We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Victoria Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Victoria Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 278: English reviews
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After returning from Manchester we were looking for somewhere go for late Sunday Lunch. We choose the Victoria Hotel because they were open till 8pm for food on Sunday's. When we arrive around 6pm we went into the restaurant and we all decided to have the Carvey. We had plenty of choice to eat and the food was very good.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russell C
Warlingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Victoria Hotel was a brilliant base for us to explore Canterbury city, within easy walking distance of the city centre (approx 10 minute walk). It was very clean and had a good friendly atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a room on Booking.com but it might be preferable to go to the hotel's website, as we ended up paying for a more expensive triple room instead of a double. Buffet breakfast is not included in the room price and relatively expensive. Wifi works very poorly despite not being in a remotely located room. During warm weather the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aipalovik
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The overbearing and condescending attitude of the stuff & manager is the most eyeopening experience we had at Canterbury. And forget about cleanness, large insects crawl under your quilt. On our second night here, my friend screamed and woke the rest of us up at 1 am in the morning. She felt something was crawling on her inner thigh, in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yang Z
Anthony M, Owner at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yang and anyone else reading this review The reason why we didn't take this review so serious enough to refund the guest all their money and free breakfast that they insisted on was at no point had anyone else ever see this bug that the guest had a photo of, we assumed it would be a beetle as the... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights while my partner attended a conference at the University of Kent. Room was fairly large for a small inn; clean and with a teakettle, coffee, tea, and biscuits. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Bathroom clean and updated. No fans in the room but things got cool at night when we left the window open.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelingDoc78
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First impressions, as its directly off a main Roundabout its too easy to miss the entrance to the average parking area, But, The entrance is Clean and So is the Bar area, The food was good, but as we arrived at 5pm some of the veg had been sitting under the lights for a while and dried up a bit.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy T
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights on business in one of the rooms in older building. Rooms clean and well provided but no air con and at front there is fair bit of road noise. The rooms in new building are at back and a lot quieter. Restaurant good 'pub food' with good friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank eigbob
st.leonards-on-sea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A VERY CLEAN and comfortable hotel, with free wifi, a television, and tea and coffee in the room,a welcome hairdryer for my wife already in the room, and an electric fan in the cupboard if needed and for the last couple of days it was needed and worked. A very comfortable bed, beautiful decor, a bathroom to die for with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a triple room with breakfast included for 3 of us visiting Canterbury. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, the breakfast ample. Our only complaint was that the WiFi in our room was very weak; in the main bar it was fine.

Helpful?
Thank 282ChrisB
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overnight stay with breakfast. Needs updating, carpets look old and tired. Smells of fried food when you go in and on coming down to breakfast, possibly need improved extractor fans in the kitchen. Staff friendly and food lovely. Bedroom quite small, looks like larger room has been made into 2 separate rooms. Bed comfortable, good linen, bathroom clean. Liked the... More 

Helpful?
Thank alysonmaria
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#9 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Victoria Hotel Carvery & Steak Grill
Victoria Hotel Carvery & Steak Grill
Cuisines: British, Grill, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $78 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay