We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

The rooms are very well set, warm and comfortable so I had a good decent night's sleep! The continential breakfast although good, but limited choices. Will definitely come back with my partner in December for the stay together with Christmas meal.

Helpful?
Thank SmileyDes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us such great feedback. We’re really glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Very good value with a comfortable and clean room and a splendid continental breakfast included were all positives. Staff service was also excellent although even they could not solve the problem of no wifi (due to inability of provider to provide a password). Hotel chosen on wifi availability as well as ample parking which was unfortunately temporarily not available at... More 

Helpful?
Thank CAAbcfc
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Your feedback is what helps us improve so thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst dropping our daughter off at the University. Rooms were clean although bathrooms had mould on ceilings, could do with a paint. Breakfast was continental, but full English was available for £6.99.First morning we had the continental, was pastries, toast , cereals muffins etc. Second morning thought I might have the English breakfast,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate getting feedback from our guests as it means we can keep improving. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

We stayed two nights here while visiting friends and attractions. Great location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable although the bed was a bit on the lumpy for us. Perhaps they need to follow the Premier Inn lead and upgrade the sleep experience. Continental breakfast offering was adequate but seems to have reduced since our stays... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill G
Romford Essex
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Having stayed here a number of times we knew what to expect. A friendly welcome, excellent room and bathroom plus 2 good nights sleep. Would highly recommend for a stop over on the way to the ferries or eurotunnel or to use as a base to visit Canterbury & Kent's many attractions.

Helpful?
Thank holidayfan55
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us such great feedback. We’re really glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Gate Inn / Innkeepers Lodge for a weekend stay whilst visiting family. The Inn is easy to find, not far from the A2, and even though we arrived quite late on a Friday evening (just after 10pm, but check-in is to 11pm) they were just as welcoming as if we arrived at any time. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank James W
Cambridge
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights, and the price was ok for what it is. The room was comfortable enough, but looked like it could do with a bit of a care. The paint on the windows was coming off, so just a few little things would improve the standard. There is a free breakfast, but don't get too excited. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Your feedback is really important to us, so thanks for taking the time to leave a review. More 

southend on sea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

we had previously stayed here for a weekend a couple of years ago for a family wedding and found it to be clean, friendly and excellent base for all local amenities. Looking for somewhere to stay for our 10th wedding anniversary we decided to head back here and spend some time sightseeing in the city. We were not disappointed. Spend... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank islizSouthendOnSea
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. More 

London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Stayed for 1 night (Sunday) at the Old Gate Inn. Could do with a bit of a spruce up outside - but then you don't stay outside do you! Inside, lovely welcoming bar with a good selection of beers and plenty of tables. Really nice menu and the food was good quality, presented nicely and delicious. We paid the extra... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HutchLondon
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Canterbury and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon. More 

colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend and had hoped for a bit more than a premier inn/ travel lodge experience. Room was clean but drawer front fell off onto my partners foot when we put clothes away. The shower tray filled up every time we had a shower and the side lamp bulb didn't work. Being 8 months pregnant the lack of... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmColchester
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Old Gate Inn, Canterbury was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Travelers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
2.6 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#6 of 75 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest
The Pilgrims Rest
#2 of 2 in Littlebourne
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oakside Lodge
Oakside Lodge
#1 of 2 in Upper Harbledown
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Duke Of Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it's the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there's so much to see and do you won't want to put your feet up for too long.Canterbury is one of England's most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant half-hour stroll from the lodge, or just five minutes by car. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.There's plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Address: The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $82 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay