We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Marwell Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Marwell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 992: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

A good place to stay near Southampton where we visiting for a graduation. Lovely location in a forest. Staff very helpful, restaurant very good, room clean, totally acceptable, swimming pool and other leisure facilities quiet and useful.

Helpful?
Thank Alicia W
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alicia W, Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our wonderful woodland location. We are very pleased to read your positive comments regarding the staff, food, room and leisure facilities. We hope the graduation went well and we hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel soon. Thank you again.... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Who's getting married in the morning .? Ding dong the bride.lovely wedding ,very romantic,the hotel catered well for the large group of residence ,very good staff well mannered polite,rooms ok not the best,reception gorgeous ,very lovely time. .......

Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa G, Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed attending your friend's wedding at Marwell Hotel. We are thrilled by your positive comments regarding the day, the catering and our staff. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our rooms, so hopefully you will see an improvement on your next stay. We highly recommend... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I treat ourselves once a year for our wedding anniversary and have visited the zoo previously with our children. so the location was good for us to have a break away and hence we booked. The hotel booking through booking.com was easy. the website offered spa treatments in our room with se of spa facilities on site.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 4Wanderingbees
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 4Wanderingbees, Many thanks for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that there are many positive aspects to your stay, such as our staff, location, booking and check-in process, dinner and breakfast. We apologise that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay and it is a great shame to hear this, though we thank... More 

Travelers are raving about these Winchester hotels

Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent one night and this was really a nice place. The hotel resembles a safari lodge, located in the woodlands, and also with its architecture. While the aisles and room doors look a bit like in a youth hostel, the rooms are splendid, spacious and with comfortable beds. Breakfast is buffet, but with a very wide range of items,... More 

Helpful?
Thank LordRawdon
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LordRawdon, Many thanks for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and found us to be great value. It is our pleasure to read your feedback about how much you enjoyed your room and also the breakfast buffet - we do receive excellent comments for this and are proud of the... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here with my wife celebrating a wedding near bye..well were do we start are first room we given had marks all over the wall and was very dark .The bathroom was awful mould on the ceiling which looked like it would come through anytime the bathroom door was a mess to be fair it looked like a load of... More 

Helpful?
Thank nobbr
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nobbr, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that there were issues with your rooms. Due to how full we were when you stayed, this did mean that it was difficult to upgrade you - the rooms you mention are all ones scheduled for our refurbishment programme and therefore we avoid having guests stay in these,... More 

UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Set within trees it was quiet and indeed like an old-style colonial lodge. It suited us very well in this respect. Service was first rate and the dining room for breakfast was a lovely space with a good breakfast. the bar food was less inspiring and a little expensive. We did not want the formality of a restaurant dinner but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theocsbrian
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theocsbrian, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your kind comments, particularly regarding our staff (we agree that they are great!). Thank you for your feedback regarding the bar menu and we will feed this back to our chef. Thank you again... More 

manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel was extremely "tired" i would say that it desperately needs a full refurbishment,, my room was 303 and whilst it was a very quiet area of the hotel and the beds were really comfy the bathroom was very outdated the shower must have been one of the first made !!! both the bath and the toilet were made... More 

Helpful?
Thank ManchesterLindylou
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ManchesterLindylou, Many thanks for your feedback. Thank you for your comments regarding your bedroom - we are currently refurbishing our bedrooms and your room is included in this programme. We are sorry you were disappointed during your stay. We are sorry to hear that breakfast was cold - we normally receive excellent feedback regarding breakfast so we will investigate... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here while attending a military reunion in Winchester with my wife and two kids. Staff very pleasant and helpful food was slightly expensive in the restaurant but could not fault the quality or service. Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice and staff only to willing to help with any extra requirements. Room was very well equipped and clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigJim8428
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BigJim8428, Many thanks for your review, we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We are pleased to hear you were able to eat in our 2 AA rosette restaurant and loved the food and service - we take great pride in the food we offer. If you are staying with us and add... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely location.room was pleasant quite warm but a fan is provided. Staff put them selves out in every way possible..very large room,ours was a superior room even had 2 beds.shower very powerful,water temperature could do with going down a notch.lovely cooked breakfast English and continental.

Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valerie H, Many thanks for your review. We are delighted by your comments regarding our location, your room, our staff, the shower and also breakfast - it is such a pleasure to read this and know that you had an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel soon. With... More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in for an afternoon tea given to us as a present. The food and tea were very good and served to us very profesionally. However very disappointed with the standard of the room was dull and drab. There were holes in the net curtains, stains on the inroom menus, the floor boards creaked as did the bed every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melanie A, Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us, both the food and the service. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme and your comments are very helpful. We do hope that you will stay with us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (153)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchester
5.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
5.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel
Winchester Royal Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $104 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay