We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Winchester Hotel & spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Winchester Hotel & spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,574: English reviews
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked fa weekend spa break for my wife as a present when we arrived we check with the spa which were very good and found that we needed to pay extra for one of the treatments which we did not mind then my wife booked for her nails which was not worth the price she paid. during our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank triggeruk2017
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was spacious and very quiet,comfortable and clean, The check-in staff were very informative and quick made you feel well at home.The Bar and restaurant staff made you feel very comfortable all of them were very happy and pleased to serve you. The food was excellent and the Breakfast Fantastic! and if you want to pamper and relax yourself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grfhocking
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa following your recent stay at the hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I know that the team will be equally as thrilled. We do hope that you will stay with us again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Welcoming staff on arrival, well presented and comfortable room, good WiFi access, great spa / gym / pool, and the food and service in the restaurant were excellent. Some regional hotels that I have used for business travel can can be pretty hit and miss - not here. I'd come back anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa following your recent stay at the hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I know that the team will be equally as thrilled. We do hope that you will stay with us again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our 3rd visit to the hotel. The Heritage Break offer is a great package if you want to stay for 2 nights including breakfast and money towards your meal on the first night. The staff are very friendly and the food is delicious. It is a short walk away from the beautiful town of Winchester where there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nichols2017
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your WONDERFUL review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa following your recent stay at the hotel. We are so pleased that the hotel has become one of your favourites and please rest assured that we will continue to work hard to maintain our standards. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again very...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall my friend and I (who go for afternoon tea A LOT) did enjoy our experience in the Hutton's Brasserie at the Winchester hotel. First of all we were attended to by a very friendly and helpful member of staff on reception called Ellie, and then in the Brasserie the lady that served us (I didn't catch her name) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xkimberleyx
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel following your recent visit for Afternoon Tea. We are very grateful for all the feedback you have provided and I look forward to discussing this with my colleagues. Paul Eaves General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely room and was very quiet even though it was on the ground floor, normally the footfall or traffic wakes me up but I slept like a baby. My boyfriend and I had dinner in the on site restaurant and the food was fantastic (best burger I've ever had). A woman nearby to us was complaining over nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa following your recent stay at the hotel. We are very grateful for your comments and hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Watford, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a very good experience of customer service. The staff were courteous, genuine and professional. Well done . Winchester has some olde pubs and is steeped in history. Well worth a weekend. We didn't use the pool etc but we made full use of the cocktail bar and restaurant. There is a patio area to the restaurant which looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MildredGeorges
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff are friendly and helpful. This is a very clean hotel, towels changed daily. Comfortable bed. Food very good. Good location. Soft drinks are overpriced at £4.10 for a Coca-Cola and parking is additional charge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M R
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your recommendation to those reading your review. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Frimley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely clean modern rooms, courteous helpful staff and wonderful food. One of the best breakfast buffet's I've ever had at a hotel. Winchester is also a lovely historical city to visit. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wgriffiths2017
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Happy New Year ! Paul Eaves General Manager

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great room with all the usual bits and bobs you would expect. The food was great especially breakfast, the staff were most helpful and the Spa was great. I would certainly recommend this Hotel. The location was good. The only drawback is you have to pay for parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larry13724
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. Christmas is such a special time of year and we are all so pleased that we were able to contribute to yours. We do hope that you will return to stay with us again. Paul Eaves General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
925 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
573 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $103 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Winchester Hotel & spa staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Cheshire
4 months ago
Winchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Winchester Hotel & spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quieter Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles triggeruk2017, 2 days ago | Read review
“Front facing rooms overlook the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles larry13724, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose club room or suite. Check with the hotel first as our room wassuch a long way from reception and it's like a maze.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyB48_12, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Front room have views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles P9237TCdaveb, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a club room”
 of 5 bubbles 557alanj, Dec 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay