We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Spa Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

559 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 548: English reviews
London
Reviewed today NEW

We booked in for a Sunday night (since we needed to attend an auction taking place in one of their function rooms on Monday morning) and so got a Sunday package for dinner, B&B, which was good value. We had booked the smallest and cheapest of their range of rooms ('cosy'), and asked for a room with a view, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pilla
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thoroughly enjoyed the Christmas indoor cinema event, on the 1st December with 2 of my girl friends. Showing 'The Holiday', there were comfortable sofa's, chairs or beanbags available and the option to have a blanket, although it was warm enough. Seats were available on first come first served bases which worked well and they had a fantastic ladies choir for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thunt84
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Every year, we organise a weekend away with friends to celebrate xmas together. I must admit that we were a bit disappointed by the rooms, not worth the price we paid. The decor of each room fluctuates immensely…as well as the size. The private room we had for the night to celebrate was next to a bedroom not occupied by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolineGB72
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this location for one night on 30/11/2015, I travelled alone , I found the hotel to be clean and tidy , I made use of the gym and had a very pleasant stay. The following morning I enjoyed a beautiful cooked breakfast , I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B4Home
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and left feeling really disappointed (and extremely tired!). The hotel itself is ok, it's clean and tidy and the staff are nice and welcoming, but unfortunately it's so noisy and in our opinion it's not worth the price. We had a room over the bar, and after our first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had our cricket club dinner at the Spa, Food was great,staff were really good,,and a good time was had by all. Food was nicely presented and hot. All in all, an excellent evening, and that is very good as I retired after being a chef for 40 years. Can highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spinnakercorgi
Sevenoaks
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been visiting the Spa Hotel to dine on special occasions for many years. But as a dining venue it has become very disappointing since its take over and make over. It is certainly no longer the relaxing place it used to be and the quality of service has deteriorated - as has the food and general presentation. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am unsure how recent your regular visits have been however The Spa was acquired by the Scragg family in 2007, so it has been almost 10 years since the take-over of the hotel. I am investigating further into why your call was missed, we ensure that there are at least 2 receptionists on duty...

Keithw532
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The initial drive into the stunning grounds, hotel façade and walk into lobby were all very impressive. The room was comfortable but with a terrible creaking floor just by the bed that made me cringe for the people staying below every time to stood on it. I was also a bit annoyed that the hotel only e-mailed me after they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keithw532
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I am glad you found the grounds stunning, the lobby impressive and found your room comfortable. I am sorry to read that there were some issues during your stay; with regards to the refurbishment of our pool – this maintenance was scheduled quite last minute so I suspect your reservation was made prior to...

Laindon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife booked this for my birthday, we had a cream tea on arrival, dinner and late Sunday lunch. The staff are very efficient especially in the bar meals section, giving very good and impartial advice and food, and remembering the wine you ordered previously.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ianl53
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very comfortable and spacious room and bathroom. Very quiet room (205) even though it looked onto the front of the hotel.Service is helpful. Large traditional style dining room for good breakfast. I arrived at about 9pm and went straight to the bistro for something to eat (last orders by 9.30pm). My only criticism was that the "welcome" I got from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDavies593
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (121)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Tunbridge Wells
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
247 reviews
20.1 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $104 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Spa Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
KENT ENGLAND
over a year ago
Bromley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
London
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at back have lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles Pilla, today | Read review
“Don't book room 231 as it is very small. We all suffered from the heat during the night so we badly slept.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolineGB72, 3 days ago | Read review
“The hotel is quite and self-contianed”
 of 5 bubbles RonaldD228, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Request a room at the back overlooking the lawns and are very peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles Ianl53, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We had several rooms booked and they all seemed more than adequate”
 of 5 bubbles ErnestWordie, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay