We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Whittington and Cat

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Whittington and Cat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for three nights . I was glad I made the choice to stay here . I hadn't been back to Hull since the '70s and I remembered the old Pub as it used to be . It was a rough house then and you wouldn't have chosen to stay there unless you were unconscious . Times have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kingspoon
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Thank You for your lovely review, im sure on your return to Hull you will have seen a dramatic change throughout the city. The city development is exciting, hope to see you again. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was overcharged for my stay by owner. TV in lounge didn't work 1st night. "breakfast" is cheap & not good. Didn't feel welcome, they tried to move me to another place fr day 1. Internet unreliable and slow. Bar is run separate with good service

Helpful?
Thank Jesper A
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Hello Jesper, I must disagree with your review of your establishment. You were not over charged for your stay. You turned up to our 4* silver accommodation with a dog and we have a strictly no dogs policy. After you explained your difficult situation to us we decided to make an exception to the rule and allow you to stay... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

GPS got us here but finding parking a night mare. You have to drive a couple of kms in opposite direction around the corner to shopping centre next to the hotel to park. Lovely staff and the room clean and tidy. Up 2 flights of stairs so if not fit don't bother. No food at hotel. Breakfast old Apple and... More 

Helpful?
Thank cathy1506
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Hello Cathy, I am very sorry to read that your stay with us at The Whittington and Cat was a little disappointing. The retail park in which we are situated on can be tricky to access when you are not familiar with the Hull area, you comments have been taken on board and we are looking at printing clear directions... More 

Driel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

In short, room was good and clean. Noise from the bar was a bit to much, it didn't last to late though. there was no breakfast....... we got a plate with pre packed cookies and a juice box. Good parking (free) location was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Diana B
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Good afternoon, I am very sorry to read that you stay with us was not what you expected and that you were a little disappointed. I'm pleased to read the room you stayed in was good standard and clean however I can only apologise for the noise in the bar below. The Bar has recently just re-opened under new management... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Central Hull 5 mins walk away. Good parking. Friendly staff. Fantastic rooms. Good value. Only a complimentary continental style breakfast but if that is ok for you this hotel is lovely. Have stayed twice and will do so again and again. Internet about 17 meg and stable😊 oh and bar now open nightly.

Helpful?
Thank john b
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Great to read you are a returning customer John, thank you for writing a review and hope to see you again soon. Regards Sue More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and myself stayed at The Whittington @ Cat over the bank holiday weekend at the beginning of May. We originally booked a standard double room as we wasn't planned on spending much time in the room however on arrival we were greeted by a very helpful young man, who upgraded us to the apartment, it was amazing, spacious... More 

Helpful?
Thank porkinsHH
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing a review. Im very pleased to read you and your boyfriend were pleased with the upgraded you recived. Hope to see you again next time your in hull. Many thanks Sue More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

I booked and stayed 2 nights on business not realising the bar & food service was closed. My room was small, but fairly well equipped. I asked for a hairdryer and was given one straight away. I had the small room because it was fully booked. Nonetheless the bed was very comfortable. Danish pastries, an apple and orange juice were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen t
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Hi Karen, I am very sorry to read you were a little disappointed with your stay. I can only apologise for the bar being closed however, It is my pleasure to inform you that our lounge bar has is now being reopened every night and the re launch is Saturday 21st May, hopefully this will improve the stay for our... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

We booked for a romantic few days away after reading reviews. Sounded ideal with a bar and restaurant and breakfast included. When we arrived to out horror,there was a scribbled notice posted on the window, "closed for Easter" and not a person to be seen. Two very helpful gentlemen arrive by car to open up the building for us, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

I am very sorry Emma that you felt let down, you are correct that the interest sight in which you booked through was displaying the incorrect information. We have since chased up the website amendments and double checked that all information on our internet booking feeders are correct and up to date. I am delighted to inform you that our... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

Stayed here a few times . It has good viws of the Marina. Staff are al great . Bar food is simple but very good. It's family run and they keep a clan little hotel which is a quite pub . Ale is well kept the family have been running pubs for three generation.

Helpful?
Thank Darkstone120
Sue p, Public Relations Manager at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and staying with us several times, We are pleased you have a pleasant stay with us and continue to return to us and giving our history of the family business for others to read. look forward to your next visit. More 

Goxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016

Stayed in the 4-poster suite which was excellent. Large room, light and airy, very warm, comfy bed and huge free standing bath. Very clean, nicely decorated and a good sized TV. Location is very good right across the road from the marina and right on a retail park if you like shopping. Pub was not open at either lunch or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

I would to thank you for writing a rewiew on here Kevin. It is my pleasure to inform you that our lounge bar has is now being reopened every night and the re lausnch is Saturday 21st May, hopfully this will iompove your stay with us on your return. Regards, Sue Perkins More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#10 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
#12 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#11 of 23 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Whittington and Cat

Address: Commercial Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: $66 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whittington and Cat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Whittington and Cat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay