We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Whittington and Cat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Whittington and Cat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Was greeted by friendly staff and given an upgrade from a single on second floor to a double on first floor at no extra cost. Stayed for 3 nights, the room was comfortable and well stocked with tea and coffee, sweets and bottled water. They even supplied a comb in the bathroom along with toiletries. The location is great just... More 

Helpful?
Thank wadi21449
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This truly is a hidden gem. I came in here last week to meet our friends who were staying in the master suite we was allowed to go up and have a look my god the rooms are out of this world you would never expect it above a pub I then came down to book my girlfriend and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank prize16
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We were staying for just one night in Hull as we were running the marathon the next day. Great position in the centre of town and good for a just one night. The rooms were very nice, and the bar staff who greeted us were fantastic! We had dinner at the pub, tasty and cheap. Just to warn people who... More 

Helpful?
Thank SianMcGuinness
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My mum in law announced just a few short weeks ago she was getting no married and needed help to plan the wedding, after visiting a few different venues we stumbled upon the Whittington and Cat situated near the town centre and what an absolute Pandora's box of a pub/ hotel! To walk into the establishment your brain cannot comprehend... More 

Helpful?
Thank meeliemoo06
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

the rooms are spacious and comfortable. I paid 50 for single occupancy even once I was given an upgrade. ideal if you want to visit the city. the best point is at the back of the holiday Inn at a fraction of the price. the only problem no breakfast but there is a very convenient Costa round the corner. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carlo B
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased you read you enjoyed yur stay. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Sue Perkins More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

Stands alone but is an ideal base away from the hustle and bustle. Across the road a lovely stroll along the marina where you can get an insight of the true Hull Maritime history. Hotel run by a mother and son team who are absolutely fabulous. Always helpful, and make you feel as if you were one of the locals... More 

Helpful?
Thank jainelaine61
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to read your comments about your stay, I am very happy to read that Gill & Tom looked after you well. The marina is one of my favourite walks in the city. Thank you for taking the time for writing a review, Kind Regards, Sue Perkins More 

Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

I stayed here for three nights . I was glad I made the choice to stay here . I hadn't been back to Hull since the '70s and I remembered the old Pub as it used to be . It was a rough house then and you wouldn't have chosen to stay there unless you were unconscious . Times have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kingspoon
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Thank You for your lovely review, im sure on your return to Hull you will have seen a dramatic change throughout the city. The city development is exciting, hope to see you again. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

GPS got us here but finding parking a night mare. You have to drive a couple of kms in opposite direction around the corner to shopping centre next to the hotel to park. Lovely staff and the room clean and tidy. Up 2 flights of stairs so if not fit don't bother. No food at hotel. Breakfast old Apple and... More 

Helpful?
Thank cathy1506
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Hello Cathy, I am very sorry to read that your stay with us at The Whittington and Cat was a little disappointing. The retail park in which we are situated on can be tricky to access when you are not familiar with the Hull area, you comments have been taken on board and we are looking at printing clear directions... More 

Driel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

In short, room was good and clean. Noise from the bar was a bit to much, it didn't last to late though. there was no breakfast....... we got a plate with pre packed cookies and a juice box. Good parking (free) location was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Diana B
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Good afternoon, I am very sorry to read that you stay with us was not what you expected and that you were a little disappointed. I'm pleased to read the room you stayed in was good standard and clean however I can only apologise for the noise in the bar below. The Bar has recently just re-opened under new management... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Central Hull 5 mins walk away. Good parking. Friendly staff. Fantastic rooms. Good value. Only a complimentary continental style breakfast but if that is ok for you this hotel is lovely. Have stayed twice and will do so again and again. Internet about 17 meg and stable😊 oh and bar now open nightly.

Helpful?
Thank john b
Sue p, Owner at The Whittington and Cat, responded to this review

Great to read you are a returning customer John, thank you for writing a review and hope to see you again soon. Regards Sue More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
#12 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 741 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#1 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#11 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#9 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Whittington and Cat

Address: Commercial Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: $78 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whittington and Cat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Whittington and Cat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay