We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Salomons Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Salomons Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 202: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An impromptu visit admittedly but "no cake available as the chef is busy with events" seemed a little far-fetched since there appeared to be plenty of tables free! The outdoor furniture needs updating, the tables are dated. The toilets also need bringing up to the level of such an establishment, they are currently in the style you'd expect at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank tracey h
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear tracey h, Thank you for visiting Salomons and for taking the time to leave a review. We apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments from our guests and discuss them with our management team at Salomons Estate. However, we are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful view and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here last week after attending the evening reception of a friend’s wedding. The estate and the grounds are really beautiful and even in the mixed weather, well worth a look around. We arrived by taxi from Tonbridge station which is about 10 minutes away by car and costs around £10 in taxi fare. The evening reception we attended... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vix P
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Vix P, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Salomons Estate. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding reception that you attended and that you liked grounds and The Science Theatre. We are also pleased that you found the accommodation to be clean and well designed. However, we apologise that you and your... More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended a wedding ceremony and breakfast here yesterday. The professionalism of staff from the moment we stepped foot in the venue at 14.45 until we left at 10.30 was notable. The wedding ceremony although formal, was also lighthearted and fun and guests were encouraged to applaud and take photos as appropriate. The Master of Ceremonies did a great job... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gakeitse
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Gakeitse, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Salomons Estate. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended and are particularly pleased that you found the staff to be so professional and that you enjoyed the food. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Salomons... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was travelling alone and stayed here for one night. I cannot agree with previous reviewers as I felt that the hotel was good, value for money given the extensive grounds and facilities, although there were no other activities taking place in the hotel at the time. It is true that the rooms are in a separate block which are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen F
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Karen F, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Salomons Estate. We are so pleased to hear that you found our service to be good and the accommodation to be comfortable and good value. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again! Kind Regards, Salomons Estate More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

Attended a wedding here and was very disappointed - the building itself was very impressive but how they have attepmted to use this place as a hotel is confusing. The seem to be trying to sell something special and mossing it completly. On arrival we found that there were a lot of students very informally dressed in the area that... More 

Helpful?
Thank grahamf3
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear grahamf3, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip to Salomons. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and your meal and found the rooms well furnished. Thank you for your feedback. We are making continual improvements, your comments have been taken on board and the management team are investigating your comments regarding... More 

Travelers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Set in nice grounds this complex seems to have real difficulty in separating its various activities. To have to walk past a rack of clothes for sale and other nic nacs (part of some country fair), to get to the dining room is simply not acceptable. The lovely conservatory, that could have made a nice breakfast room, was full of... More 

Helpful?
Thank FreddyII
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear FreddyII Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Salomons. We are glad that you enjoyed the grounds and the setting of the estate. We apologise that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Feedback from all of our guests is taken on board and passed on to our management team here at Salomons.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

Amazing grounds and main venue. We also ate at the restaurant. The food was excellent and the waiter couldn't be more attentive hence my rating. Sadly as other reviewers have reported the experience is let down by the accommodation. I felt like I was walking into a residential block or sheltered housing! The ramps certainly added to this. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daisycat0208
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Daisycat0208, Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Salomon's Estate. We were pleased to hear you found the grounds and main venue to be amazing and the food you received was excellent, along with the service you received from the waiter. We were disappointed however to hear that the accommodation did not meet your expectations. Please... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely time here for our friends' wedding. The main building is beautiful and a good venue for special occasions. I felt the accommodation was very expensive for what it was. If it wasn't for the convenience of staying at the wedding venue we would've booked a premier inn. The room was overall clean but had a stain on... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatalieBrand
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear NatalieBrand, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Salomon's Estate. We were pleased to hear you found the building to be beautiful and a good choice of venue for special occasions. We were disappointed however, to hear that the accommodation did not meet your expectations. Please be advised, the Salomon's Estate management team are... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
249 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

As many others have commented, the main building on the estate is beautiful. Sadly the accommodation you get resembles stu net halls of residence. The rooms are small and featureless. Mine had the smallest TV set I've ever seen in a hotel and the walls are paper thin. On the plus side, there is a hospitality tray, a safe and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sowie
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear sowie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Salomon's Estate. We were pleased to hear you found the estate to be beautiful and that you found the rooms to be clean. We were disappointed however, to hear that the accommodation did not meet your expectations. Please be advised, the Salomon's Estate management team are... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016

This Estate is set in a beautiful location and you can't fail to be impressed with its grandeur, however, the rooms are in blocks reminiscent of old student accommodation and belies the whole setting. The rooms are small, approached by a metal walkway, which is excessively noisy for surrounding occupants. There is no air conditioning and the small windows, covered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz H
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Liz H, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Salomon's Estate. We were pleased to hear you were impressed by the estate, we were disappointed however, to hear that the accommodation did not meet your expectations. Please be advised, the Salomon's Estate management team are aware of your feedback and we are continually offering... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Salomons Estate is a stunning Victorian mansion combining elegance and history. The house is set in 36 acres of picturesque gardens, woodlands and lakes nestled in the heart of the Garden of England. A mix of king-size, doubles, twins and singles bedrooms are available in 47 well-appointed bedrooms situated in two purpose-built accommodation buildings a short walk from the mansion house. Each room has en-suite shower facilities with shower and complimentary toiletries. There is a TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. A Continental breakfast is served each morning in the mansion house. The Estate offers a spectacular venue for your wedding, your next conference or a great day out with facilities to suit your every need from sumptuous dining and exciting nights out to fascinating historical setting and luxurious overnight stays. This venue offers a picturesque and tranquil environment whilst only being a short distance from both Tunbridge Wells and Tonbridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salomons Estate

Address: David Salomons Estate Broomhill Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 0TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $116 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salomons Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Salomons Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salomons Estate Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay