service Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read of your disappointment of the quality of your stay and would like to apologise on behalf of the whole team for this. I have raised your concerns with the managers concerned and they are as sorry as I am... More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with a friend for afternoon tea. The table was set beautifully but that's where the good experience ended. The sandwiches, although fresh, were very sparse and not very well filled. The mini quiche was a minute stale pastry case with a very thin layer of filling. The cake was a very small round item, just a taste! We attempted... More 

Helpful?
Thank mgoodhand55
David C, Customer Service Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. We have recently changed our Afternoon Tea offering and I have received many great comments from satisfied customers. I was therefore saddened to read that your did not have such a great time. Although the welcome you received from our long team met... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A friend of ours invited us to his wedding reception at the university of Hull. When looking around for a hotel near that, nine struck me, but this hotel looked the business and was a reasonable price, £58 for the two of us including free car parking, WiFi and breakfast. I guess you get what you pay for and what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham W
David C, Customer Service Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback of your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that you had, on the whole, an enjoyable stay. Our car parking is free to guests staying at the hotel and there are sighs informing guests of this around the front and side areas of the hotel. However this... More 

huddersfield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we decided to stay at this establishment again having enjoyed our stay so much on the last occasion,we had pre paid our booking but on our arrival their was no trace of it ,oh no! but who should appear but super sally who sat us down with a coffee,super sally doesn't have problems ! just solutions! sorted in minutes (... More 

Helpful?
Thank russellandann
David C, Customer Service Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to read that you saw continuing improvement each time you stay with us; in this industry you either progress or go down. I was especially pleased that despite the mistake with your booking our Reception Manager, Sally, was able to... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mercure isn't anything to rave about. Good location yes, clean rooms yes, quite pricey food plus tray charge which I avoided. Staff were ok and helpful enough during the stay. I booked two nights and I was called and told I cannot stay the last night which was extremely inconvenient as the other hotels apartments and airbnb were all sold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky W
David C, Customer Service Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to pst your comments from your recent stay. I was sorry to read that you did not have the greatest experience with us due to the poor handling of your booking. I have raised the issue with our reception/reservations team and they are as sorry as I am that they let you down Regards... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a premier room, which would appear to be slightly larger than standard and had a coffee maker provided. The air conditioning wasn't working, but we were given a fan. The hotel does feel dated, paintwork and furniture looking tired but they get away with it because it is not trying to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsmack2016
David C, Customer Service Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay especially enjoying your breakfast and I do hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again soon. regards David Leadley Customer Service Manager More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One can see clearly the standards to which the Mercure Group aspires in this hotel. However a number of little things detract from what would otherwise be a **** review. Stupid things like the room on the first floor had an aircon unit, that reception said upon enquiry that it no longer worked, but they could offer a fan. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank John H
David C, Customer Service Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us, I was saddened to read that your stay was marred by a series of minot issues which, by themselves, could be passed over but put together they spoilt the enjoyment you should have expected. I have raised these issues with the relevant teams and they are putting in... More 

Lincs
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our visit from the outset when the reception staff welcomed us so warmly. The room was affair size and being at the back of the hotel on the third floor we had no problem with noise even though the hotel was full and there was a birthday party on the Saturday night. The linen was good quality and... More 

Helpful?
Thank wartonmj
David C, Customer Service Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am pleased you had such an enjoyable birthday. Luke and Eniko are excellent examples of why our staff score so highly on our reviews and when you add in the 'tasty' Afternoon... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (135)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#9 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#11 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: $64 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hull Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Hull Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay