We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Falstaff in Canterbury

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Falstaff in Canterbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

839 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 770: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Falstaff for a long weekend and really enjoyed our stay. We had a small double turret room and it was fine for us. There was very little room around the bed with a small desk and a small wardrobe but the bathroom was large and there was space to put your suitcase. Being an old building... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Great buffet style breakfast spread. The morning after some delicious cocktails, very reasonably priced in a location in the heart of Canterbury. Which has its own car park. Only downside was the lack of aircon/fan in the room, with the windows open (as much as possibly, for a ground floor room) it was decidedly hot. Very accommodating, allowed to use... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuartn88
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'Stuartn88' Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your breakfast, our city centre location and the convenience of our residents' car park. We're sorry that you found it to be uncomfortably hot during the extremely warm weather last week. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Falstaff soon.... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in a relatively basic room at the front of the hotel which was a little noisy, especially as it was desperately hot that weekend so we needed to have windows open through the night. (In future we would request a room at the back). The staff were welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed excellent cocktails in the evening.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna T
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'Anna T' Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased to hear that you found out staff to be friendly and welcoming, that you enjoyed excellent cocktails and a delicious breakfast and that you appreciated our city centre location. We're very sorry that sleep was difficult during the extremely hot weather last week. We hope you will come and... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I found the stay in this hotel to be extremely disappointing. I thought it was going to be a lot better for the price we paid for our room. We arrived at the hotel a little earlier than expected and upon arrival the reception and bar area of the hotel seem, visually, very impressive. I looked forward to seeing the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte Elois... Q
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'Charlotte Elois....Q' We were saddened to read your review of your disappointing experience with us. Customer service is of paramount importance to us so we were surprised to read your feedback. We have taken this up with our staff and our Operations Manager will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. With... More 

London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's a hard one to review....I feel mean only giving 3 stars as there are a lot of good points as follows: Very friendly and welcoming staff at reception - helpful with information Friendly barman and staff at breakfast. The bar and reception are very modern and bright A great location in town with free parking very comfortable bed But... More 

Helpful?
Thank wombleflier
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'wombleflier' Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Please be assured that we value all guest feedback and we have taken your points on board. We're glad you appreciated your city centre location and that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We're very sorry that you were unable to sleep due to the... More 

Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We got room 55, top floor, and as we arrived the heat wave struck Canterbury which made the room difficult to sleep in. The hotel feels a bit dated, partly because you probably are not allowed to make any changes to the historical buildings, although the staff was very helpful and friendly. Second day the breakfast service was understaffed and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus O
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'Magnus O' Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful but we're sorry that you found it difficult to sleep due to the heat and that there were issues with breakfast on the second day of your stay. We have taken this up with our staff... More 

Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked this hotel for the most part. You can tell they have put a lot of work into decorating it and giving it that boutique feel. The bartenders are full of life and worth the trip alone. The dining staff was hit or miss. Might have had new staff. Could be more alert. I loved that our room had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jas0719
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'jas0719' Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - in particular that breakfast was best you'd seen in England. We have taken all your feedback on board and we hope to be able to welcome you back to The Falstaff very soon. With best wishes... More 

Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arranged for 15 people to stay for my husbands 60th birthday and we were all made to feel really welcome. There had been a problem over our dinner reservation as they have now stopped this but it did not detract from our comfortable stay. The character of the building has been kept, sadly this will be the reason there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JanetteS_12
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'JanetteS_12' Thank you for choosing The Falstaff to celebrate your husband's birthday. We're very pleased to hear that you we made to feel welcome and that you found our staff to be friendly. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Canterbury. With best wishes The... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came to The Falstaff on Sunday for Afternoon Tea to celebrate a special Birthday with a family member. When we first booked it gave us an option to request anything extra and we said we were celebrating a 70th birthday but didnt think anything of it. The hotel is lovely and there was also a piano player which gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank gbryant86
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'gbryant86' Thank you for your very kind review and for choosing The Falstaff for your family member's special birthday. We're delighted to hear your experience exceeded expectations. Thank you for sharing your feedback with regard to the scones, we've taken this up with our team. We hope you'll come and see us again soon. With best wishes The Falstaff... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although very very old, this hotel is nevertheless comfortable. We had a little outdoors patio with a set of medieval gargoyles set into the wall. On the ground floor, we were next to the hotel pub garden, but there was little or no noise - we noticed nothing. An included breakfast was good value and not too big. Great location... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wudangtiger
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'wudangtiger' Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad you had a comfortable stay. Please do come and see us again next time you're in Canterbury! With best wishes The Falstaff in Canterbury More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#9 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Address: 8 - 10 St Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $95 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay