We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Tunbridge Wells

Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8BU, England (Formerly "The New Wellington Hotel")
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed here after a local wedding. Got to Travelodge around 2am. My husband, myself and my baby grandson. Grandson was asleep, we had a pushchair and a suitcase and I was carrying my grandson. Checkin took less than 5 minutes. We were directed to a lift to take us to the first floor. The lift did not appear to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bev660
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Rooms were large and spacious bathroom was functional. We were not there very long so didn't use the bar or cafe. Decided in the morning to buy the breakfast as there was quite a few of us so I paid nearly £40 for 5 of us and it was the worse breakfast I have ever had. Items are kept in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank scwalker67
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Let's just start by saying we ended up getting a full refund. Payed extra for 12.00 check in still waiting in reception at 12.35 family panicking as had to get ready for a wedding. Finally got into the room unpacked only to find the wash hand basin had no running water, but the shower worked. Given another room on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank keith969

Travelers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although there might be some good deals available if you book for the winter or many months in advance, we unfortunately didn't have this option so paid £110 for a tiny double room in the dungeon-like basement. This didn't include breakfast, in fact it didn't include very much at all (i.e. no wardrobe, no drawers or other storage). You have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris_Farthing
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s great that you found our new Dreamer bed to be comfortable. We feel that we offer all that is needed for a comfortable night’s stay. We do not provide extras which other hotels may provide so we can keep our room rates low however we understand your frustration and we are sorry that you... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cleanliness of stairwell and corridors very poor. Empty bottle, tissues and dirty stairs. Room had a bad stale smell and very warm. (No air conditioning) I did have a small fan. Window only opened a few inches. Shower curtain rail had been damaged and had not been repaired.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank J7499QPmarkl
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as cleanliness and room service are the basics of our promise to our customers and this is far from the high standards we strive to provide. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a short break with my son. This hotel is in an old building. It has some beautiful features and of course it has creaky floors as I say it's an old building ( we have creaky bones the older we get). The staff especially Juan where amazing. We had a big room which unfortunately had a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juneallenby
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After two room changes we eventually got a room facing the front which was OK in size. Avoid lower ground floor. There must be some reasonably sized rooms but many are very small and I agree it feels more like a hostel. However staff were really helpful. I also object to adding £4 per night for parking but it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie5757
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Feedback is really important to us and detailed comments like yours will help us in improving our services. We will ensure our hotel team receive a copy of your review and we do apologise for any disappointment that has been caused on this occasion. May we thank you for your helpful comments and we... More 

London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself was okay, but I object to having to pay to park in the hotel grounds. There was a strong smoking odur in the bathroom, which was off putting. And the website was very difficult to book the right date and the confirmation showed some discrepancy against what I had actually booked.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank morrisg879
TravelodgeUK, Adele from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we will pass your comments onto the hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with our parking facilities. We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review and we... More 

Plymouth
Level Contributor
173 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed again visiting relatives as easy to access Tunbridge Wells itself. The refurbishment of the hotel has transformed it from a drab looking place to a bright welcoming warming one. Still miffed on having to pay to park the car! Overall value for money now.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JagerPlymouth
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience and are happy to see this was the case. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we do hope you will choose to stay with... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cheap and not so cheerful. Such a shame that this beautiful building is now more like a hostal. Service ok, but 1st room given smelled very unpleasant. Was moved to clean fresh smelling room but they both look tired and for backpackers or young people after a heavy night out to abuse

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Vivien K
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. If you wish to contact us directly to give us more feedback, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Tunbridge Wells

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8BU, England (Formerly "The New Wellington Hotel")
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $72 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Tunbridge Wells 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Royal Tunbridge Wells
Travel Lodge Royal Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay