We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Marquis at Alkham

Expedia.com$170*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Marquis at Alkham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 480: English reviews
Start your review of The Marquis at Alkham
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Marquis is a fabulous little hotel in the middle of the beautiful Kent countryside. The Granby room we had was excellent although the bed a little too soft for our liking. Everything else was just great including the breakfast in the morning where you had a good selection of cereals, juice, fruit and croissants followed by your choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trf1960
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for the first time on Saturday night. Received a very warm welcome and shown up to our room, which was called Collard. Lovely decor, big bathroom, spotlessly clean. A lovely view of the Kent countryside from the window. We had the seven course taster menu for our dinner. It was absolutely delicious. Well thought out and beautifully presented,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverley19
Marquis A, Manager at The Marquis at Alkham, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My usual once a month Thursday evening dining club brought us to The Marquis restaurant some 40 mins from Herne Bay. There were 8 of us dining on this occasion. The Marquis has a very modern interior with a pleasant atmosphere & a varied modern menu. The food & wine prices were slightly higher than the average fine dining restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Podarkness
Marquis A, Manager at The Marquis at Alkham, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was delicious and the stay extremely comfortable. We had a really restful time and felt really looked after. We had the taster menu which was delicious. Hats off to the chef and waiting staff. All the staff struck just the right balance between being friendly but respectful. We will certainly be returning. Thank you for a really lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BUFANDMONTY
Marquis A, Manager at The Marquis at Alkham, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review.

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A superb location was not supported by some of the service and the quality of accommodation for our overnight stay last week. Our welcome was offhand and the room provided was smaller than had been expected albeit neat and tidy. It later proved to be adjacent to air conditioning or similar equipment that rumbled until midnight and then from just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redjopick
Marquis A, Manager at The Marquis at Alkham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, I hope this does not discourage you form visiting us again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I found the overall experience of the hotel to be poor, not the luxury experience it promotes itself to be. I can imagine the room would have been of high standard when first decorated... however there appears to be neglect of any recent refurbishments and some lack of basic cleanliness. For example: there was limescale on the shower head and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adventuresandexplore
Marquis A, Manager at The Marquis at Alkham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with aspects of your stay, we are aware of certain maintenance issues which are in the process of being dealt with at the moment. Did you inquire on your arrival about your prosecco? That would of been when we would of provided it for you rather then...

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Celebrating? Or just fancy pampering yourself a little. Take yourself on down to The Marquis Hotel. Set in the lovely Alkham Valley, It is an extremely pleasant place to while away a couple of hours or more and wind down. We went for High Tea on this occasion with a glass of champers. £35.00 for two which we feel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie-Lu
Marquis A, Manager at The Marquis at Alkham, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review I am very pleased you enjoyed your experience.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel. We were 'welcomed' by an extremely rude young women, and when the same person then gave us the bill and collected our money the next morning, she neither thanked us or asked if we enjoyed our stay. She also tried to charge us for extras which we had not agreed to. Beware - a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Raised issues about our stay on departure, followed up with email 3 times and still no response. Even got asked for feedback through a survey request they emailed me but they said they can't view it! Further emails sent but still nothing. Not what I like to do but they've been given every opportunity to respond. Here goes... 7 course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
Marquis A, Manager at The Marquis at Alkham, responded to this review

Hi there, This is the first time i have been made aware of your concerns, if you would like to email me directly lucy@themarquisatalkham.co.uk. i would be happy to discuss this issue with you further.

Kent
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

I took my Mother & Father for a special Easter lunch treat here recently & was very disappointed with food & service. We could only get a 2.30pm booking & I feel we were rushed as they were starting to get the afternoon teas out. My Mother & myself had the hake & when it came the fish was cold...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jillworts
Marquis A, Manager at The Marquis at Alkham, responded to this review

Thank you for review, i am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your visit to us, as it was easter sunday we were fully booked so that may of been the only time that was left to book in, and our afternoon tea service starts at 3.30 so we do have to get the tables ready for this service...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,132 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
293 reviews
4.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
954 reviews
4.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come on in. Take a look around. You might just be surprised. For while the Alkham Valley, indeed Alkham village itself, suggests genteel old England at its most rural and unspoiled, the Marquis itself is something else... It's a strikingly contemporary restaurant and hotel. The product of a major renovation in 2008, what was once the village's pub, The Marquis of Granby, has been utterly transformed. Space, light, fine furnishings and beautiful fabrics and the opportunity to fine tune every detail hasn't been missed. The restaurant is a revelation. Head Chef Andrew King's seasonally inspired and locally sourced menus are as fresh as they are imaginative, and the elegant 21st century styling is exceptional. Queen sized pocket sprung beds are swathed in the finest cotton. Sumptuous fabrics dress windows and chairs. And an eclectic collection of art completes the mood, the mix and the personality that makes this place unique. Boutique chic in the heart of the English countryside? You've found it. You've arrived. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marquis at Alkham

Address: Alkham Valley Road | Alkham, Dover CT15 7DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Price Range: $125 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marquis at Alkham 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Marquis at Alkham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquis At Alkham Hotel Dover
The Marquis At Alkham Dover, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Marquis at Alkham staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Marquis at Alkham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The Granby room overlooked the road which was surprisingly noisy first thing in the morning. No air conditioning.”
trf1960, 1 week ago | Read review
“The Hopton room is small and noisy.”
Redjopick, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Back rooms in new building are probably quieter.”
208AnneL, Mar 18, 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the hotel have the best view but more traffic noise.”
DanniB297, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you retain your DETAILED reservation so you get the correct room! We found this was an impossible task on our visit!”
SwanseaCandy, Dec 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$170* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$169
Travelocity$170
Hotels.com$170
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates