We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Save
Share
36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$155
$141
View deal
SAVE $14
Free cancellation until 11/08/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Trip.com$155
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (352)
360
Panoramas (40)
Room & Suite (160)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 16 hotels in Canterbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Abbots Barton Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Canterbury and just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We have parking which is available free of charge for Hotel Residents. Generally there is not an issue with parking but on exceptional busy days free street parking maybe necessary. The hotel offers traditional facilities with Bar, Restaurant, Bar Food, Room Service and free WiFi. Our staff will endeavour to entertain any special requests wherever possible. The Hotel is accepts pets for a small daily charge.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English
1573Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 707
  • 579
  • 183
  • 64
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Philippa J B wrote a review Jun 7
Worcester, United Kingdom42 contributions43 helpful votes
Stayed as part of a coach group (GB Tours). My room was comfortable, light, spotlessly clean on arrival, plenty of storage space and nice bathroom. The food was very nice, a good choice was offered. The dinners were lovely. Breakfast was chaotic. Despite pre-ordering and tables numbered the staff struggled to cope, even though we were a small group. Perhaps the dining room staff need some further training and support from managers / experienced staff. Surprised the managers did not go round the tables to check all was okay and deal with issues. Come on Best Western you can do better. Level of service quality not quite up to the mark. No daily room service nor bin emptying due to covid restrictions but it would have been nice to have been told this on check in.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make clear your requirements in advance.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review and I am glad to see overall you had a good stay with us. I think part of the issue, for which you mention, it is getting staff back into the way of working again and the well documented shortages of skilled staff now affecting our sector. In relation to Best Western dont forget we are an independant hotel as are all Best Westerns'. Specifically in relation to Housekeeping, your Group Organisers are informed but we will re double our effort to make sure this is communicated to all Group guests on arriva'. You can have your room serviced but it is just on request at the moment whilst we are hopefully in the last stretches of restrictions. Thanks again for the comments on food and cleanliness, the team will be pleased.
Read more
Robin S wrote a review Jun 3
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom46 contributions24 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel over the Bank Holiday weekend with my aged brother. Checked in no problem, I n fact very quick and easy, the reception staff I found very friendly and helpful all weekend. Our room was a bit the worse for wear, no air-conditioning but widows that did open. Wall paper parting company with the wall. Breakfast was a bit chaotic, numbering them might help and I'm still waiting for a strawberry yoghurt. All things considered can't complain, it was good to get away. This hotel is ideal for Canterbury sightseeing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: It's next to the vets, has a problem finding it, signage not brilliant.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review - appreciate it was hot and we don't advertise we have air conditioning but all rooms do have fans as well - great feedback for the Reception team - Breakfast is challenging under the current restrictions as I am sure you can appreciate but we had a team meeting today and we are going to try a new system to hopefully make it a better experience for all concerned, so your feedback is valid and appreciated - none moreso than the staff as well
Read more
Maria C wrote a review Jun 1
1 contribution
Really friendly staff, being vegetarian the food lines are not always easy to fulfil, they have a good range of vegetarian food and staff ready to satisfy at the best the requirements. I had dinner and breakfast twice and I am really satisfied. The place is really clean and quiet and I was able to rest after the busy day in Canterbury. I understand that with the COVID restrictions the room could not be made or the rubbish collected, that is the only thing that would have rounded my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review - glad you liked our PB food selection - we try and make the effort to be inclusive and to be honest with today's range of larder items available there is no excuse, our chefs do come up with some interesting selections which even as a meat eater myself are really tasty and enjoyable - thank you for your comments regarding the staff - it is a shame reference room servicing but hopefully full services will resume soon when we are un-restricted.
Read more
John S wrote a review Jun 1
Peterborough, United Kingdom47 contributions39 helpful votes
Check in smooth as could be , but room very tired with peeling wall paper , flat pillows and hardly any power points although mattress comfortable. We had friends staying in room next door and impressed ! by air con unit clearly faulty and rather than repair it had neen boxed in ?? Breakfast not the best and lots of confusion when serving up ( maybe a good idea to number the tables ?) "Come on Best Western you can do better than this"
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Now thats a dilemma
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review - I have noted your comments refrence tired and will get this rectified - our rooms are due a total refurb when we get through this summer, this will deal with the socket issues etc as you mention and includes an install of a new centralised aircon system - as I am sure you can appreciate we have been shut for 7 months and takes a bit of time to get up to speed again - sorry it let you down
Read more
lynne p wrote a review May 2021
99 contributions16 helpful votes
Excellent staff. Had a problem with toilet not flushing, maintenance had left so duty manager checked it, unable to sort it so we were moved to another room with minimum of fuss. Rooms nicely decorated, plenty of room and storage. Breakfast had plenty of choice and adapted to requests. Had dinner first night which was very good. We had scotch egg as starter, chicken schnitzel and fish and chips for main. Very tasty and freshly cooked. Hotel in perfect location for centre of Canterbury, 15 min walk. Staff in restaurant very pleasant and helpful, and reception staff very good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Good parking at hotel. No need for car for visiting centre of Canterbury. We booked everything in...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review - great to hear we resolved issues quickly and immediately - thank you also for your comments reference our staff and our food - I know they will be pleased after such a long period of being closed
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$84 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western canterbury, canterbury best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentCanterbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Houdini's Magic Bar (0.7 miles), Walrus & Oyster Emporium (0.6 miles), and Tokyo Tea Rooms (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Corner House Canterbury Restaurant, Il Posticino, and Saint Smokeys BBQ House.
Is Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Canterbury.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Greyfriars Chapel and Franciscan Gardens (0.7 miles), St. Augustine's Abbey (0.4 miles), and Eastbridge Hospital (0.7 miles).