We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Salomons Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Salomons Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 219: English reviews
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrival great, reception was very brisk. and not helpfull. Got to our room after a drive, and 2 flights of stairs. No lifts. The room was disgusting, it was just like student accomadation. The window was not even double glazed, and latch was broken. I took one look at this very basic room, and decided this was not up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila T
Walmer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Based on their website, we thought we had booked to stay in a country park hotel. We had no idea in advance that we would be staying in refurbished student accommodation which formed part of the former Canterbury Christchurch campus. The place is really a conference/event centre with functional accommodation - not a quality/luxury hotel. Consequently, the accommodation fell well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familyoldfield
Reviewed 1 week ago

i stayed here the weekend just gone, for my partners Christmas party. It was very easy to get to, and signed well, my first impression was lovely; rolling hills of green as far as the eye can see. Check in simple and staff were very helpful, we attended a 'team building' workshop in the gold room, and was a bundle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alysmaria94
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Alysmaria94, Thank you for your review of Salomons Estate. We are pleased to hear that you liked the setting and enjoyed the views from the Estate, and we are particularly happy to hear that you enjoyed your team building activities and found your evening to be so well organised. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As most reviews mention, the main building with the reception is separate from the two building that offer accomodation, so I wasn't surprised when we arrived. The grounds are very impressive and well taken care of, and so is the main building with the reception / lobby bar. The other building are more simple, but the room itself was comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenka S
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Lenka, Thank you for taking the time to review Salomons Estate. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are particularly happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and the grounds well taken care of. Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast. We take all comments from our guests on board in...

London UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are ok with paying for a really experience but not even as good version of a travel lodge, then go ahead and book. The rooms are like dorms, all down one corridor, very sterile. The rooms are so small, the bath rooms are very clinical. The worst bit is that the reception/ dinning area is very far away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonUKAnnE
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear LondonUKAnnE, We offer our sincerest apologies that you were disappointed by your stay at Salomons Estate. We do endeavour to make it clear at the point of booking that our accommodation is located in two purpose built buildings away from the main house, however we do apologise that this was not made clearer to you. Thank you for your...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

October was the third time I have been to Salamons this time was for a wedding. The whole day was amazing, nice food, beautiful views and an amazing building. The staff were all very polite and helpful and even tho a few mistakes were made during the meal the staff were very professional and everything was easily solved. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Lucy, Thank you for taking the time to review Salomons Estate. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended at Salomons. We are particularly pleased that you found the staff to be polite and professional and that you enjoyed the food. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to have the pleasure of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I foolishly reserved this hotel today before reading any reviews. I was unable to reserve a double room as only single rooms were available. I am travelling to Tunbridge by train so won't have a car. Once I read (several very poor) reviews, I learned that my room would not be in the main residence but up a steep hill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caitlinuk1
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Caitlin, I offer my sincerest apologies for the experience that you encountered with Salomons Estate. This is not how we usually operate. Please email me directly at CHarman@markerstudy.com at your earliest convenience to discuss this further. Kind Regards, Chantelle Harman, Salomons Estate

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016

I have been to Salamons many times, and this week I decided I would try a room there. I booked online, but then my work schedule changed and I had to cancel, it was just under the 48 hour window of no refund. I applied for a reduction in the total cost, and had a lovely email back from reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen5622
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you for your review of the customer service you experienced at Salomons Estate. We are so pleased to hear that you were impressed with the service you received and that you were pleased with the outcome. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Kind Regards, Salomons Estate

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 27, 2016

The room I had was a single room in the Canterbury Building, which is about 400 metres from the main manor house, up a steep hill. Luckily I could drive and park outside my room, therefore didn't have to carry my luggage up the hill. The hotel is supposedly 4 star, however the rooms don't reflect this, although frankly for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for your review of Salomons Estate. We are pleased to hear that you found Salomons to be good value and we thank you for your feedback. We do hope that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Salomons Estate in the future. Kind Regards, Salomons Estate

Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel for a wedding we were attending nearby. The photos looked beautiful and when we turned up we were very pleased by just the look of the building and its surroundings. Unfortunately, like many reviews on here, we were told our room was in a building up the hill. This building was in fact an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
BHHTunbridgeWells, Public Relations at Salomons Estate at Salomons Estate, responded to this review

Dear Ellie, Thank you for your review of Salomons Estate. We offer our sincerest apologies that you were disappointed with your experience with us. We do endeavour to make it clear at the point of booking that all of our accommodation is located in purpose built buildings, however we apologise that this was not made clearer to you. Thank you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
78 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
2.0 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Salomons Estate is a stunning Victorian mansion combining elegance and history. The house is set in 36 acres of picturesque gardens, woodlands and lakes nestled in the heart of the Garden of England. A mix of king-size, doubles, twins and singles bedrooms are available in 47 well-appointed bedrooms situated in two purpose-built accommodation buildings a short walk from the mansion house. Each room has en-suite shower facilities with shower and complimentary toiletries. There is a TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. A Continental breakfast is served each morning in the mansion house. The Estate offers a spectacular venue for your wedding, your next conference or a great day out with facilities to suit your every need from sumptuous dining and exciting nights out to fascinating historical setting and luxurious overnight stays. This venue offers a picturesque and tranquil environment whilst only being a short distance from both Tunbridge Wells and Tonbridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salomons Estate

Address: David Salomons Estate Broomhill Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 0TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $88 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salomons Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Salomons Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salomons Estate Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Salomons Estate staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
London
1 month ago
5 months ago
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Washington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Washington, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Salomons Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not book this. Avoid if you want country hotel, this is more like student or traveller accomadation”
 of 5 bubbles 305sheilat, 5 days ago | Read review
“Not much choice as rooms standardized due to building construction”
 of 5 bubbles familyoldfield, 1 week ago | Read review
“there are none”
 of 5 bubbles johnnycashfan, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“High floor facing south”
 of 5 bubbles tracolDorset, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“You need to be able to walk to the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 237karenf, Sep 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay