We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 691: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

We had a nice bottle of champagne in the bar then ordered our meal, my wife chose the homemade burger unfortunatly it was dry from being overcooked , when we spoke to the waiter his answer was due to health and safety they have to cook burgers well done !!! My sister in law and I enjoyed our meals but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I had a short stay recently in TW and we just loved this hotel. The ambiance, staff, location and food were all fantastic. Lauren on reception was so welcoming and helpful that right from our arrival to leaving everything was just perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Damien K
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Damien K, Thank you for your fabulous review! It's so nice to see that the team's hard work is recognised and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the future. Best regards, More 

Solihull UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I sometimes feel that TA reviews do not reflect the "personality" of some hotels, restaurants etc. This wonderful Georgian building has been changed into a class hotel.The staff were so friendly, but there were wobbly floors and hardly a right angle in sight, this a listed building, so no double glazing and no air.con. We ate our supper with such... More 

Helpful?
Thank noshy
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Noshy, Thank you for your review, and i'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit. I'm sorry you weren't able to park outside the property this time around - I wish I could say it was because of royalty, but unfortunately it was just a busy day. Please do let us know next time you're visiting, and we'll make sure... More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Hotel du Vin and Bistro for a one night (it was a special occasion as my boyfriend had booked it for my birthday). We arrived a little too early for check in as the room was not ready. Lucy, the very friendly lady on reception offered us a free upgrade, Whilst we waited we had tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank JennieH141
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear JennieH141, Thank you for your great review! It's lovely to see how much you enjoyed your stay, and that Lucy was able to take care of you on arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Best regards. More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like a quiet night's sleep then avoid the inappropriately named Superior Cottage rooms. The rooms are actually in a Gatehouse building very adjacent to the road. There is double glazing but it is not good enough to cope with the proximity of the vehicles. Woken repeatedly in the middle of the night.....and no "Good Night guarantee" here!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Andrew L, Thank you for your review, though I am of course sorry that you did not enjoy your night in The Cottage. It is unusual for traffic noise to be a problem over night where we are, although with the current road works taking place there is more heavy traffic than usual. I'm sorry this disturbed you -... More 

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having been to the restaurant many times before I have to say that the service today was dreadful! All the waiters looked miserable and it was obvious that they would rather of not been there! The food was okay but some of the burgers were burnt, the muscles were very gritty! We had to ask numerous times for drinks that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VIcky L
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Vicky L, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your experience was let down this weekend. I am aware of the concerns your table had with the burger and believe that the burger in question was corrected at the time by the Supervisor. We are in the process of growing the team, and I do hope that on your... More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On arrival of the hotel, there were many reserved car spaces. So I could not park outside. The receptionist was unhelpful when I complained. I was shown to my room, and the carpet had many stains on it and it smelt of cheesy feet. Not pleasant at all. We had a reservation in the evening in the restaurant for 6... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi308
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Suzi308, Thank you for your reviews here and on Booking.com. I'm obviously concerned by your comments about the carpet and the service you received. I am aware you had dealings with the Supervisor on the evening in question, and that he arranged for some complimentary drinks as a result of your concerns - it was his belief you were... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in late in preparation for business meeting next day afternoon. Room was stylish and luxurious. Despite missing restaurant closing by an hour, they were able to prepare something for me in the restaurant though not the full menu. Slept well and was able to spend the morning preparing in the beautiful sunny garden with smell of lavender. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Billy B
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Billy B, Thank you for your fantastic review. I'm so glad the team were able to accommodate you with some food - hopefully the meeting went as well as hoped! Best regards, More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We hired the Havana room for a discreet gathering of friends and family for my 50th birthday. From initial viewing of the various room and menu options the hotel staff could not have been more attentive nor helpful. The evening was fantastically and professionally managed. Excellent service striking the perfect balance between attention to detail and not being intrusive -... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your brilliant review. It's such a pleasure to see the teams' hard work recognised, and I'm so glad it was a 50th to remember. I hop we are able to welcome you back for your next party! Best regards, More 

Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we entered we were warmly welcomed, despite being early we were ushered to our room. the only slight negative, and it was our fault, we chose a classic room which was very small, saying that it was perfectly presented and had every thing we needed but next time we will pay the extra for a bigger room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Management response:

Dear Ann B, Thank you for your lovely review. It's so pleasing to see you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back - perhaps next time we can tempt you with a Superior room and roll top bath? Best regards, James McComas General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (155)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bistro Du Vin
Bistro Du Vin
Cuisines: French, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $142 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay