We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maison Dieu Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maison Dieu Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Start your review of Maison Dieu Guest House
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just returned from an overnight stay at this impeccable b&b. We stayed in a double/family room with garden view. It was perfect, bed very comfortable & everything spotlessly clean. Everything you could possibly need was catered for. We chose to have the full English breakfast before leaving for a small extra charge & it was delicious, worth every penny....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caromac61
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

That's lovely! Our rooms can be booked 'room only' or B&B which is why breakfast can sometimes be an optional extra - do click on our website above to get THE best available rates. At £6.50 per adult and £3.50 for children, with bottomless freshly brewed coffee, tea (exactly how you like it) or delicious hot chocolate - a range...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night due to business trip. Arrived late (21:30) and was greeted by the owners with an offer of a warm drink, which was greatly appreciated. I stayed in a single room with separate, but private bathroom. I had a single room with sink which was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. Also the next day the owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markandlizzy
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

That's great! Hope the meeting was successful - we're always happy to help where we can. Thanks you for taking the time to review - much appreciated.

Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful house lovingly refurbished this year, breakfast gorgeous all freshly cooked to order with home made jam. Bed the most comfy I have slept in away from home. Perfectly placed to explore castle and cliffs, pubs shops and restaurants 5/10 mins walk away. Hosts lovely. Only down side was no heating in ensuite but it was freezing outside with snow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank outofharlow
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much! As you rightly say, we're perfectly located for The White Cliffs, Dover Castle and the Harbour - and of course, the many excellent restaurants within 10 minutes walk of the house. I hope the break with a change of scenery, chance to unwind and the spontaneous 'burger and karaoke' evening - did the trick and you...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed in a few B&Bs, but Barry and Di's Maison Dieu is the cream of the cream as to comfort and cleanliness. It starts with a warm welcome - a cup of tea and a chat. We stayed on the 1st floor facing the road ( barely hear any noises from the road). There is attention to detail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quentin L
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you, that's really lovey - great to know that you so enjoyed your stay - we very much appreciate your kind comments and recommendation. It's now Christmas eve, so may I take this opportunity to wish you a wonderful Christmas! If you come back through Dover, don't forget you can avoid commission charges by booking direct (maisondieu.co.uk) - or...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 15, 2016

Maison Dieu is a welcoming and comfortable B&B. Di and Barry are most warm and welcoming hosts who take great interest in their guests. The guest house is meticulously clean and furnished with great attention to detail. Breakfast is very good and plentiful and has a variety of options. We benefitted from a special offer of a free breakfast for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conny P
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you - so glad you were able to take advantage of our 'Special Offer' for a 2 night B&B stay. Our Small Twin has as you say, limited space but otherwise everything you might need, it's perfect for a 1 or 2 night budget stopover (£60 B&B per night). Guest rooms are on 1st and 2nd floor - we...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We were welcomed with a hot drink after a gruelling day's travel, a comfortable night's sleep and wide selection of food at breakfast. We would definitely return if we needed to break our journey to our house in France again. It's got all mod cons, without losing the character of a victorian property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clareacoles
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

That's so kind - and we'd be delighted to welcome you again! We are now taking bookings for 2017 which will be our 14th year at Maison Dieu Guest House! Dover is a very small town with only around 35 B&B's & Guest Houses, so if planning a trip or cruise via Port of Dover or a short break to...

Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Great b&b. Best breakfast that I have had in the UK. The hosts were very kind and extremely attentive. Definitely made me feel like a guest instead of a customer. Thanks for the great stay! Nicely located within a short distance of the Castle.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew M
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for our 200th great TripAdvisor review! Always ready to welcome our visitors from all over the world and do whatever we can to make sure the very best is made of their stay. You're very welcome - and so happy you enjoyed your stopover with us at Maison Dieu Dover.

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay a lot at this fabulous guest house. Very welcoming hosts and clean rooms. Great location near the Dover Castle and the harbour. Excellent recommendations by our hosts for dining and activities.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank f-b09
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your chosen restaurant, Dover has around 8 great eateries that we use ourselves - you can't beat personal experience! We are fortunate to be located in the heart of Dover which makes it possible to park the car and walk everywhere if you wish - our free parking is a bonus in Dover. Thanks so much...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Loved staying here - unfortunately for only one night. On arrival we were asked if we would like a hot drink, which was a lovely thing to be asked. On being shown to our room, we asked about places to eat, Di , the hostess then gave us lots of information regarding eateries and a map to show where we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

How lovely! A great tip - always leave a mobile number at your hotel or B&B so that your hosts can let you know (before you get too far) if you've left something in the room - so glad we caught you before you'd gone out of town! So pleased you enjoyed your stay - there's History at every turn...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 18, 2016

I am writing this review on behalf of my mum, who stayed for one night. However, I also visited with her (I was camping nearby) and dropped her off after a birthday in Dover. The hosts, Diane and Barry, could not have been more helpful. Upon learning that we needed a coeliac friendly restaurant, Diane recommended a superb Italian nearby....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emuslushy
Diane F, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review

That's fabulous, thank you - what a lovely review to end an amazing Summer season! Really smashing to meet you both - and always happy to spread the word about the great restaurants within walking distance of our B&B in Dover - especially those that fully cater for special diets. Now into the Autumn Season, so lots of walkers still...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Castle Guest House
Castle Guest House
#9 of 41 in Dover
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern, welcoming and very comfortable guest rooms are perfect for a stay in Dover! our AA 4 STAR Award Guest Accommodation Kent is offered with genuine English warmth and hospitality. Personal attention, maps and information ensures the very best is made of your stay. We offer Ensuite Family, Double, Twin and Single Guest Rooms and in addition, cosy Twin and Singles for those wanting equally high quality accommodation but at a budget price. Central for shops, restaurants and launderette - providing left luggage facility, free Wi-Fi and parking we are situated just 5 minutes' drive from Dover England ferry & cruise terminals and a few minutes' walk from bus and train stations. With simply stunning coastal scenery and the fabulous Dover Castle - for those with even a little time to spare Dover, in the gorgeous Garden of England County of Kent, offers much to inspire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maison Dieu Guest House

Address: 89 Maison Dieu Road, Dover CT16 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Price Range: $72 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Dieu Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Maison Dieu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Dieu Guest House Hotel Dover
Maison Dieu Guest House Dover, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maison Dieu Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room number 1 caters for a couple or family & has a lovely garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles Caromac61, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Fantastic views of Dover Castle.”
 of 5 bubbles 301janetg, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Any rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles SDicks0n, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
“If you have mobility problems the stairs would be a problem There is no lift but the owners would help with your luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethl769, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Lots of stairs to be aware of.”
 of 5 bubbles 86kurtisb, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question